Reviews - The Washington


11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Nassim E

  • June 2014

Poor hotel. It's not worth at all for the accommodation price

  • alison b

  • May 2014

Value for money.

Room smallish but adequate.

Bed was comfortable and nice big bath towels. Carpets and bathroom looked clean but corners a bit grubby and decor tired. Charge for Wifi. Some of the fruit in the fruit bowl was just past its best. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast good and plentiful.

  • J Sykes

  • May 2014

Not bad for a cheepish stay.

A relatively cheep (and relatively clean) hotel.

All fixtures and fitting seems like they're from the 1980's at the latest. I had a rattly window in my room (single glazed) - but it was windy outside. Quite a lumpy bed too. Nice touch with the complimentary bowl of fruit. Friendly staff, and a very nice breakfast in the morning.

  • a thomas

  • May 2014

Was given my bill at check in, which I paid with cash.

Two days later I find £6 had been taken off my debit card for car parking. Why did this happen. I was presented with my total bill at check in, not happy that more was taken from me at a later date without being informed first.

  • Debbie Bettles

  • April 2014

A Happy Bristol Experience 35 years on!

I know Bristol very well as I was a University student there 35 years ago.

This was a trip down memory lane for me and the hotel suited my purposes very well. It was comfortable,friendly and very convenient for everything I wanted to do. As I was staying on my own I felt cosy,safe and warm in my little basement room. The only criticism I had was there was no offer of assistance getting my suitcase down the narrow and windy staircase. I asked for help getting it back up again. A minor inconvenience!

  • Simon B

  • April 2014

Theatre Stay

We stayed one night at the Washington and were very pleased with it.

The location was perfect for us - a smart, quiet street in a good area and an easy walk into the city centre. The building is a traditional Georgian one and could do with a bit of interior renovation but is fine for the price. We were happy with our room (41). It didn't have all the best fittings but we didn't expect it to for the price we paid. The traditional English breakfast was great and there were plenty of staff serving. Overall a good, affordable choice for a mid-range city break.

  • A Ejikeme

  • April 2014

Mislead on breakfast

This is a good budget hotel.

But the only reason why I booked it was because breakfast was included in the price and they were supposedly serving breakfast at a time which suited me. I called the hotel to confirm the time of breakfast and also double checked when I checked in. But in the morning I was sent away because they change breakfast times during bank holidays. At no time was I given this information. Had breakfast in Sainsbury instead down the road. Waste of time and should have booked somewhere else.

  • Richard Bainbridge

  • March 2014

Just what we wanted

Well situated - excellent directions with bus numbers - able to leave bags on last day - good breakfast with fast service - nice room in quiet area

  • Sarah S

  • February 2014

Tired and shabby but helpful staff

Appalled by state of the small single room I was given: great chunks of paint flaking off the ceiling, paint peeling off the radiator, tired fixtures and fittings and dirty corners I didn't want to peer too closely into.

Complained and was given a more recently redecorated room, but still tiny, outdated, and nothing to write home about. Staff helpful.

  • Marilyn C

  • February 2014

The room was clean ,good size and comfortable

Good choice of hot drinks to make yourself..