No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
We were very surprised at the quality of the accommodation considering the price. We have paid much more for much less in the past. the staff were all excellent, friendly & helpful. the room was clean, the bed and linen were lovely, shower was great, breakfast was amazing, full buffet with beautifully cooked option as well. The secure parking wasn't the easiest to park in but it gave peace of mind and i felt happy that we weren't using up the local resident's road parking. i would deff stay here again if i was in Bristol and would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Lesley R

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday night accommodation
Good location for White ladies, Clifton or even a 15-20min walk to the centre of town. Room was basic but clean and included a caffetiere for coffee which was a nice touch, breakfast was good and had good service. The hotel is obviously very old so lots of creaky floorboards that might disturb someones slumber. The windows are single pane so again some street noise might be intrusive. For the price we paid we would recommend and return to this hotel.

Reviewed by
K Sullivan

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation quite tired, however staff very friendly and efficient with a very good breakfast. Very limited on-site parking, however found parking close by. Great location!

Reviewed by
David H

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief stay
I had a single room in the basement. It was dark, but very quiet. It had all I needed for a peaceful night. The bed was hard, but comfortable enough. The breakfast was lovely. I would have given a perfect review were it not for the enormous woodlouse which I saw in the morning, parading across the floor. Closer inspection revealed the area under the window was very rotten, and you could actually see through to outside garden in the bottom corner. I'm not squeamish, so this didn't bother me, but it might bother some people.

Reviewed by
R Clark

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel. Well worth the money. Breakfast excellent. Used the secure car park. Close to restaurants, museum, Clifton Suspension Bridge etc. Had a lovely city break in Bristol.

Reviewed by
V Wood

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay but....
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice available and excellent service from friendly and pleasant staff. The dining room is in the basement and our room was on the 2nd floor so quite a climb with no lift available and not recommended for the unfit or elderly. Unfortunately we didn't get one of the refurbished rooms and ours was in dire need of an upgrade. Beds were quite hard, furnishings outdated and decor in urgent need of attention; a fresh coat of paint to walls, ceiling and doors at the very least. The bathroom was equally dated wih creaky floorboards (not very nice for nearby guests) and the shower temperature was difficult to control with a weak flow. An upgraded shower and the room re-tiling being a minimum requirement. Parking in the hotel car park is charged as an extra per night and although there is on street parking, you need to be early to bag a space if you want to be nearby the hotel. I booked well in advance so think I got a pretty good rate compared to other hotels but the room was a letdown and not really worth the discounted rate offered. I have indicated I wouldn't stay here again but would reconsider once the refurbishment is completed as the staff were all very pleasant and with breakfast included in the rate, gives the Washington an edge over rivals.

Reviewed by
john c

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Washington Hotel: room could have done with a coat of paint (water damage to walls & ceiling), shower was only a sprinkle. controls for heating missing (kept windows open)

Reviewed by
Caroline R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the washington
I would highly recommend this hotel. The friendliness of the staff from arrival to checking out was top rate.

Reviewed by
Barry Isom

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was clean comfortable and quiet. hair dryer did not work and offered use of one in another room without delay. Cooked breakfast was not hot. Tiny poached egg almost cold. One rasher of bacon I declined sausage. Dining room was very busy at 7am start for breakfast. Extra charge for car park and wi fi increase nightly rate by £10. Corridor decoration awful in places with plaster off the walls. My room was fine.

Reviewed by
Elaine R

From Sheringham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time here!
An overnight stay, our first at the Washington, which was very comfortable, serviced by friendly and helpful staff and our breakfast before departure was more than adequate and well presented with a wide choice of items. The car was secured in an enclosed parking area. We would look to come again, and would recommend to others..

Reviewed by
G Rowe

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next