No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn York

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
TADCASTER ROAD, YORK, YO24 1QF
Receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn York hotel, next to York Racecourse and 2 miles from York city centre. The friendly Holiday Inn York is set in leafy grounds with plenty of complimentary parking . It's a 15-minute drive to York city centre from the bus stop adjacent to us. Upgrade to an Executive room for extra home comforts such and bathrobes, upgraded toiletries, 40" flat screen TV and mineral water and chocolate. Wireless Internet is available in our attractive Lobby with oak furnishings, and you can take drinks onto the tree-lined patios . Immerse yourself in the medieval past of York city centre, from the half-timbered buildings leaning over the Shambles shopping street to Gothic York Minster . Viking re-enactments take place at the Jorvik Viking Centre, while horse racing such as August's Ebor Handicap is next door to Holiday Inn York at York Racecourse . Choose us if you're heading to events at the York Racecourse Conference Centre . Nestle's distribution centre is 3 miles away and we're a short drive from many rail industry headquarters . You can invite up to 100 people to seminars in our 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms . Light pours into the stylish Junction Restaurant at Holiday Inn York , where succulent steaks and burgers are served from our traditional British menu. Kids under-12 eat for free and you can order meals from 24-hour Room Service .
Picture of Holiday Inn York, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Stayed here one night and it was clean and tidy. Stayed with 2 colleagues and I got the sofa bed which was surprisingly comfy. The breakfast was really good and plenty of choice. Very near race course and on a bus route to city centre

Reviewed by
Jillian N

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly welcome
We arrived at 12.00 and our room was ready so it was a good start, the room was okay but the bathroom was very small, air con was easy to use and worked well. Didn't enjoy the breakfast the bacon was swimming in oil and the eggs where like rubber. The hotel is a long way from the city centre so you have to rely on buses.

Reviewed by
Kevin H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Races weekend
Lovely hotel , very close to race course , nice big room , breakfast was very nice self service buffet , would definately recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great venue for racing !
Great stay at the Holiday Inn. Rooms spacious and nicely furnished, food quality good, very nice carvery in the evening with a great selection. Breakfast served buffet style but had everything you could wish for to start the day. Staff very friendly, always had a smile and hello wnet you went past. Would recommend to family & friends, particualry with regard to the location to the racecourse which was a short walk away across the Knavesmire.

Reviewed by
W Wood

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Stayed here for two nights with my mum and teenage daughter for a short break. Enjoyed our stay. Room clean, facilities good, if bathroom a little small. Breakfast very good. So handy to get into town centre, with frequent bus service. Would definitely stay here again. Young man on desk very helpful.

Reviewed by
Mary O

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Staff were exceptionally good and made our stay very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to our next stay!

Reviewed by
Margaret M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and clean hotel. Had aircon in our room which handy as it was a warm summers night. Its a 15 minute pleasant walk from York centre.

Reviewed by
DARREN S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisy room near reception, slow staff had to wait for most things.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mark J, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the noise and the service you received. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Clean room but furniture and bathroom a little bit dated. Think the family room was back up room as too much clutter for my 3 year old to play with. plus making up the sofa bed made less room. The room was on the end of corridor so was very quiet and very dark which meant a full nights sleep. Food was great both evening meal and breakfast. Close to York centre and Tesco with a park and ride in to town.

Reviewed by
n smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

internet access
couldnt believe this day and age that internet access wasnt provided in the price it was available as an extra .

Reviewed by
michael morris

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next