No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Knoll Country House

5Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Lakeside, Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge, LA12 8AU
The Knoll is a late Victorian country Retreat offering 8 ensuite guest bedrooms and a self contained apartment with exclusive use hot tub. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, DVD players, iPod dock/alarm/radios, full hospitality tray, toiletries and robes.

We offer a fabulous breakfast (inclusive in all 8 hotel rooms) and gorgeous evening dinner all set in a quiet country location just a few minutes walk to Lake Windermere. Handy for the Lake Steamers and other excellent attractions.
Picture of The Knoll Country House, Newby Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Engaging stay
We had read the reviews before we went and were not in the least bit disappointed with our stay. From the moment we arrived our host was helpful, attentative yet relaxed and nothing was too much trouble. She was able to recommend places to eat and on our second night we had a meal in the hotel which was simply superb with the dining room set up for our special evening as we had got engaged that very day.
We would highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone if you want comfort, beautiful surrounding and great service.

Reviewed by
George Ogden

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic and we will be back
Stayed one night to break up journey from Suffolk to Aberdeen. Lovely warm welcome, room was fantastic with huge bath and proper shower cubicle. Bed really comfortable and lots of lovelyu touches in the room. Unable to eat here as no food is served on Sunday evenings, but we were pointed in the directionof a few local places (Ended up in Masons Arms, which was delicious). We had home made museli followed by full cooked breakfast, both were fantastic, with the locally sourced bacon and black pudding worth the drive on their own. Spoke to owner when checking out and confirmed that we will be back next year for a longer stay. Ideally situated at the Southern end of Windermere with boat trips etc within walking distance.

Reviewed by
David Girling

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing black pudding!
Fabulous accommodation, great food and wonderful setting. Sam and Jen could not do enough for us, we would stay again in a heartbeat!

Reviewed by
M Thompson

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit 23/10/2013
We stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a tour of the north. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Food and accommodation were both excellent. We would recommend to everyone.

Reviewed by
P Randle

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy hideaway.
We had a one night stay in the Knoll and it felt like home from home. The room was large, spacious and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was lovely and plenty of it. The hosts were very welcoming people and put on a huge fire in the lounge where we sat and had wine in the evening. The only disappointment was on a Sun and Mon they don't cook in the evening and the only place we could go to within walking distance was the Lakeside hotel which was very expensive. But apparently the only nights they don't cook are Sunday and Monday.

Reviewed by
Agnes Marie Bell

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb stay
Excellent top quality county house. Warm welcome, comfy surroundings. Classy but homely.
Top quality food and drink. A credit to windermere

Reviewed by
antony h

From newton aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find in Lakeside
Booking a room in Cumbria during August is always difficult at short notice but I was lucky to find two rooms at this gem in Lakeside. Lots of care and attention to detail. Cozy and comfortable bed and a great breakfast too.

Reviewed by
Bob A

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely luxurious getaway
Really wonderful place to stay, friendly owner (didn't catch her name sorry) and the room was very warm and inviting with a lot of class and comfort

Reviewed by
C Fallows

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt the room could have done with voil on the windows for privacy and filtering the sun. Other than that our stay was lovely. Exceptionally clean and food delicious.

Reviewed by
michael hopkins

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Little Gem
Amazing little retreat, service outstanding, attention to detail so stylish, Food was above 5 star, Comfy bed and spotlessly clean. The owners who looked after us couldnt do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. Breakfast was fantastic!!! Everyone needs to experience The Knoll and I'm going for another night to take my Husband this time!

Reviewed by
K Holderness

From Preston, England
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next