No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grand Parade , Tynemouth, NE304ER
The Grand Hotel, which was originally built in 1872 as a home for the Duchess of Northumberland, is majestically situated on a cliff top commanding some of the most stunning views of natural coastline in the country. The hotel is steeped in history and has been carefully refurbished with no expense being spared to create its own individual style of elegance and luxury. It offers a great base from which to explore the coastal areas, Newcastle City, and rural Northumbria.

We offer 45 luxurious guest bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. We also have an acclaimed Victoria Restaurant offering exciting dinners and great value lunches, a relaxed Drawing Room with sea-views and Copperfields Bar offering traditional home cooked meals.

The Hotel has on its doorstep the award winning Tynemouth Longsands beach and is only three minutes walk from both the historic Tynemouth Priory and Castle and the picturesque village of Tynemouth. The latter featuring many bars, restaurants and village-style shops.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, Tynemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel
We had a very pleasant stay in lovely surroundings , felt welcomed and looked after.

Reviewed by
C Thomson

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room
luxurious room size. Bathroom a little tired but overall very comfortable and great value
Four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and a sea view was wonderful. Great location right on the beach

Reviewed by
Theresa Bowles

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2-night stay
All acceptable apart a very uncomfortable mattress on the bed.

Reviewed by
Jean Baty

From Dollar, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at the Grand
We were in Tynemouth visiting family and so arrived after ten at night and really just used the hotel to sleep in. However the staff were pleasant and most welcoming when we arrived. The hotel has indeed been very grand in its day and is, I would say still worthy of its name. We had booked only the day before so our request for a sea view was not met, but our room was clean, airy enough even on such a muggy night, and the facilities all absolutely fine. The bed was comfortable and the bed linen and pillows were fresh and of a very good quality.
We ate breakfast in the dining room and again the staff were very pleasant. The food itself was tasty enough although my partners cooked breakfast could have been served hotter. I had a very generous helping of smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and it was lovely.
All in all our stay was fine and the Grand would be somewhere we would use again in a similar situation.

Reviewed by
Hazel M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sea viw
As usual,
Staff attitude to customer care excellent as was the service in all the bas,r lounge and restaurant,
Nice room ,very clean,
a nice atmosphere .ideal for a quiet break on the Northumberland coast

Reviewed by
Gillian B

From Dalton in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best hotels in the UK
This privately owned hotel has been developed over the years - it is comfortable, the staff are friendly and care about the guests and the restaurant - recently re-decorated - is first class. The hotel has real character and rooms are clean and comfortable. The beer in Copperfields bar is excellent (good for real ale enthusiasts) and the location is perfect looking across the sea. If you are in the north-east head for this great hotel.

Reviewed by
David Shelton

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely surprise
What a lovely surprise. This is truly a grand hotel. Beautiful food, attentive staff and gorgeous room!

Reviewed by
Clare M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand in every way
We stayed here on our wedding night. The staff were so helpful, made sure room was ready for us at 12.30. The room itself was spotless. Bed so comfortable and views spectacular. We only live local but wouldn't hesitate to come back again

Reviewed by
M Margison

From Wallsend, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Tynemouth
Hotel was much better than expected,room view was spectacular,could see the lighthouse in the far distance.
Ate in the hotel,good value for money and tasted great.
Staff excellent throughout,a very short stay,but a lasting impression.
Thanks.

Reviewed by
Mike T

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so Grand..
Staff-- some cheerful, some grumpy. When facing a complaint, one member of staff was quite rude, whereas others were understanding and reacted positively. One evening meal of fish was very poor and returned to the kitchen; no charge but little understanding. One soup of the day was said to be Broccoli and Almond:- curiosity made me order it but it resembled celery and sage with huge amounts of salt and pepper; horrible. Then a ribeye steak turned out to be rump, and tough. Breakfast was poor each day. None of the milk was refrigerated nor any fruit juices and this in the heatwave of July 15th. I had better breakfasts at premier inns in the same week and same area. It is just not good enough at £100 plus per night. That said, not every meal was a disaster, yet all were below average and expectations.

Reviewed by
M Parsons

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next