No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most hospitible host you could wish for and the staff were all very friendly, made you feel you were part of the family. Breakfast was excellent and Bob was a friendly chap.

Reviewed by
John P

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Near The Oxfordshire
Friendly guest house with well stocked bar. Home cooking perfectly adequate for our needs - the breakfast was very good and served with a smile. If we paly the golf course again we would certainly consider staying here again.

Reviewed by
James S

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly make you feel at home nothing to much trouble

Reviewed by
ronald flamson

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Began as guests within 5 nights felt like part of the family
We had a great stay at the English Rose. From the moment we were greeted by Penny at check in and great hot chocolate, to James sorting out our room queries and cooking a grilled breakfast to perfection, to Sheila the landlady going out of her way to accommodate all our wants including finding somewhere to buy mushrooms at 8pm on a very wet bank holiday Monday. All the staff went out of their way to be friendly, there is a very natural personnel atmosphere, we really liked this, very much home from home.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Ball

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth staying at England Rose beds comfortable food lovely and staff exceptional
We didn't think we were going to stay in a 5star hotel for money we paid but was happily surprised with the quality of the accommodation and the food was fab. The staff made us very welcome and bent over backward with anything we needed.

Reviewed by
Pauline Duerden

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place with character
Definitely stay there again if down that neck of the woods. So much character: - original stone floor in right hand bar and complementary stone floor in dining room. Exposed bricks from bygone years blends in well with the decor. Extremely pleasant and obliging staff - nothing too much trouble. Food - we only had breakfast - no complaints at all, all cooked to perfection. The room was clean and fresh towels were provided each day. Cannot fault. 9/10 - only bottled real ale - would have preferred cask ale. Well done - not your common, boring, chain hotels.

Reviewed by
p shepherd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay in Thame
Eccentric couple, but great fun and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
sue j

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, friendly B&B
A good value B&B with very friendly hosts who are eager to make sure you have a nice stay. We felt very welcomed-so thank you :)

Reviewed by
M Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Cheerful

Reviewed by
clive t

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alex Polizzi where are you.
Shabby and run down, see trip advisor for full review.

Reviewed by
Frederick T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next