No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grand Parade , Tynemouth, NE304ER
The Grand Hotel, which was originally built in 1872 as a home for the Duchess of Northumberland, is majestically situated on a cliff top commanding some of the most stunning views of natural coastline in the country. The hotel is steeped in history and has been carefully refurbished with no expense being spared to create its own individual style of elegance and luxury. It offers a great base from which to explore the coastal areas, Newcastle City, and rural Northumbria.

We offer 45 luxurious guest bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. We also have an acclaimed Victoria Restaurant offering exciting dinners and great value lunches, a relaxed Drawing Room with sea-views and Copperfields Bar offering traditional home cooked meals.

The Hotel has on its doorstep the award winning Tynemouth Longsands beach and is only three minutes walk from both the historic Tynemouth Priory and Castle and the picturesque village of Tynemouth. The latter featuring many bars, restaurants and village-style shops.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, Tynemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in October
The hotel has a nice position looking out over the sea. We only stayed one night so can only judge the hotel over a very short period. The room we were staying in (226) was very noisy during the night, lots of creaking due to presumably a loose roof joist (no rooms above) - we reported this to reception in the morning so hopefully this is now being rectified. No discount was offered though, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast was ok, but there wasn't a huge range on offer, with only a small selection of hot breakfast options. All in all, the hotel is above average, but I think falls slightly short of other high end hotels.

Reviewed by
Amy B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a stay
Our stay was very good. Staff very helpful and welcoming. The location is great, close to the beach and only a short train ride to the centre of Newcastle.
My only one negative comment was the room and bathroom had little privacy. We over looked the central garden which was lovely, but felt very over looked by the rooms opposite and the bathroom had no frosted glass. I'm not sure who got the biggest shock in the morning, the person having a cigaret in the garden or me using the bathroom! The consequence of this was we kept the curtains and blinds down all the time and didn't get the benefit of the lovely garden.
I would stay there again but possible not in that room.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for the Great North Run
Beautiful hotel and great location, just a shame the prices rocket for the Great North Run.
Our room was very nice with awesome views of the seafront. The bathroom was in need of an update but apart from that everything else was spot on!

Reviewed by
L Fealy

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand
Stayed at hotel overnight on a Saturday. The hotel is beautiful and in a spectacular position overlooking the beach. Unfortunately we stayed in a bedroom at the rear of the building where the walls were quite thin and we could hear the next bedrooms conversation amongst other things at 2.30 in the morning. There was a wedding party present and although we didn't hear the party the slamming of doors was an unwelcome disruption to our sleep. That said I would stay there again but would book a sea view room at the front of the building. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
C Eastwood

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful Grand Hotel.
A wonderful hotel, all the public areas were lovely & had obviously been recently refurbished, a real wow factor when you walk in, with that lovely staircase.
Bit disappointed with our room.... Wall paper & curtains tired & dated, I would have liked to have seen one of the refurbished rooms.... For the money I felt it was rather average....
Ate in the drawing room , staff lovely but my steak, rather tough....
Breakfast lovely, but we hit a busy spell & the service not great...... All staff very busy so not their fault.
Location of Hotel amazing, views to die for, but not from our room....
We would give it another go though.

Reviewed by
Jacky Smith

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
We love the position of this hotel, right on the seafront and the beautiful staircase and grand lounge feel really special. Our room had been refurbished to a high standard and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - so nice to be served hot food to our table from a menu rather than a buffet. Tynemouth village has great independent shops and good bars and restaurants, the beach is great for walking and access to Newcastle is easy by car or metro.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impromptu break
Excellent hotel. Clean room, good customer service and decent breakfast.
Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
B Davidson

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand by name but not by nature !
Not a great experience. Rooms dated I had paid for an upgrade and disappointed with the quality, and the was breakfast poor.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay very nice overall.
Some staff more helpful than others. English breakfast fantastic.

Reviewed by
Karen R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect seaside break
Beautiful hotel, perfect location. Double room was very modern and spotless clean. Had a lovely overnight stay in Tynemouth. Will definately be back. Except I will pay the extra for sea view room. It's well worth it.

Reviewed by
K Baxter

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next