No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grand Parade , Tynemouth, NE304ER
The Grand Hotel, which was originally built in 1872 as a home for the Duchess of Northumberland, is majestically situated on a cliff top commanding some of the most stunning views of natural coastline in the country. The hotel is steeped in history and has been carefully refurbished with no expense being spared to create its own individual style of elegance and luxury. It offers a great base from which to explore the coastal areas, Newcastle City, and rural Northumbria.

We offer 45 luxurious guest bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. We also have an acclaimed Victoria Restaurant offering exciting dinners and great value lunches, a relaxed Drawing Room with sea-views and Copperfields Bar offering traditional home cooked meals.

The Hotel has on its doorstep the award winning Tynemouth Longsands beach and is only three minutes walk from both the historic Tynemouth Priory and Castle and the picturesque village of Tynemouth. The latter featuring many bars, restaurants and village-style shops.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, Tynemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you Grand Hotel
Stayed their whilst attending a wedding, had a pre perception of the place being dated, how so wrong was I. The place was a class act from the wedding venue to our room with the unbelievable view of Tynemouth beach - it was close to 90 degrees and the beach was packed. Back to the hotel the stairs are great and an idea place for wedding photos, really sets the place off. Rooms were clean and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. The hotel staff were great and very helpful. I would recommend this for weddings or even getting away for a few days. Got to be one of my favorite hotels so far and I can be so picky.

Reviewed by
D Graham

From Wallsend, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Staff were friendly and polite, bar staff in main lounge were exceptional. Our bedroom had been recently refurbished and was beautifully decorated although I'm not sure how thoroughly the carpet had been swept.
We dined in the restaurant celebrating my mother's 90th birthday; the venue was perfect for the occasion.
Would definitely recommend this venue.

Reviewed by
Lorna Thwaites

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
The hotel is in a prime location and the original features are quite stunning. However the room we had while clean and ample was dull. The wallpaper and dark wood furnishings were not to our taste and even with all the lights on felt dreary. There was also a pungent mothball smell which failed to evaporate even with the windows open for the whole day and night. Overall these were personal issues rather than a poor hotel as the furniture and décor was not worn and was of a good standard, food and room service was excellent and the prices very reasonable. If we had been in a room with some sort of view other than a block of flats 12ft from our window the room might have appeared more welcoming, the mothball smell however was very distasteful and I would not recommend whatever cleaning product they use. Overall, lovely location, nice hotel, friendly staff and very good food however if available pay the extra for a room with a view.

Reviewed by
allen p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the grand hotel tynemouth
stayed at the grand for a wedding ,room was very large and clean, bathroom had a few hiccups like a crack in the sink and tiles and silicone around bath needed replacing apart from that a very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
s jardine

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel is fantastic and where we plan to stay on all future trips to Newcastle.
The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service was exemplary. Definitely a must stay in the northeast.

Reviewed by
C Moon

From Garland, USA
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel full of character, history and beauty.
Lovely hotel, characterful but with all the modern amenities you expect and need in wonderful beachfront location. Room was clean and modern - the bed was amazingly comfortable and we had a rainfall shower. Breakfast was first class and the service very friendly and efficient. Tea in the drawing room/bar looked great - I'd like to try that next time. Beautiful.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Fernandez

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Simply excellent, what shortcomings it may have (very few and only if very critical) are more than compensated for by the excellent staff.

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfectly located hotel overlooking the sands and close to Tynemouth, a pleasant comfortable stay
The room was pleasant and clean with a superb view. However to be staying at the 'Grand Hotel' so close to the sea I felt the decor in the room needed to reflect both the name and the location. Just a little note to staff one of the curtains was not fully attached.
I would recommend it because of its location but with slight reservation due to room decor

Reviewed by
M Neal

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend at the grand
Terrific room., lovely views. Good breakfasts, excellent dinner. Very pleasant ambience.

Reviewed by
Pamela Maylin

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions were very favourable. The hotel is grand in stature and commands a stunning position on the seafront. The interior is smart but there is also a comfortable, lived-in feel to many of the rooms. The staff are very friendly and were polite and welcoming on arrival, the booking in was efficient and quick. Our room was compact but quite adequate (we only wanted a base for a family celebration so did not spend much time in the room), clean, well-equipped and nicely presented. There was a pleasant atmosphere about the place and it was a perfect venue for meeting up with friends and family (wide range of ages) in the evening for meals and drinks - there is a lot of choice in price and type of food available from bar meals to formal dining. There was a comprehensive choice at breakfast to satisfy all tastes and taken in the dining room which offers superb views of the sea. The hotel is perfectly placed for walks along the coast and into the town of Tynemouth and not far from the Metro. Only two criticisms - there is limited parking so you may find it a challenge to park close to the hotel and secondly, we found our room rather noisy at night with creaking and banging noises disturbing our sleep but having said that, it was an exceptionally wild and windy winter's weekend!

Reviewed by
E Morley

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next