No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Merrymouth Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Stow Road Fifield near Burford, Fifield, OX76HR
The Merrymouth is a 13th Century Stone Cotswold Inn, ideally situated close to numerous places of interest. The Guest Accommodation is situated in a converted stable block to the rear of the Inn. All rooms are en-suite and extremely comfortable. The Inn has built a fine reputation for its home-cooked food, real ale and extensive wine list. Breakfast is served until 12 noon and well behaved dogs are welcome. The perfect retreat for holidaymakers and business guests, alike.
Picture of The Merrymouth Inn, Fifield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful break
We have just returned to Shropshire having enjoyed a three day break at the Merrymouth with
Bill,Mo and all their young and friendly staff. We had a great welcome to a very pleasant room
No 7 with open views to the fields to the rear and a comfortable seating area in the garden to the front where we enjoyed an afternoon drink.
All the food was superb and we would definitely recommend the hotel in general and the restaurant especially. We look forward to returning in the very near future.
All the best and see you soon Gill & Peter Grindley.

Reviewed by
Peter Grindley

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for a short break
A great welcome - remembered our names the next day which was nice.
A really comfy bed so got an excellent nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm friendly staff and amazing food!!
We wished we had more than 1 night here, great location and food was really good.

Reviewed by
A McLaughlin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly eccentric? Hah!
I hope the proprieter was aiming for 'Slightly eccentric' (see review November 2013), or his nose will have been put out of joint either way!
Seriously though, I can't recommend this inn highly enough. The welcome has always been warm, even at my unsociable hours of arrival, and the food excellent. Hoping to have a reason to stay there again soon.

Reviewed by
Julian Weaver

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Welcome
The owner and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - especially at the welcome when you immediately felt like a valued friend. The room wasn't enormous but was good value and cosy. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Merrymouth Inn
Cosy, peaceful and relaxing. Fantastic food !!! Lovely people. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
K choi

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely going back again
Me and my boyfriend went for a two night stay this weekend and we couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay! Very clean and tidy, food was amazing and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back again.

Reviewed by
K Marsh

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Animal friendly retreat
The slightly eccentric proprietor makes you very welcome, the food is of excellent quality.
Our late autumn stay was great, punctuated by sight of a number of dogs that the hotel makes very welcome.
Excellent value for money, only downside (on the customer side) is that WiFi is only available in the bar, as the old thick walls make it impossible to get the signal around this wonderful hotel.

Reviewed by
Niall SANDERSON

From Le LANGON, France
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
Friendly staff but accommodation very tired and in need of a makeover - ensuite very disappointing. Unfortunately we have to say that we would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay at Merrymouth hotel
We only stayed one night but is in great location for walking/touring the Cotswolds. Very friendly and personal welcome from Bill. Room was fine. only grouch was that the bed was rather uncomfortable. Breakfast was very good and the dinner menu looked good but we were out for the evening. May well go again and stay in!

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next