No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Englands Rose Pub

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Englands Rose London Road, Postcombe, ox9 7dp
Englands Rose is a friendly local pub set at the bottom of the Chiltern Hills close to fantastic walks and nature reserve. It has excellent logistic location for business and leisure. You can be sure of a very warm, friendly welcome and so much more when you visit our charming village pub. This quaintessential english pub which has a cosy, jovial attmosphere where are friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. We serve traditiona real ales and delicious, hearty home cooked meals. We have a very large beer garden (1 & 1/2 acres)with a fully equipped childrens play area
Our rooms are en-suite, comfortably decorated and with tea/coffee facilities, colour tv.
(2 miles Junc 6 of M40) Thame 4 miles, Henley upon Thames 15miles, Oxford 12 miles, London 33 miles.
Picture of Englands Rose Pub, Postcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
This is an amazing place to stay. The food is excellent and Sheila and Bob make you feel part of the family. Hubby and I decided to go away for a couple of days to relax and do a bit of shopping. The Englands Rose Pub is ideally situated for Oxford, Bicester and Thame. The room we had was lovely and clean. There is a lot of renovation going on and the potential of the Pub is considerable. The locals are very welcoming and great fun. We will certainly go back to this pub to see how the work has progressed. The four poster room will be amazing.
Thank you so very much Sheila and Bob for making our stay better than we could imagine. See you very soon.

Reviewed by
carol gatrill

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really happy
Probably the most friendly people I've ever stayed with, and the food was excellent. If I'm ever in the area again I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
j mason

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really nice room and very pleasent people.

Reviewed by
jarrod h

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay we had a lovely time and can't wait to go back Sheila and her staff can not do enough to make your stay amazing

Reviewed by
Linda Turner

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Brilliant stay. Great staff,room and food will return next time working down here

Reviewed by
Rob Woodward

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend.
Just stayed the one night, but I had no complaints at all. The hostess is lovely and can't do enough for you. Breakfast is great too. I'm looking forward to going back.

Reviewed by
P Millard

From Hawarden, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Great value and a very friendly atmosphere. Lovely Landlady, place is undergoing some improvements to bring back the old character of the place so set for ongoing improvements.

Reviewed by
mike a

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Must stay venue!!
Having never left a review before, I felt I must with this lovely pub and B&B. Just five minutes off the M40, its ideal for easy access, and is a wonderful pub with a separate accommodation block . Shelia the owner cannot do enough for you, and the breakfast was first class. As an ale drinker there was a choice of some 30 bottles. Highly recommended and a great price too.

Reviewed by
john s

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

England's Rose Pub's landlady and staff are very friendly, helpfull and accommodating, as well as being pet friendly. We took our dog with us and enjoyed walking around the 2 acres of grounds of the pub observing the wildlife. There is also a large play area for the children. There is a large restaurant with a good selection of food and wines along with a selection of real ales.
We found the rates for the rooms very reasonable which included a full English breakfast, and would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Robinson

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
A huge warm welcome and great food, a comfortable bed and good nights sleep + excellent breakfast. Topped off in a pub full of character and characters. Would recommend this place to any who are not expecting the standard premier inn type hotel!

Reviewed by
g heron

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next