No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre Stay
We stayed one night at the Washington and were very pleased with it. The location was perfect for us - a smart, quiet street in a good area and an easy walk into the city centre. The building is a traditional Georgian one and could do with a bit of interior renovation but is fine for the price. We were happy with our room (41). It didn't have all the best fittings but we didn't expect it to for the price we paid. The traditional English breakfast was great and there were plenty of staff serving. Overall a good, affordable choice for a mid-range city break.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mislead on breakfast
This is a good budget hotel. But the only reason why I booked it was because breakfast was included in the price and they were supposedly serving breakfast at a time which suited me. I called the hotel to confirm the time of breakfast and also double checked when I checked in. But in the morning I was sent away because they change breakfast times during bank holidays. At no time was I given this information. Had breakfast in Sainsbury instead down the road. Waste of time and should have booked somewhere else.

Reviewed by
A Ejikeme

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Happy Bristol Experience 35 years on!
I know Bristol very well as I was a University student there 35 years ago. This was a trip down memory lane for me and the hotel suited my purposes very well.
It was comfortable,friendly and very convenient for everything I wanted to do.
As I was staying on my own I felt cosy,safe and warm in my little basement room.
The only criticism I had was there was no offer of assistance getting my suitcase down the narrow and windy staircase. I asked for help getting it back up again. A minor inconvenience!

Reviewed by
Debbie Bettles

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted
Well situated - excellent directions with bus numbers - able to leave bags on last day - good breakfast with fast service - nice room in quiet area

Reviewed by
Richard Bainbridge

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and shabby but helpful staff
Appalled by state of the small single room I was given: great chunks of paint flaking off the ceiling, paint peeling off the radiator, tired fixtures and fittings and dirty corners I didn't want to peer too closely into. Complained and was given a more recently redecorated room, but still tiny, outdated, and nothing to write home about. Staff helpful.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From Chulmleigh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay, Great Value
A nice hotel in the up market area of clifton, bristol. No frills but great value for money, the staff were all pleasant and friendly, the room had everything i needed, en-suite bathroom tea and coffe making facilities. The breakfast was great to. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Alex O

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean ,good size and comfortable
Good choice of hot drinks to make yourself..

Reviewed by
Marilyn C

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget is as good as it gets
really down trodden looking hotel, clean enough if you are sleeping and moving on. our room 41 had old sash rattling wjndows, the frames were black and rotting, the radiator in the room was luke warm even after we asked for it to be turned up ! the radiator in the bathroom was switched off just right in February, bath with shower or should i say bath with a drip above it, picture in the description must be from a sister hotel. the staff we met were all great and polite. it seems like a hotel that builders who work out of town use, have to pay for wifi how dated is that and £6 to park? when its free outside the door!!!!!

Reviewed by
Chris Jones

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting!.
The location of the hotel was ideal for us to attend our son's graduation.
The university was a short walk and on the level.
Unfortunately our room was on the second floor which meant a climb
as there is no lift. The reception did offer to bring our bags up to our room.
Should have accepted the offer!.
The breakfast was brilliant!
Regretfully the breakfast room was in the basement so more stairs to ascend and
descend.

Reviewed by
Julian O

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brief business visit
all clean and helpful staff. Good value.

Reviewed by
E Latter

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next