Reviews - The Grand Hotel


Grand Parade, Tynemouth, NE304ER

Price From 311.69 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Currie

  • November 2015


Lovely and warm hotel with friendly staff.

breakfast excellent and efficient service. Copper fields bar offered excellent food and cask beers. We actually added another nights stay and was disappointed to be over charged from agreed price. When I pointed this out to the receptionist she could not understand how I arrived at the price I told her I had been quoted. Eventually she reprinted bill and it had correct price, made me wonder if she was on the take. After setting our bill she did not evev ask if we had enjoyed our stay. This soured what until then had been an enjoyable stay.

  • Charlotte L

  • October 2015

Amazing location and hotel

The Grand is just that....grand.

We stayed in room 328 which was an executive room with both a double and single bed with a separate seating area. The bathroom was large with a great shower. What made the room though as the views across longsands beach. The food in the restaurant was excellent at breakfast along with the service. If I had one comment for improvement it would be that the rooms need an area for getting ready. There was no dressing table with a mirror where you could get ready which given we were there for a wedding was slightly inconvenient and I guess could be easily fixed. Wouldn't put me off staying again though and I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Simon Cook

  • August 2015

An excellent privately owned hotel with character and in a superb location

The whole experience of staying at The Grand was excellent, from its location on the seafront to its magnificent interior and comfortable accommodation.

All the staff were very welcoming and consistently high standards were maintained during our stay. An ideal hotel for those visiting Tynemouth for the first time and who want to avoid the uniform corporate environment and impersonal service that is common to the well known chains. Thoroughly recommended.

  • D Harris

  • April 2015

Excellent room and friendly staff

Enjoyed two nights stay at the hotel and wished we could stop longer.

Right on the front with terrific views across the Tynemouth. From check in to check out the staff were friendly and always had a hello when you passed them. We have no complaints at all about the service or room condition and i would recommend this hotel to any one who is visiting the area. Tynemouth a beautiful place and this hotel is in the same bracket. Well done the Grand!. We will be back.

  • Nik Whysall

  • March 2015

End of walk paradise

Great Hotel.

Fab Views.

  • w cunningham

  • March 2015

Nice Break

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay Grand Hotel, Tynemouth.

Lovely accommodation with friendly and helpful staff.

  • P Mayo

  • November 2014

My visit to Tynemouth

I am an experienced traveller, and spend pretty well every week around the world I booked this hotel blind, as I had never been to this area before.

The hotel is perfect, it's in a great location, stunning views, and helpful staff

I would highly recommend this hotel and I will defiantly stay here again next times am in the area

  • Amy B

  • October 2014

One night stay in October

The hotel has a nice position looking out over the sea.

We only stayed one night so can only judge the hotel over a very short period. The room we were staying in (226) was very noisy during the night, lots of creaking due to presumably a loose roof joist (no rooms above) - we reported this to reception in the morning so hopefully this is now being rectified. No discount was offered though, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast was ok, but there wasn't a huge range on offer, with only a small selection of hot breakfast options. All in all, the hotel is above average, but I think falls slightly short of other high end hotels.

  • Michael F

  • September 2014

Worth a stay

Our stay was very good.

Staff very helpful and welcoming. The location is great, close to the beach and only a short train ride to the centre of Newcastle. My only one negative comment was the room and bathroom had little privacy. We over looked the central garden which was lovely, but felt very over looked by the rooms opposite and the bathroom had no frosted glass. I'm not sure who got the biggest shock in the morning, the person having a cigaret in the garden or me using the bathroom. The consequence of this was we kept the curtains and blinds down all the time and didn't get the benefit of the lovely garden.

I would stay there again but possible not in that room.

  • L Fealy

  • September 2014

Stayed here for the Great North Run

Beautiful hotel and great location, just a shame the prices rocket for the Great North Run.

Our room was very nice with awesome views of the seafront. The bathroom was in need of an update but apart from that everything else was spot on!