No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit too quirky
A bit off the wall. Cobwebs in many corners. Dated. Didn't enjoy being woken up at 10:30 being told it was 11:00. I can see why some people may like it but not its for me.

Reviewed by
Robin Morgan

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming host

Reviewed by
Avril Lees

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and helpful welcome on arrival. Simple but adequate accommodation. Very comfortable bed with the whitest sheets I have ever slept in. Breakfast of your choice, cooked when you order it and no-one hurries you. I would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Victoria G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay here was OK but
The room was clean and tidy and the bed linen was very good. The en suite lacked soap and shower gels etc. The room was quite cold with a totally inadequate radiator. One would stay there again if the criticisms were dealt with. The use of 'late rooms.com' is an obvious benefit to this establishment.

Reviewed by
Keith P

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good and restful stay
I had a good evening by the fire having a chat with locals and staff. All in all quite an enjoyable stay. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Carlton K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
In terms of the price, I think the room is good, and staff was very friendly, breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Q Liu

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
stayed here with a work colleague, it was like a home away from home. we were made to feel most welcome by both Sheila and bob (not a couple). great food every night and even better company both from the owner and staff and also the other residents. highly recommended and won't hesitate to stay here again if work brings me back to the area.

Reviewed by
Craig Humphries

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub in a small village. Mix of one night stayers and longer term residents (working). Very friendly staff and residents.
Bed comfortable, en suite bathroom fine. Room quiet, but quite cold at night. Wifi reached bedrooms.
Breakfast included was great - full English.

Reviewed by
NIALL S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

at night was cold in room, but under blanket was warm and good

Reviewed by
Valdis Devjatnikovs

From Tyne and Wear, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FANTASTIC!! Homely atmosphere and left very happy. Lovely people running it.
Homely atmosphere. Greeted from the second I walked in the door. Sheila the owner is lovely and so is Bob! Loved it so much, staying until Xmas!!
Great food. Can't go wrong. Never fell asleep hungry.

Reviewed by
Chris Balmbra

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next