Reviews - Bonnington Beach


44 Tregonwell Road, West Cliff,, Bournemouth, BH2 5NT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (88)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Thomas L

  • September 2014

Didn't have any problems at all, 100% recommend!

The room was clean, bed was comfortable, easy to get to, 5 minute walk from centre of town and from the beach, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel was very nice inside.

We got the luxury of being bumped up to a more expensive room with no extra charge after the first night because they said as no one is staying in it you can have it. This hotel was perfect for the short time we were there

  • Julie G

  • September 2014

Brilliant value for money

We had a lovely stay, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and the breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Antoinette P

  • September 2014

Surprising excellence

Everything that you need, one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, the linen was pristine, plenty of fresh towels, powerful hot shower & the breakfast service & menu was beyond expectations, again, the standard of hygiene and sense of utter cleanliness in the food environment was beyond expectations, very reassuring & condusive to an extremely enjoyable meal.

Thank you

  • Victor S

  • September 2014

Air show weekend

Perfectly placed for Air Show, friendly & helpful staff.

Room missing a bedside light and glass/plastic cup in bathroom - double bed too small so had to use extra bed in room, otherwise fine, although there was a stag party - bit noisy early hours morning coming in. But they enjoyed themselves, and we had a great weekend.

  • Nicholas T

  • September 2014

Worst Hotel I've stayed in

My wife & I stayed here for the Bournemouth airshow, we arrived at the hotel at 15:00 an hour after check-in time.

We were told that the room was still not ready as they were short staffed, we decided to get something to eat on the beach front and returned at 17:00. This time the room was ready, we payed for the room which including over-night parking was £90. As soon as we started walking up the stairs we started getting the feeling our stay was not going to be the best. Very dark staircase, dirty carpets and curtains closed which made it feel more like a hostel than anything else. We finally got to our room which to start with was tiny, none of the furniture matched, the carpets again were stained and not fitted correctly which create uneven flooring. The only plug socket I found was broken with exposed wires which also meant the side light did not work. As we were going out for the evening I decided to go into the ensuite, which had a shower base covered in mould, it had what I can only explain as spillage marks on the base as well. We decided not to shower that evening as it was too dirty and freshened up instead. When we arrived back later that night we went straight to bed but then noticed a huge stain on the bed matress and as there was no protector it showed through the sheets, so my wife decided to lay a towel down on the bed to protect us. Once we were laying down trying to sleep we noticed the door to our room kept banging everytime someone walked past or up the stairs so had to wedge another towel under the door to prevent this from happening. When we woke in the morning we both woke in a lot of pain to our backs where the bed was so uncomfortable and with pillows thinner than pancakes. Again we quickly freshened up and went to check out, we decided not to eat breakfast as we were too scared to. The airshow was great, just a shame the hotel ruined the weekend and ours backs. This hotel wouldn't even be appropriate for a stag weekend, I highly recommend you do not stay here and is definitely not worth the £90 per night their charging.

  • b arthur

  • September 2014

do not stay there

this hotel is not a stone throw away from the beach as it says it is.

it is about a five min walk. the breakfast is awful tasting . i also asked for a room with a bath which i need not get. the rooms are noisy and there is no atmosphere in this hotel

  • Alex D

  • August 2014

The room was absolutely brilliant.

Loved then layout and the relaxed feeling of the room. Staff were brilliant and the breakfast was too notch. Will definately return here in the near future!

  • Glyn M

  • August 2014

Will come back

We did have a few issues, such as only 1 socket but staff could not have been more helpful.

Asked for extra milk, ice etc and only too pleased to help, Room could have done with a small dressing table and mirror and bathroom a shelf but all was good. Within very short walking distance of town and loads of good restaurants just over the road.

  • a taylor

  • August 2014

Needs updating, but very friendly, accommodating, reception staff .

  • sylvia m

  • August 2014

good basic accomodation