No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delusions of grandeur
Complimentary fruit and a cafetiere cannot compensate for the uncomfortable bed, single glazed windows and small, tired bathroom.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel - will definitely return

Reviewed by
Ian H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could do better
The room was basic ,ok for one or two nights there was a large damp patch on the wall which didn't bother me as I was only staying the one night .The bath room had a similar problem at the back of the toilet other than that it was ok wasn't impressed having to pay extra to park my van.

Reviewed by
N Lees

From Shepshed, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Served my purpose
Staff were friendly & helpful, food was very good, hotel was clean & served my purpose but looking very tired & needs a lot of money spent on it.

Reviewed by
R McCurdy

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I needed a place to stay last minute and the Regency always delivers!

Reviewed by
Fabina H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want somewhere to stay after a loud drinking session downstairs with friends....
Even at a knock down price, you should be able to sleep even if it is a small pokey room, late night noise outside my window from people drinking and smoking from the restaurant in the basement of the hotel that continued until about 3am prevented any sleep. There was a constant humming from the room next to me, no bath, TV not working, breakfast food terrible in restaurant. Extras in room were not provided even though it said it would, hotel parking and wifi added on bill and expensive

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute hotel find!
I was really struggling to find a decently priced hotel a week before my stay. The Clifton Hotel delivered on all accounts.

Reviewed by
F Hussain

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too hot
Room was fine for the money, £70 for twin room on a Wed's. Was relatively tidy but a bit shabby in places. Beds were comfortable & tea/coffee selection was ok. The only real issue we had was the temperature of the room. Despite being mid September with the window open, the room was too hot to sleep comfortably. We both struggled to get a decent kip and I was tired for the whole if Thursday. The was a small table fan, that in fairness we failed to notice 'til morning, but I would not stay here again in any of the warmer months (May-Oct) through fear of not sleeping. We were in room 24.

Reviewed by
g kavanagh

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Game of two halves!
Arriving at The Clifton, it had the feel of a young student run place. The reception is really part of the lounge area with the very friendly young staff and a laptop!
The room was ok at best, with the bathroom extremely small and a lifting lino floor.
The room itself had a wardrobe and a dressing table which held the tea/coffee stuff and 2 drawers and that was it for storage!
There was a small TV on the wall and a 3/4 bed.
'Rakes' Bar and Restaurant was part of the Hotel and excellent...food and atmosphere.
I would stay again even with the reservations mentioned.

Reviewed by
Terence D

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location.
The team on reception were very welcoming, the superior room boooked was adequate for me but I found as a woman of slight proportion the shower room was very cramped, but super clean. The restaurant Racks served excellent food and surperb gin and tonics

Reviewed by
J Anderson

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next