No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grand Parade , Tynemouth, NE304ER
The Grand Hotel, which was originally built in 1872 as a home for the Duchess of Northumberland, is majestically situated on a cliff top commanding some of the most stunning views of natural coastline in the country. The hotel is steeped in history and has been carefully refurbished with no expense being spared to create its own individual style of elegance and luxury. It offers a great base from which to explore the coastal areas, Newcastle City, and rural Northumbria.

We offer 45 luxurious guest bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. We also have an acclaimed Victoria Restaurant offering exciting dinners and great value lunches, a relaxed Drawing Room with sea-views and Copperfields Bar offering traditional home cooked meals.

The Hotel has on its doorstep the award winning Tynemouth Longsands beach and is only three minutes walk from both the historic Tynemouth Priory and Castle and the picturesque village of Tynemouth. The latter featuring many bars, restaurants and village-style shops.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, Tynemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seafront.
Great location.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wine festival
We stayed at the grand as we went with friends to the wine tasting and enjoyed most aspects of our stay.
On leaving i reported that the towel rail above the bath was loose as was the riser rail in the shower cubicle, the shower door was brocken and the shower head was split. The lady on the reception was very upset and told me that she could have moved us to another room. If i had reported the problems straight away she could right the problem.I t did not spoil in any way our short break and i told the receptionist that but felt its better to report a small problem before it becomes a bigger problem.All the staff we met were very helpfull and pleasent.
Im sure the plumber will put the little jobs right easily.
Still a happy customer!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
David Lambert

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views
We stayed as a one night honeymoon break with a beach facing large room. The views and scenery are worth paying that bit extra to upgrade to have breakfast in your room looking out of the large windows. We love Tynemouth as it is a bit of a hidden gem in North East England with trendy bars and quality restaurants 5 mins walk from the hotel in a seaside village setting. As experienced travellers we would highly recommend this stylish and very comfortable hotel. We will definitely stay again as even in the winter this place feels like somewhere warm to get from it all.

Reviewed by
Martin C

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
Accommodation lovely, food was ok beautiful decor throughout

Reviewed by
Joanne J

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand
Visit was everything I expected from the hotel, based on price and recommendations from friends.

Reviewed by
Chris Clarkson

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grande Hotel Tynemouth Village
Wonderful setting wonderful hotel, staircase beautiful so regal, breakfast 10/10 will certainly be back.

Reviewed by
Alan Martin

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night away.
Only booked one night, everything was stop on, the staff were very help full, the room was on the top floor perfect & the view brilliant, will come back again soon.

Reviewed by
JOHN B

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend away
Very enjoyable stay. Clean rooms and fabulouse food. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Alex P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel Tynemouth
Excellent value for the money and will definitely stay there again. Handily placed for the sea and other amenities. The quality of the food was excellent. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
R SCHOLEY

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel
We had a very pleasant stay in lovely surroundings , felt welcomed and looked after.

Reviewed by
C Thomson

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next