No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grand Parade , Tynemouth, NE304ER
The Grand Hotel, which was originally built in 1872 as a home for the Duchess of Northumberland, is majestically situated on a cliff top commanding some of the most stunning views of natural coastline in the country. The hotel is steeped in history and has been carefully refurbished with no expense being spared to create its own individual style of elegance and luxury. It offers a great base from which to explore the coastal areas, Newcastle City, and rural Northumbria.

We offer 45 luxurious guest bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. We also have an acclaimed Victoria Restaurant offering exciting dinners and great value lunches, a relaxed Drawing Room with sea-views and Copperfields Bar offering traditional home cooked meals.

The Hotel has on its doorstep the award winning Tynemouth Longsands beach and is only three minutes walk from both the historic Tynemouth Priory and Castle and the picturesque village of Tynemouth. The latter featuring many bars, restaurants and village-style shops.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, Tynemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The very grand Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel was a fantastic hotel for the end of our coast to coast trip. They were very accommodating with our tandems. The hotel is maintained beautifully to its original design. Our bathroom had a lovely authentic Victorian suite. The main curving central staircase was amazingly grand. I always judge a hotel by the state of the carpets and the carpets were lovely and clean. The dining room was very special and the service too. I was well impressed with the very reasonable cost for such a grand hotel. We paid a lot more for a lesser quality pub bed and breakfast 2 days before. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
louise mckeand

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel Tynemouth never fails to impress, it has a enviable position over looking the wonderful clean exstensive stretch of beach, popular with locals and surfers from all parts of the UK. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, most with a wonderful view of the beach, the restaurant
serves exellent food in a very well appointed spacious room overlooking the sea, the prices are very competitive and the staff are friendly and helpful. This is a very good all round hotel and we will be going back.

Reviewed by
keith broadley

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long week end in tynemouth
Good overall standard disappointed with the builders starting work at 8am on a saturday morning after a long drive and late night out on the friday as i was looking forward to a bit of a lie in. Food in the restaurant was very good but was not open on the sunday night and not told by the hotel on arrival so had to make other plans at the last minute. The staff really were good at their jobs and were very friendly as well.

Reviewed by
N Heron

From chippenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flawless in every way
My wife and myself stayed at the Grand hotel because I was the best man at my friends wedding. from the moment we arrived we where made to feel welcome. the hotel itself it spotless and the staff are excellent. the hotel is a fantastic place for a wedding venue. 10 out of 10 for the wedding meal to the evening buffet carvery and even the breakfast. A great place to stay

Reviewed by
m dunn

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
Attended for a party, all went very well and staff coped with GF diet. Lovely breakfast warm and cooked just right!

Reviewed by
J A

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I am a regular guest here and am always well looked after.

Reviewed by
a mitchell

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast fiasco
Took over half an hour to be served breakfast

Reviewed by
rob h

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was really nice. The staircase was particularly nice

Reviewed by
Ian Hirst

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seafront.
Great location.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wine festival
We stayed at the grand as we went with friends to the wine tasting and enjoyed most aspects of our stay.
On leaving i reported that the towel rail above the bath was loose as was the riser rail in the shower cubicle, the shower door was brocken and the shower head was split. The lady on the reception was very upset and told me that she could have moved us to another room. If i had reported the problems straight away she could right the problem.I t did not spoil in any way our short break and i told the receptionist that but felt its better to report a small problem before it becomes a bigger problem.All the staff we met were very helpfull and pleasent.
Im sure the plumber will put the little jobs right easily.
Still a happy customer!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
David Lambert

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next