No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good budget hotel
pleased with this Hotel, reception area welcoming & cosy, reception staff very helpful & friendly. The room was basic, which we obviously expected, very clean, everything we needed, fruit as well as the usual biscuits! Shower good and hot. Breakfast very good, plenty of choice, could have maybe been a little hotter-but that might just be me- I like hot food! The staff on duty at breakfast very obliging and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. All in all, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Lynne W

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean and warm, 10 minute walk from Clifton Village will stay again

Reviewed by
John H

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Disappointing Visit
Having read very good reviews on this hotel I booked a a one night stay only to find we were allocated a room which I can only describe as not fit for paying guests. The bed spreads were torn with cigarette burns on them. The room had peeling wall paper. The toilet was badly stained. There was no heating in the bathroom or bedroom and on a cold weekend as it was for our stay heating is a must! On the plus side the shower provided good flowing hot water. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good freshly cooked along with a choice of continental alternatives. It was a shame the room was a let down!

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was dirty, beds were very old and well used with no duvet. Decor was poor and dated and nothing like it looked on the website.

Reviewed by
g lynch

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
We paid £56 for a night in the Washington via Laterooms - we weren't expecting anything amazing but we were certainly expecting more. The entrance is fine and seems quite cute and quaint, however, we were staying in a basement room which was freezing, even after we left the heating on for 6 hours while we were out. The bathroom was really quite nasty and the hallway leading to the room was damaged quite badly by damp.
We had already booked to eat elsewhere, however, should this have not been the case we would certainly have done so after seeing the state of the room.

Reviewed by
Charlie H

From Tunbridge Wells, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better value than its posh partners
Very nice room, though quite a climb on a not very well-lit staircase. Pleasant relaxed stay, good location, good breakfast.

Reviewed by
E Hudson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Night stay to go and see Rita Ora
This was a 2 night stay for me and my brother to go and see Rita Ora. The hotal was what we expected> The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We did struggle to find the centre but that was down to us and not the hotel. It was within walking distance to the venue which was perfect.
Our room was very comfoirtable but a little on the small side for a broither and sister to share. Again it was good valu for money. Wewould recommend this hotel tofamily and friends.

Reviewed by
samantha N

From kendal, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the price
Good central location in the Clifton area of Bristol. Economically priced. Friendly staff. Clean room. Good breakfast. Not terribly exciting basement single room that was a little tired but good value for money.

Reviewed by
James F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middle of all the fun
Enjoyed the hotel which is in the middle of Clifton and easy walking distance to everything. Great facilities in the room including filter coffee and hot chocolate. Fruit and biscuits also there for midnight nibbles.
Brilliant choice of items at breakfast.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was only ok
was an ok stay over, many hidden charges, such as £2.50 per hour for wifi, when its free everywhere else, plus £6 car park and its free outside on the road, room was basic and dated but enough towels and pillows, brekfast best thing about hotel

Reviewed by
j obrien

From , England
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next