No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Merrymouth Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Stow Road Fifield near Burford, Fifield, OX76HR
The Merrymouth is a 13th Century Stone Cotswold Inn, ideally situated close to numerous places of interest. The Guest Accommodation is situated in a converted stable block to the rear of the Inn. All rooms are en-suite and extremely comfortable. The Inn has built a fine reputation for its home-cooked food, real ale and extensive wine list. Breakfast is served until 12 noon and well behaved dogs are welcome. The perfect retreat for holidaymakers and business guests, alike.
Picture of The Merrymouth Inn, Fifield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome awaits
We stayed at the pub for 3 nights, the spacious and warm room was set in a courtyard away from the pub which was lovely. There was a very warm welcome on arrival, food was fantastic and a lovely open fire in the bar. Loved waking up to the sounds of birds singing and a horse in the field outside the rear window. Thanks Bill for a really nice stay.

Reviewed by
angela J

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly fine for the price.
Stayed one night as was going to a friend's party a few miles away. It's in a bit of a bleak spot, and right by the main road, so not a place to hang around for the weekend, but perfectly fine for an overnight stay.
The staff member who showed us to the room was friendly and polite. The room was upstairs, and looked out over the car park and beyond. The stairs were a bit creaky, but I guess that would only have bothered those downstairs. It was a freezing night but there was plenty of heating available (central heating plus an electric heater which we made full use of). The room was smallish but reasonably clean although I did notice a dead bumble bee behind the bin and since this was February so it must have been there for months!. Bedding was fine, and it the tea and coffee making equipment worked OK - although there was no decaf coffee. Breakfast was good - bacon, eggs, sausages and toast were all fine (sausages can be iffy in cheaper places but were perfectly good here), and they did have decaf coffee available. Didn't try the restaurant in the evening, so cannot comment on that.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay, will definitely come again
Great welcome, everyone really friendly. Room spacious, clean and very comfortable. First class

Reviewed by
D Reader

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
just like to say what nice and comfortable stay we had fantastic food and a what a fantastic host bill was.

Reviewed by
k rance

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, room a little "tired".

Reviewed by
Richard L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful break
We have just returned to Shropshire having enjoyed a three day break at the Merrymouth with
Bill,Mo and all their young and friendly staff. We had a great welcome to a very pleasant room
No 7 with open views to the fields to the rear and a comfortable seating area in the garden to the front where we enjoyed an afternoon drink.
All the food was superb and we would definitely recommend the hotel in general and the restaurant especially. We look forward to returning in the very near future.
All the best and see you soon Gill & Peter Grindley.

Reviewed by
Peter Grindley

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for a short break
A great welcome - remembered our names the next day which was nice.
A really comfy bed so got an excellent nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm friendly staff and amazing food!!
We wished we had more than 1 night here, great location and food was really good.

Reviewed by
A McLaughlin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly eccentric? Hah!
I hope the proprieter was aiming for 'Slightly eccentric' (see review November 2013), or his nose will have been put out of joint either way!
Seriously though, I can't recommend this inn highly enough. The welcome has always been warm, even at my unsociable hours of arrival, and the food excellent. Hoping to have a reason to stay there again soon.

Reviewed by
Julian Weaver

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Welcome
The owner and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - especially at the welcome when you immediately felt like a valued friend. The room wasn't enormous but was good value and cosy. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next