No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely dog friendly hotel
A lovely hotel that welcomes dogs.
My partner and I have always struggled with having a dog sitter whilst visiting Bristol but we're very pleased to be recommended The Clifton Hotel.
Although not the most lavish of hotels, it met all basic requirements and we were overjoyed to have been able to take our dogs with us.
A hard trip to fault. If you want good quality basics and wish to bring your pets with you I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
My only critique...a dog poo bin would be welcomed as another resident of the hotel chose to leave their dog's mess on the lawn rather than clear it away.

Reviewed by
Christopher D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was old but that has charm and it was beautifully clean.
No hair dryer, just the remains of one. I waited 10 minutes for some hot water out of the shower - it's an old building I thought. Never got any hot water and I was getting very cold, so not to worry I wouldn't have been able to dry my hair anyway. The icing on the cake had to be the fire alarm going off at midnight + 30minutes and no -one official looking able to 1. complete the fire drill 2. guarentee it wasn't going to happen again. If this had been a proper check for a certificate the hotel would have failed.

Reviewed by
Mary W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An inviting and homely hotel with great character
The reception at The Clifton Hotel is fantastic and the welcoming staff were very willing to help with various arrangements for parking, directions, taxis etc. The single room was very adequate, the bathroom was small but considering the price, very acceptable. Although the walls were very thin, I may have been unlucky with an early rising fellow guest. The breakfast was delicious and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed, welcoming and funky. I felt very at ease and greatly enjoyed my stay. I would certainly return, the location is ideal!

Reviewed by
E H

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bristol hotel
expensive for what it was - staff very good, but no shampoo and plug didn't work in the sink

Reviewed by
mark c

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value - clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast and (paid for but v convenient) car parking
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room basic but had everything I wanted with clean en suite. Room had window to the front, and so a little noisy on a Saturday night from bar attached, but the noise wasn't too oppressive and stopped about midnight. Very good breakfast. Really helpful to have car parking close by and worth the extra small charge for the 24 hours. Good value for money

Reviewed by
M Powell Davies

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
I regularly stay in hotels during the week for work.
What I particularly liked about this hotel was it's little personal touches.
I had a little bowl of fruit with an Eat me tag attached, and a cafetiere with coffee, and tea leaves, with the word Drink me.
My towels were folded into a swan!
Very cute and made me feel valued as a customer.

Reviewed by
Claire G

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delusions of grandeur
Complimentary fruit and a cafetiere cannot compensate for the uncomfortable bed, single glazed windows and small, tired bathroom.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel - will definitely return

Reviewed by
Ian H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could do better
The room was basic ,ok for one or two nights there was a large damp patch on the wall which didn't bother me as I was only staying the one night .The bath room had a similar problem at the back of the toilet other than that it was ok wasn't impressed having to pay extra to park my van.

Reviewed by
N Lees

From Shepshed, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Served my purpose
Staff were friendly & helpful, food was very good, hotel was clean & served my purpose but looking very tired & needs a lot of money spent on it.

Reviewed by
R McCurdy

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next