No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place for an overnight stay
We stayed one night when in Bristol for a family celebration It served its purpose The décor was tired and tatty in places but it was warm and comfortable and the service was good especially at breakfast where it was clean fast and efficient and the food was of good quality for the price paid

Reviewed by
Keren M

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget accommodation, fabulous breakfast!
We stayed here for a night visiting our son at the university. The location is great, and the staff friendly and very helpful. Our room, 44, was rather tired, but clean. Any shortcomings wee easily made up by the amazing breakfast.

Reviewed by
K King

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed
Nice place , actually not very far away from city centre , appropriate price ; customer service = exellent.

Reviewed by
L Kikule

From Lucan, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall experience
The hotel was excellent value for money rooms were comfortable & it was good to see there was a hairdryer & plenty of tea & coffee. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very
friendly & helpful. The secure parking was an added bonus.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, shame about the accommodation
Hotel is conveniently located for access to Clifton Village and has its own car parking. However, the hotel as a whole is in need of serious improvement and the room was pretty shabby, only one chair for two people and the heating did not work, so we had a cold. cold night. Breakfast was the best part of the stay.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Have stayed in many hotels in Bristol, but due to short notice had to stay in the Washington. A very pleasant surprise and worth more than the amount charged. I will certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
a somerville

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay :)
Great hotel in a great spot within easy walking distance of our destination (the O2) and the harbour... The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and will supply you with maps and directions... breakfast staff were eager to please and breakfast was fab too :) The twin room was ample and comfortable, We slept like logs!! and even took advantage of the late check out at 12:30 for an extra £5 .. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and a small basket of fruit in the room.. Parking on site cost £6, only a small car park but if you could manage to walk or bus it to the shops it saves you a bomb on parking... 4 hours at the NCP costs £15..!!! :) Hope you enjoy your stay :) x

Reviewed by
melanie howells

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not wonderful but adequate
The room was warm and comfortable, and the breakfast nicely cooked. But the showerhead was either very dirty or very rusty; the curtain was hanging off the rail; the wardrobe door with its full length mirror wouldn't open fully as it hit the chimney breast wall, thus leaving the full length mirror useless. The place was tired and in desperate need of redecoration. Car parking is horrendous, although there is a small car park at the rear accessed by a steel shutter, and they charge £6 to stay overnight. This had an old mattress and numerous bin bags deposited there which gave an air of utter neglect

Reviewed by
S Stewart

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay at the Washington after a gig was great
I would recommend the Washington, they had secure parking, Rooms were a good size, My brother and i shared a twin room. The Tv worked. The bathroom was clean although if you don't like bleach that would have been a problem for you.
Bed was comfy and clean. All in all i recommend it. Amazingly i got a little lost trying to find the room but once you find the right way its easy. 24hrs desk and near places to eat and a walk into town

Reviewed by
Joe K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay.
Quiet street in the Clifton area only a 5 minute walk to the Queen´s Road with its shops, trendy pubs and restaurants and a 10 minute bus trip into the centre of town (Cabot Circus shopping centre).
Attractive and comfortable period building. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. Racks Bar & Kitchen restaurant is just up the road and you get a discount from the hotel.
A most enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
d jackson

From Netherlands
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next