No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night's stay at the Rose!
Greeted mid afternoon to drop belongings off before heading up to Thame/Oakley for family visit. We booked in during a family party/bbq - the place was buzzing! On return about 9 pm able to properly take in the quality of the room, clean, airy and supplied with all needs. Lack of a wardrobe for a longer stay, but no matter for us. Ensuite a bit narrow - sink too large, not much turning space otherwise. Quieter down in bar during evening, not much clientele (maybe after an exhausting bbq!). It was quirky; with lots of quirky parahanalia about. Bob's breakfast homely and very yummy. Nice for a summer's one nighter and can agree with a lot of the other comments, knowing how welcoming Bob and Shiela are. Think they are missing a trick though in some areas of accommodation professionalism i.e found some long door screws on carpet outside room, where some work had been going on, there was a tray full of some toiletry items lurking on a side table on the landing and attention to the tables being cleaned between guests eating breakfast, would have been more appealing. Otherwise a jolly stay and a unique establishment - long may she reign - England's Rose!

Reviewed by
Jill R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb old English Welcome
Stayed only one night in the double room which was pleasant and comfortable, not five star but for the money extremely excellent value. Couldn't fault the friendly welcome and both the land lady and bar staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast was as described "A full English" and again was excellent.
If your looking for the Ritz this it isn't, but if your looking for super value for money, in good clean friendly traditional pub environment then it is. Had a great time, and thanks again.

Reviewed by
A Livingstone

From carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover in Oxford
This is an ideal place for a short break for dog owners and those with children. The place is very friendly and homely. There is a very large play area at the back of the hotel for children which also provides an excellent exercise amenity for dog owners which in our case was a huge bonus.

Reviewed by
John E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good budget accomofation - excellent breakfast
Good value for money. Good atmosphere in bar and excellent Full English Breakfast. Will definitley stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark Embery

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit too quirky
A bit off the wall. Cobwebs in many corners. Dated. Didn't enjoy being woken up at 10:30 being told it was 11:00. I can see why some people may like it but not its for me.

Reviewed by
Robin Morgan

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming host

Reviewed by
Avril Lees

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and helpful welcome on arrival. Simple but adequate accommodation. Very comfortable bed with the whitest sheets I have ever slept in. Breakfast of your choice, cooked when you order it and no-one hurries you. I would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Victoria G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay here was OK but
The room was clean and tidy and the bed linen was very good. The en suite lacked soap and shower gels etc. The room was quite cold with a totally inadequate radiator. One would stay there again if the criticisms were dealt with. The use of 'late rooms.com' is an obvious benefit to this establishment.

Reviewed by
Keith P

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good and restful stay
I had a good evening by the fire having a chat with locals and staff. All in all quite an enjoyable stay. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Carlton K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
In terms of the price, I think the room is good, and staff was very friendly, breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Q Liu

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next