No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little Gem
A lovely little place we could not fault it, Bob the barman, cook etc was an asset to the place. We will stay there again when we are in the area.

Reviewed by
E Perkins

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its all about hospitality....
.... the folks at the Englands Rose make you feel so welcome.

Reviewed by
Siôn French

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly people

Reviewed by
emma t

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but welcoming
Bob was very friendly. The was lovely. The room could have been cleaner. And there was a strange smell in the hallway. We stayed in the room above the pub. Another couple we spoke to were stating in the house at the side and they said it was very clean x all in all it wasn't too bad x

Reviewed by
t binns

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A three day visit. Seasoned travellers.
On arrival, the public bar's image was not enhanced in that the customers were both drinking from cans. The draught beer, only one choice ,was v.poor. The evening meal was acceptable for the price. The bed was clean and the towels were good quality and changed each day. I had to draw attention to the dirty shower head, it was replaced with apologies. The widowsills in the public bar where breakfast was served were laden with dust and dead insects. However it was the cheap option for Oxford and the location is pleasant . If I were to be more critical then I probably would be being harsh. The place had a very casual atmosphere. So I suppose you get what you pay for. It was more like a workmans B and B than a tourist establishment.

Reviewed by
M Pitchford

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night's stay at the Rose!
Greeted mid afternoon to drop belongings off before heading up to Thame/Oakley for family visit. We booked in during a family party/bbq - the place was buzzing! On return about 9 pm able to properly take in the quality of the room, clean, airy and supplied with all needs. Lack of a wardrobe for a longer stay, but no matter for us. Ensuite a bit narrow - sink too large, not much turning space otherwise. Quieter down in bar during evening, not much clientele (maybe after an exhausting bbq!). It was quirky; with lots of quirky parahanalia about. Bob's breakfast homely and very yummy. Nice for a summer's one nighter and can agree with a lot of the other comments, knowing how welcoming Bob and Shiela are. Think they are missing a trick though in some areas of accommodation professionalism i.e found some long door screws on carpet outside room, where some work had been going on, there was a tray full of some toiletry items lurking on a side table on the landing and attention to the tables being cleaned between guests eating breakfast, would have been more appealing. Otherwise a jolly stay and a unique establishment - long may she reign - England's Rose!

Reviewed by
Jill R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb old English Welcome
Stayed only one night in the double room which was pleasant and comfortable, not five star but for the money extremely excellent value. Couldn't fault the friendly welcome and both the land lady and bar staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast was as described "A full English" and again was excellent.
If your looking for the Ritz this it isn't, but if your looking for super value for money, in good clean friendly traditional pub environment then it is. Had a great time, and thanks again.

Reviewed by
A Livingstone

From carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover in Oxford
This is an ideal place for a short break for dog owners and those with children. The place is very friendly and homely. There is a very large play area at the back of the hotel for children which also provides an excellent exercise amenity for dog owners which in our case was a huge bonus.

Reviewed by
John E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good budget accomofation - excellent breakfast
Good value for money. Good atmosphere in bar and excellent Full English Breakfast. Will definitley stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark Embery

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit too quirky
A bit off the wall. Cobwebs in many corners. Dated. Didn't enjoy being woken up at 10:30 being told it was 11:00. I can see why some people may like it but not its for me.

Reviewed by
Robin Morgan

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next