No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room need updating carpet stained paint peeling from ceiling , felt seedy

Reviewed by
C Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Although the hotel looks a bit tired, in need of decorating, it was a very enjoyable 2 night stay. Generally clean and tidy, friendly staff, good breakfast and it made a change to have tea, coffee, etc inc fruit in aur room which you don't always get these days in the larger budget hotels. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Doug A

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY WOULD RECOMMEND
VERY ENJOYABLE

Reviewed by
N Regan

From Exeter, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed a 2 night stay with my sister. Ideal location for the Clifton area and Park St etc. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Twin room on ground floor dated and tired but beds comfortable and ensuite and room clean. Very good value and breakfast is superb. Car parking in secure lot at rear of hotel does cost £6 per night.

Reviewed by
A LAPWORTH

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal For Exploring
This hotel is ideally priced and located for exploring Clifton and down into Bristol
We only used it as a stop over whilst attending a wedding therefore spent very little time in the room - a lick of paint and bathroom upgrade is required but short of this you won't get much better at the price in the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Gareth H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money

Reviewed by
m male

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, convenient location
I have stayed at a few hotels in Bristol, with my husband, but on this occasion only needed a single room. It was good value, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and the staff welcoming. I'll stay again.

Reviewed by
Caroline C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good budget hotel
pleased with this Hotel, reception area welcoming & cosy, reception staff very helpful & friendly. The room was basic, which we obviously expected, very clean, everything we needed, fruit as well as the usual biscuits! Shower good and hot. Breakfast very good, plenty of choice, could have maybe been a little hotter-but that might just be me- I like hot food! The staff on duty at breakfast very obliging and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. All in all, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Lynne W

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean and warm, 10 minute walk from Clifton Village will stay again

Reviewed by
John H

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Disappointing Visit
Having read very good reviews on this hotel I booked a a one night stay only to find we were allocated a room which I can only describe as not fit for paying guests. The bed spreads were torn with cigarette burns on them. The room had peeling wall paper. The toilet was badly stained. There was no heating in the bathroom or bedroom and on a cold weekend as it was for our stay heating is a must! On the plus side the shower provided good flowing hot water. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good freshly cooked along with a choice of continental alternatives. It was a shame the room was a let down!

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next