Reviews - The Grand Hotel


Grand Parade, Tynemouth, NE304ER

Price From 175.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Eastwood

  • September 2014

The Grand

Stayed at hotel overnight on a Saturday.

The hotel is beautiful and in a spectacular position overlooking the beach. Unfortunately we stayed in a bedroom at the rear of the building where the walls were quite thin and we could hear the next bedrooms conversation amongst other things at 2.30 in the morning. There was a wedding party present and although we didn't hear the party the slamming of doors was an unwelcome disruption to our sleep. That said I would stay there again but would book a sea view room at the front of the building. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Jacky Smith

  • September 2014

A beautiful Grand Hotel.

A wonderful hotel, all the public areas were lovely & had obviously been recently refurbished, a real wow factor when you walk in, with that lovely staircase.

Bit disappointed with our room.... Wall paper & curtains tired & dated, I would have liked to have seen one of the refurbished rooms.... For the money I felt it was rather average.... Ate in the drawing room , staff lovely but my steak, rather tough.... Breakfast lovely, but we hit a busy spell & the service not great...... All staff very busy so not their fault. Location of Hotel amazing, views to die for, but not from our room.... We would give it another go though.

  • Elizabeth C

  • August 2014

Beautiful hotel

We love the position of this hotel, right on the seafront and the beautiful staircase and grand lounge feel really special.

Our room had been refurbished to a high standard and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - so nice to be served hot food to our table from a menu rather than a buffet. Tynemouth village has great independent shops and good bars and restaurants, the beach is great for walking and access to Newcastle is easy by car or metro.

  • B Davidson

  • July 2014

Impromptu break

Excellent hotel.

Clean room, good customer service and decent breakfast. Would definitely visit again.

  • Karen R

  • July 2014

Stay very nice overall.

Some staff more helpful than others.

English breakfast fantastic.

  • Chris P

  • July 2014

Grand by name but not by nature !

Not a great experience.

Rooms dated I had paid for an upgrade and disappointed with the quality, and the was breakfast poor.

  • George B

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel, relaxing location, would definitely stay again.

Room was spacious with a sea view, staff very friendly and helpful at all times. Great real ale bar attached to the hotel, good atmosphere in which to watch both World Cup semi-finals.

  • K Baxter

  • July 2014

Perfect seaside break

Beautiful hotel, perfect location.

Double room was very modern and spotless clean. Had a lovely overnight stay in Tynemouth. Will definately be back. Except I will pay the extra for sea view room. It's well worth it.

  • anthony h

  • July 2014


Book a sea view room and enjoy the magnificent panoramic view.Step out of the front door and enjoy the promenade walk in to Tynemouth or Whitley Bay.Step back inside and be met by true North east warmth and hospitality.

  • louise mckeand

  • May 2014

The very grand Grand Hotel

The Grand Hotel was a fantastic hotel for the end of our coast to coast trip.

They were very accommodating with our tandems. The hotel is maintained beautifully to its original design. Our bathroom had a lovely authentic Victorian suite. The main curving central staircase was amazingly grand. I always judge a hotel by the state of the carpets and the carpets were lovely and clean. The dining room was very special and the service too. I was well impressed with the very reasonable cost for such a grand hotel. We paid a lot more for a lesser quality pub bed and breakfast 2 days before. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.