No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FANTASTIC!! Homely atmosphere and left very happy. Lovely people running it.
Homely atmosphere. Greeted from the second I walked in the door. Sheila the owner is lovely and so is Bob! Loved it so much, staying until Xmas!!
Great food. Can't go wrong. Never fell asleep hungry.

Reviewed by
Chris Balmbra

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review.
Friendly service. Warm room.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good:
The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
The room was nicely decorated and quirky.
Bad:
The public area felt run down and had a musty smell about it.
The room wasn't entirely clean - we found a couple of old milk/sugar wrappers under the chair.
All in all though it was good value, friendly, and suited our purpose.

Reviewed by
B Robinson

From New Milton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly and welcoming staff. newly decorated rooms and comfy beds.
will definately be booking for next year, and visiting soon for a sunday roast.

Reviewed by
Sarah F

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Englands Rose - An Experience To Match Any Bloom - Delightful
Situated 3 minutes from Junc6 of the M40 on the old A40 - ideal for striking into London, Oxford, Reading, Slough and the South Midlands.
This is one of the those old pubs that the M40 has bypassed - if ever you've seen the movie Cars by Pixar - this is it. And it deserves to survive too.
This pub/hotel has bags of character and its host Sheila - she's marvellous. I booked and arrived late but she took it all in her stride. Friendly, accommodating and a terrific character - as were the other guests. The Bubble Car Club were in - one has a 100 cars ! Sheila then recalled us with the story of her first boyfriend who had a Messerschmit. With news of the Hunt and a bowl of chips, and a cup of tea to wash it all down a weary hour had turned into the most convivial moment for a long time..
The pub has character - so stay and take it for what it is. Its not luxury and not expensive either. A quintessential part of old England with the eccentricity, character and warmth to go with it. An experience not to be missed.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly and personal service. Before travelling I was worried that I would feel awkward eating alone in a pub; I need not have concerned myself. I was looked after very well. Also, I had good home cooked food.

Reviewed by
K Breeze

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here for two nights (B&B) whilst sorting out family affairs locally. The landlady and staff were friendly and helpful and my en suite room in the house adjacent to the pub was adequate.
I stayed during the week so shared the bar in the evenings with I think mostly regular people working away from home which was very entertaining , unfortunately no real ale was available at the bar.
The cooked breakfast was good.
Good basic accommodation and value for money.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From Sale, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for which is cheap
Disappointing standard of cleanliness and extension lead hanging down from behind television with plugs in. The bedding was clean but the room could have done with a vacuum and the bathroom a more thorough clean. I work with animals so used to roughing it at times and so not normally too fussy but it did feel a little bit like Fawlty Towers. The breakfast was very disappointing consisting of tinned tomatoes, tinned mushrooms, cold baked beans, the sausage, bacon and egg were acceptable but thin cheap white sliced bread already buttered is not.

Reviewed by
O Davies

From Haltwhistle, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good nights sleep
I booked England's Rose for me and two mates because it was close to the venue we were travelling to the next day and the room prices were very reasonable, especially with breakfast included. The pub is in a small village just by the M40, but you can't really hear much of this noise. The rooms were small but the bed was comfortable. I had a room with a four poster double bed, which also had a single bed to one side. The room and en suite was clean.
The bar is quite small but has a huge range of drinks available, with some beers and cider on tap and bottles of wine, beer and soft drinks. Me and one mate also ate at the pub, the portions were reasonable and prices not too bad. The beer garden is huge.
We had the full English breakfast the next morning which comes with all the trimmings, and the choice of tea or coffee and orange juice. There are also cereals if you don't fancy the fry up.
All of the staff were very friendly, especially Kim who was there last thing at night and then first thing in the morning to serve breakfast. She's also very chatty so you feel welcomed.

Reviewed by
Dan H

From Canvey Island, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Genuine place which comfortably met our needs for an overnight stay
This was a comfortable, welcoming, friendly and really genuine place, and a nice garden too.

Reviewed by
S A J

From Brecon, Wales
Who stayed in August 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next