No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorne Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
THORNE COTTAGE , YEOVIL, BA21 3PZ
Bill and Kath are pleased to welcome you to Thorne Cottage, a charming guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodation in Yeovil, Somerset. With all the attractions of a country setting and yet only three miles from Yeovil town centre, our location offers the best of both worlds for tourists and business people alike. Literally the last house on the lane, guests consistently exclaim how quiet it is with the absence of annoying city sounds. The location exudes old country charm with serene views of adjacent rolling farm land.
Picture of Thorne Cottage, YEOVIL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
The owner is very welcoming and offers a friendly and relaxed atmosphere would use again if in the area.

Reviewed by
peter d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home form home
Could not fault the place and a lovely setting.
Will stay again when I'm down that way for sure.

Reviewed by
Carl Portman

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful village location in peaceful countryside. We were made to feel very much at home.

Reviewed by
G Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
I found the property a bit difficult to locate, as there are no signs, but after 2 phone calls I found it.
I had been working in Yeovil at Screwfix for a few weeks, and this B&B made a nice change from the usual hotels I'd been staying at. It was wonderfully peaceful and quiet. For dinner a great pub was a not-too-far walk away, or it was only a short drive into Yeovil. The landlady was helpful and friendly, but not overly so. The room was a bit too crowded with furniture, but very comfortable. And I had no trouble with the wifi connection.
My room wasn't en-suite, but that didn't bother me. The family style bathroom was well equipped with both a bath and separate shower that delivered plenty of hot water.

Reviewed by
Rosemary M

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Imaculate Accomadation and Friendly and Helpful Proprietor.
Set in a tranquil little hamlet, yet only ten minutes away by foot is Yeovil football ground and a bus service to Yeovil town which is 2 1/2 miles away. A couple of pubs near by within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay there again if attending a football match.

Reviewed by
WILSON TWEED

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class accommodation and well situated for my purpose
I was an away supporter of my team at Huish Park and needed accommodation close to the ground as it was an evening game. Thorne Cottage was ideally situated within a short walk of both the ground and the Arrow pub that serves excellent real ale - and food if required. The guest house was excellent value, very comfortable and quiet; the breakfast was also top quality. I travelled by train and on foot and enjoyed the walking involved - and the outcome that we won of course.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully tranquil stopover!
Thorne Cottage is a delight. Wonderfully homely and welcoming and in a fantastic location. Kathy and Bill were extremly welcome and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Great spot for a stopover for the long journey down to South Cornwall and I'm sure I'll return next year. Thanks Kathy and Bill!

Reviewed by
Jean Leeson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.