No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Washington Hotel: room could have done with a coat of paint (water damage to walls & ceiling), shower was only a sprinkle. controls for heating missing (kept windows open)

Reviewed by
Caroline R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was clean comfortable and quiet. hair dryer did not work and offered use of one in another room without delay. Cooked breakfast was not hot. Tiny poached egg almost cold. One rasher of bacon I declined sausage. Dining room was very busy at 7am start for breakfast. Extra charge for car park and wi fi increase nightly rate by £10. Corridor decoration awful in places with plaster off the walls. My room was fine.

Reviewed by
Elaine R

From Sheringham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time here!
An overnight stay, our first at the Washington, which was very comfortable, serviced by friendly and helpful staff and our breakfast before departure was more than adequate and well presented with a wide choice of items. The car was secured in an enclosed parking area. We would look to come again, and would recommend to others..

Reviewed by
G Rowe

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the washington
I would highly recommend this hotel. The friendliness of the staff from arrival to checking out was top rate.

Reviewed by
Barry Isom

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best accommodation I have stayed in.

Reviewed by
brian p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price
A great price for what we got . Comfortable room and a lovely breakfast. From check in to check out the staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
Marie H

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Good hotel

Reviewed by
S Moon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
There was a stain on the bedcover and as soon as I reported it, the receptionist said she would change it, which she did. It shouldn't have been left like that in the first place.
I didn't specify about stairs but I didn't anticipate that I would be on the top floor. I am 65yrs and a regular customer there. There is no lift and very windy stairswith fire doors to heave open.
They would have helped with the case, but there was only one receptionist and it was very busy.
The carpet in the room needs replacing. Very stained and threadbare in places.

Reviewed by
A King

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly, but room tired
The staff all seemed to be very friendly, however, the room itself was very tired and overpriced at £89. We struggled to reach a comfortable temperature from the shower.
The room was clean.

Reviewed by
Louise R

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I can highly recomend the Washington hotel, the service and staff were excelent,nothing was too much trouble for them, Iwill be staying again when I go back to Bristol

Reviewed by
o lofthouse

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next