No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room
Basic but clean and comfortable room. I had a nice hot bath followed by a good night's sleep. Good choice of cereals, fruits, juices and cooked options for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Fiona R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome Place
Absolutely wonderful place to stay - already booked another overnight for a gig for me and my mates

Reviewed by
John W

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy experience
Every time I stay at the Washington, I am still surprised at the level of service and the complimentary fruit and drinks in the rooms, which I never get at any other higher level hotels, let alone one like the budget rated Washington

Reviewed by
a somerville

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place for an overnight stay
We stayed one night when in Bristol for a family celebration It served its purpose The décor was tired and tatty in places but it was warm and comfortable and the service was good especially at breakfast where it was clean fast and efficient and the food was of good quality for the price paid

Reviewed by
Keren M

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget accommodation, fabulous breakfast!
We stayed here for a night visiting our son at the university. The location is great, and the staff friendly and very helpful. Our room, 44, was rather tired, but clean. Any shortcomings wee easily made up by the amazing breakfast.

Reviewed by
K King

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed
Nice place , actually not very far away from city centre , appropriate price ; customer service = exellent.

Reviewed by
L Kikule

From Lucan, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall experience
The hotel was excellent value for money rooms were comfortable & it was good to see there was a hairdryer & plenty of tea & coffee. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very
friendly & helpful. The secure parking was an added bonus.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, shame about the accommodation
Hotel is conveniently located for access to Clifton Village and has its own car parking. However, the hotel as a whole is in need of serious improvement and the room was pretty shabby, only one chair for two people and the heating did not work, so we had a cold. cold night. Breakfast was the best part of the stay.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Have stayed in many hotels in Bristol, but due to short notice had to stay in the Washington. A very pleasant surprise and worth more than the amount charged. I will certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
a somerville

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay :)
Great hotel in a great spot within easy walking distance of our destination (the O2) and the harbour... The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and will supply you with maps and directions... breakfast staff were eager to please and breakfast was fab too :) The twin room was ample and comfortable, We slept like logs!! and even took advantage of the late check out at 12:30 for an extra £5 .. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and a small basket of fruit in the room.. Parking on site cost £6, only a small car park but if you could manage to walk or bus it to the shops it saves you a bomb on parking... 4 hours at the NCP costs £15..!!! :) Hope you enjoy your stay :) x

Reviewed by
melanie howells

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next