No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Ironbridge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
10 WHARFAGE , TELFORD, TF8 7AW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Small Hotel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

An eighteenth century Inn on the water front close to The Ironbridge. The White Hart has been around since before The Bridge was built and almost certainly accommodated craftsman and construction workers during the building of the bridge. There is also evidence to suggest that on occasions some of these workmen also used the bar!

There have been stories of ghosts of previous landlords & things that “go bump in the night” but these are probably old wives tales told by the playful locals in the bar after one too many Pimm’s & lemonade

The White Hart is a true Free house owned by Ironbridge Ventures .The White Hart is a light, modern pub, influenced by continental style, although it still retains a traditional air in its atmosphere and warm welcome.

The menu is simple but up-to-the-minute, with lots of comfort appeal, with homely things like steaks, homemade pie of the day and pasta as well as contemporary, global touches to keep things lively. A range of baguettes & jacket potatoes together with our “lite bites” are available every lunchtime 12-2.30 & Sunday 12 - 7pm (12 – 5 in Winter months) as well as our main menu. Our wine list contains well known favourites, alongside little numbers from around the world.

The upstairs Dining Room seats twenty plus, is open for lunch and dinner. It has fantastic views over the River Severn from almost every table.
The Bar and Courtyard are open everyday from 12pm til late, Sundays 12 pm – 10.30 pm. (Winter 12-2.30 & 6- 11pm, Sundays 12-6pm) Food is served from noon to 2.30 pm and 6.30pm to 9.30pm. (noon to 7pm on Sundays) (Winter 12-5pm)

The White Hart has five refurbished double rooms all with en suite bath and or shower. For more information visit our website or contact the manager, Mike directly with your enquiry.

Please note that we do not have a car park but there is normally ample parking on the road outside the pub or in nearby car parks at either end of Wharfage, if you need advise please ask.

Rooms 1,2 & 3 overlook our very popular & busy courtyard which can become a little noisy in the Summer until the bar closes

We are not a live music venue, but do hold a quiz night on Thursday evenings from 9.30pm-11.30pm which can involve the playing of music for short times.

Free internet sockets in all rooms (except Room 5/ Family Room) & Free WiFi in our lounge bar area.

Picture of The White Hart Ironbridge, TELFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer 2014
Lovely little hotel in a nice location, room was satisfactory, bathroom needed a little TLC, bar area very nice, and court yard nice on a summers day. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant/bar area, and enjoyed the quiz night (Thursdays).

Reviewed by
ian c

From Cleator Moor, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The stay was very enjoyable and the food was exceptionally good. The only drawback was the anxiety about parking.

Reviewed by
T Thompson

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean rooms Staff friendly
Sadly no parking at the pub on street was a gamble

Reviewed by
Peter Harding

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B&B
The lovely little room above the pub overlooking the courtyard and the River Severn was very clean and well decorated. The bed was comfortable and en suite was good. I ate in the pub that evening and surprised that the food was of such good quality and the breakfast was just the right quantity. I'm not sure why they wanted to know if I drank tea or coffee with breakfast the night before when my tea was served as a cup of hot water with a single tea bag on the side. I need a good size pot of tea to get me going in the mornings and most everyone can make tea.
I was made to feel comfortable by the the guys and they looked after my bag the following day. I was looking forward to a second night but they were fully booked.

Reviewed by
Anthony P

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White hart iron bridge
Beautiful position very close to the Ironbridge, a lovely pub with fantastic atmosphere. Food was excellent with great service. A good choice of craft ales. The bathroom in the room was the only bad point. It had a smell that would not go throughout our stay.

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Nice room, comfortable bed. Beautiful food!

Reviewed by
A Young

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet midweek stay
Great place to stay in a room that overlooked the river and courtyard. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast tasty. Was undergoing a facelift at the time but this didn't affect us in the slightest and you can see the quality finishing touches being put in. Couldn't ask for a better location, and made for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
P Mann

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A forgettable but unforgettable experience
Our room was very very poor and not very clean. Two small skylight windows and very small with heavy dust supplied complimentary! and large black cobwebs on the ceiling, worn carpet in narrow passageway to rooms and radiator not working, light bulbs that protruded above the lamp shades on beside lights. Plus point: Ironing board and iron plus hairdryer found in wardrobe. Wardrobe door will not shut. Door difficult to unlock from outside.
Staff very attentive and helpful and friendly. Food excellent although choice limited and very expensive for what you got. Breakfast cup had to be returned as it was still dirty. Breakfast left a lot to be desired although the Pork Sausage was delicious (items seemed to be overcooked). Lots of work going on inside which commenced before breakfast finished. No car parking whatsoever anywhere close - the only option, if you are lucky, is to get one of the few on street bays which offer 40 minutes parking with no return within 1 hour - and you take a chance and leave your car there all day!

Reviewed by
Roger G

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute getaway 14th March
Very friendly and welcoming staff,and the room was of good size and very clean and comfortable!(we had room 2) You had to make allowances for a few creaky floorboards but they added to the character! Lovely view onto the sheltered courtyard and across to the river, a proper sun trap to sit and enjoy a drink and people watch. We had dinner in the evening in the restaurant and the food was superb as was the service ,I would highly recommend a meal here. Breakfast in the morning was just as good and would definitely like to go back to see how the alterations that are in progress(but did not interfere with our stay) have turned out as they looked to be very promising! thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Beverley D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room overlooking the river. Friendly staff and good food.

Reviewed by
B Willits

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next