No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Served my purpose
Staff were friendly & helpful, food was very good, hotel was clean & served my purpose but looking very tired & needs a lot of money spent on it.

Reviewed by
R McCurdy

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I needed a place to stay last minute and the Regency always delivers!

Reviewed by
Fabina H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want somewhere to stay after a loud drinking session downstairs with friends....
Even at a knock down price, you should be able to sleep even if it is a small pokey room, late night noise outside my window from people drinking and smoking from the restaurant in the basement of the hotel that continued until about 3am prevented any sleep. There was a constant humming from the room next to me, no bath, TV not working, breakfast food terrible in restaurant. Extras in room were not provided even though it said it would, hotel parking and wifi added on bill and expensive

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute hotel find!
I was really struggling to find a decently priced hotel a week before my stay. The Clifton Hotel delivered on all accounts.

Reviewed by
F Hussain

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too hot
Room was fine for the money, £70 for twin room on a Wed's. Was relatively tidy but a bit shabby in places. Beds were comfortable & tea/coffee selection was ok. The only real issue we had was the temperature of the room. Despite being mid September with the window open, the room was too hot to sleep comfortably. We both struggled to get a decent kip and I was tired for the whole if Thursday. The was a small table fan, that in fairness we failed to notice 'til morning, but I would not stay here again in any of the warmer months (May-Oct) through fear of not sleeping. We were in room 24.

Reviewed by
g kavanagh

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Game of two halves!
Arriving at The Clifton, it had the feel of a young student run place. The reception is really part of the lounge area with the very friendly young staff and a laptop!
The room was ok at best, with the bathroom extremely small and a lifting lino floor.
The room itself had a wardrobe and a dressing table which held the tea/coffee stuff and 2 drawers and that was it for storage!
There was a small TV on the wall and a 3/4 bed.
'Rakes' Bar and Restaurant was part of the Hotel and excellent...food and atmosphere.
I would stay again even with the reservations mentioned.

Reviewed by
Terence D

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location.
The team on reception were very welcoming, the superior room boooked was adequate for me but I found as a woman of slight proportion the shower room was very cramped, but super clean. The restaurant Racks served excellent food and surperb gin and tonics

Reviewed by
J Anderson

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old, dated and dirty
Overall an uncomfortable experience. Friendly staff but very old and dated (last renovation must have been 20-30 years ago). The 'non-smoking' room stank of decades of stale cigarette smoke. They did provide tea and coffee making facilities, but the complimentary collection of dead flies could have been omitted. Otherwise a typical 1960s British hotel (window doesn't close properly, curtain covers 3/4 of the window only etc.). If you are looking for a Fawlty Towers experience then this is the place for you, but at £100 a night for a single room if looking for a 'hotel' then best avoided.

Reviewed by
Christopher N

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It Ain't Half Hot In This Room
I have good news for fellow travellers! To experience the tropics you don't need to jet off to the far distant climes of the Amazon Rainforest or the African Jungle! You can now just head off to Bristol and book a room on the top floor of the Clifton. And to get the full experience, Bristol Zoo with it's collection of exotic tropical wildlife is just a few minutes walk down the road !
Yes, I am being tongue in cheek, but the sauna temperatures in my room resulted in the worst night's sleep I have ever had to suffer in a hotel room. The room had a tiny window in which only half of it opened and a rattling noisy fan was the only thing that gave the remotest sign of ventilation in the room. Had the weather outside been warm, I might have let the hotel off, but during the 3 nights I was staying, it was typically unsettled British weather of sunshine and showers, with it being chilly enough outside in the evening for me to put a jumper on which made the sauna waiting for me in my room a bigger surprise. This problem may be unique to the top floor of the Clifton, as I have stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions last year, and on those visits, I was not allocated a room on the top floor, and had a more comfortable night's sleep.
The fact that I have previously stayed at the Clifton must imply that I was reasonably happy with the hotel. Well, that's true, but the Clifton is not my first choice for a stay in Bristol. That accolade goes to the Regency, across the road from the Clifton, but as that was booked up, I decided to give the Clifton another try.
The hotel is very dated, with blankets instead of duvets in the room (not that I needed them in the steamy sauna conditions). There was a sign of investment in my room, which was the smallest sink I have seen in a hotel bathroom. I could tell that this was recently fitted, as the bare floorboards around the base clearly showed where the bigger sink used to line up with the lino !
There are some good points to the hotel, it was convenient for the Balloon Fiesta which was a half hour walk from, via the Clifton Suspension Bridge, the city centre was only a 10 minutes walk away and buses no. 8 and 9 were handy to get to Temple Meads rail station. The hotel staff were also good and the two receptionists were apologetic to me about the sauna conditions in my room.
Were it not for the temperatures in my room, I might have given the Clifton a reasonable score, however that is the reason for giving the hotel a low score on this occasion and why I will consider alternative accommodation when I next visit Bristol.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Tiny but cosy room, nice staff, good location. Breakfast was very basic, but more (English or continental) could be ordered at the bar for 8 pounds.

Reviewed by
A van Dongen

From Amsterdam, Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next