No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth staying at England Rose beds comfortable food lovely and staff exceptional
We didn't think we were going to stay in a 5star hotel for money we paid but was happily surprised with the quality of the accommodation and the food was fab. The staff made us very welcome and bent over backward with anything we needed.

Reviewed by
Pauline Duerden

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place with character
Definitely stay there again if down that neck of the woods. So much character: - original stone floor in right hand bar and complementary stone floor in dining room. Exposed bricks from bygone years blends in well with the decor. Extremely pleasant and obliging staff - nothing too much trouble. Food - we only had breakfast - no complaints at all, all cooked to perfection. The room was clean and fresh towels were provided each day. Cannot fault. 9/10 - only bottled real ale - would have preferred cask ale. Well done - not your common, boring, chain hotels.

Reviewed by
p shepherd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay in Thame
Eccentric couple, but great fun and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
sue j

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, friendly B&B
A good value B&B with very friendly hosts who are eager to make sure you have a nice stay. We felt very welcomed-so thank you :)

Reviewed by
M Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Cheerful

Reviewed by
clive t

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alex Polizzi where are you.
Shabby and run down, see trip advisor for full review.

Reviewed by
Frederick T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for me
I stayed here as it was local to where I was working and from the reviews seemed to present good value for money. Unfortunately it was not for me. It was friendly and welcoming and there is a massive garden. They take dogs and the garden would be perfect, but the room was not great. The bed linen and towels were lovely and fresh but the bed was very uncomfortable with a thin matress. The headboard was also not attached!! The room was not that clean either with the carpet needing a good vacuum and hairs in the bathroom. The shower tray was also mucky, I had to give it a rinse and wash down myself. The curtains also did not fit the windows so light streamed in from 5am! Also there are signs everywhere saying you will get charged if you forget to leave your when you leave and other things, not that welcoming.
To compound my stay I had someone knock on my door at 10pm as I was dozing off and then people being load in the garden outside at around midnight. Why can't people be considerate to other guests?
Evening meal was OK and breakfast was distinctly average, I asked for scrambled eggs and bacon. The eggs were served on toast which I did not ask for and were very dry and only got one slice of bacon, I know the room was cheap but that is really tight when I have not had sausages, mushrooms etc.
I have stayed in many pub/B&Bs and this was by far my worst experience. The landlady asked for positive reviews to stop the big chains pinching business, but I cannot say more good things.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made very welcome by lovely staff and owner. Great value for money. Food delicious .

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Postcombe doesn't ring twice
We originally booked a twin room in the annexe - the only room available - but moved to a double room in the main pub after another couple failed to show. When we checked in at 5pm and returned to our room at 10pm there were no customers in the pub, and this was a Saturday night.
The room was clean and well equipped but unfortunately the mattress was one of the most uncomfortable we've ever slept on. The bacon and eggs I ordered for breakfast were okay but the butter had crumbs in it from previous guests and the dishes of marmalade and jam had clearly been used several times before as well. I never thought I'd wish for individual portions of butter and marmalade but I did here. The staff were friendly but this had the look and feel of a tired establishment that is desperately in need of investment, starting with new mattresses!

Reviewed by
Brian F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnoight stay
We booked this because there was no other close by to where we dropped off the daughter for a Engagement Party. Very welcoming on arrival, separate accommodation to the Pub so no noisy parties. Room was basic, but clean tidy and with TV and coffee tea making facilities. Food was served in the pub, very good cooked homemade fare, Bed comfortable, Breakfast well cooked and very enjoyable. Downside back of the house so outlook was back yard. But location, welcome and food made up for that.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next