No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central to everything. Superb Staff
Hotel 10 min walk to city centre. Lovely central location. On Road parking available for free if can get a place too. Staff in the hotel exceptional in their customer service. The first room we were allocated must have had a problem with carpet and was being upgraded in next 4 weeks, was unacceptable although clean. Staff moved us for rest of stay, no fuss.
Fresh milk too provided with tea and coffee in room, together with fresh fruit.
If only need it as we did for a bed for the night as out seeing the sight. Cannot beat the place, location, price and staff.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Newton Abbot, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, basic accommodation, perfect for one night
The room was small and the bathroom (with only a shower no bath) was really really tiny. The shower pressure could be better too. If it hadn't been for such lovely, kind, helpful reception staff I would not recommend this place, but the were so nice that I would come back again. It's decent value for money but a little bit old and run down. Having said that, the hotel was perfect for what we needed.

Reviewed by
E Cartwright

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real good hotel shamw about the car park
Great room, great staff shame about parking. It's free on the road but with locals and other hotels trying to find a spot near to your hotel is nearly impossible. So the only other choice you have is the hotel car park round the back which is £6.00 a night not expencive but as there is no real safe option I do feel a bit ripped off. Maybe a cheeper price or free to guests would be a good idea

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good accomodation for those on a budget
It is actually quite hard to criticize our stay at the Washington. Reception was always helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were very tasty with very pleasant staff serving, clean as well. Bed was very comfortable which i always find a rarity in lots of hotels. The room was fine and of a good size, nice fruit and teas / coffee provided. our only criticism was that the provided hairdryer was not up to the job and that some previous guest opening the window had damaged the voile. We would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
john rutherford

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing.
The staff were really friendly and welcoming but overall a disappointing experience.
The room was small and dated, with peeling artex on the ceiling. This hotel was clean and although tea/coffee etc was provided in the room, this did not go any way to detracting from the lack of maintenance and general scruffiness of the common areas and the room given to me. The breakfast room in the basement looked welcoming and the food smelled really good, but the clientelle in residence during my stay had made so much noise in the room somewhere above mine, my main aim was to leave as quickly as possible. The car park (£6) was just a space at the rear of the hotel which clearly wasn't big enough and double parking and blocking in of vehicles was commonplace.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value stay
On arrival it took me a fair while to find a parking space as the car park at the back of the hotel is locked and the local roads are pretty busy.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful and sorted out my room quickly. They also later sorted out WiFi access for me.
The room was very small and at the top of the building, so very hot and stuffy. Admittedly, the temperature outside was high, but the windows didn't open far enough to cool the room down. The bed spread had a stain on it and the room felt a little grubby, especially the tiny ensuite bathroom.
Breakfast staff were nice, but overloaded. The food was good, but it took a fair wait to come and others around me experienced incorrect orders.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend the stay here. Although, it was convenient to be able to book online last minute, which not many hotels in the area have the option to do.

Reviewed by
Lauren W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Budget Hotel
Considering the price, this place is very good. Lovely service, clean and tidy room, a comfy bed and a quiet night.

Reviewed by
Lucy S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in the summer
I was very impressed by the staff at this hotell. Polite, professional and very helpful. I will stay here again on other trips to Bristol.

Reviewed by
J Bjerknes

From Kongsberg, Norway
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at The Washington Bristol - July 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at The washington, even though we were only booked in for one night, the room was very pleasant, the little touches eg letter on arrival, the fruit with biscuits, hot chocolate, proper coffee and loose leaf tea all very welcoming when waiting in our room on arrival. The carpark at the rear made it very convenient so we didn't have to think about parking. We also went to the restaurant recommended by the hotel, again food very good, and choice made easy with menu available in our room. Definately would book into the Washington the next time we stay in Bristol.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
I've stayed here before. It's nice enough

Reviewed by
Iain D

From NEWTON ABBOT, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next