The Clifton Hotel

2

St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (106)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • clive smith

  • October 2013

Advertisement

On line the hotel advertised breakfast and parking included in the price.

The breakfast was not included and on arrival enquired regarding parking the reply was parking is on the main road or a payment of £6.50 for a garage up the road. Very misleading.

  • K Alexander

  • October 2013

Don't go

  • janet a

  • October 2013

Very enjoyable stay, would recommend

Excellent reception, very warm and friendly welcome, really pleased with my room and facilities.

Would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

  • Keeley M

  • October 2013

Comfortable, friendly, cool and trendy

I stayed here for 3 nights with a colleague to attend nearby training.

It was a lovely surprise for the money we paid. Lovely breakfast in the morning included in the price of the room. Staff were friendly and helpful and the evening staff remembered us each evening, making us feel welcomed. It has free wi/fi in the cafe and bar allowing work to be accomplished. It has a cool, trendy feel about it, with young staff, however they couldn't of been more friendlier and helpful, although I'm 42 I didn't feel out of place. The hotel is situated in a nice area with plenty of attractions around. The rooms are more traditional, exceptionally clean and can't see any reason to complain. Cheap, cheerful and would definitely use again if I was in the area.

  • C Wood

  • September 2013

Average accomodation that needs updating

This was my second stay at the Clifton this year, and the room overall was a slight improvement on the one from a few weeks earlier.

The furniture was less tatty than before, but like the beds with blankets rather than duvets, were all still stuck in the 1970s. The bathroom seemed to be more modern, but the handles on one of the shower doors was loose with retaining nuts missing. One major minus point was the lack of a working TV (this was also a case with my previous stay at the Clifton). Despite trying to get it working by varying means (the closest being when I pulled the plug from the wall and reinsert it, when for a split second it came to life) it refused to work and I gave up. As I was staying for only one night, it was only an inconvenience, but had I been staying longer it would have been unacceptable. Food was pretty good with the arrangements for breakfast having been changed for the better since my previous stay, with a buffet for cereals and drinks etc. with only the hot food having to be ordered. As I have said, I was reasonably happy with my previous stay as I had booked this stay. However in the meantime, I have had a third stay in Bristol in between these two stays at the Clifton, and as the Clifton was booked up on that occasion, I had stayed at the Regency hotel across the road which was a lot more modern and up to date and which would be my first choice for any future trips to Bristol.

  • Elizabeth H

  • September 2013

It's OK

A great team of staff.

Friendly and helpful. The building itself is a bit run down but clean and pretty well maintained. Corridors are not very wide. Room was large enough and fantastic tea tray.

  • Garry H

  • September 2013

Didn't get a chance to review!

Unfortunately despite booking rooms for 2 nights for myself and 2 colleagues, I never got the opportunity to review the hotel.

Despite receiving confirmation of my booking and travelling 200 miles to Bristol, our stay was cancelled on the morning of our stay because 'a system problem' had caused a double booking. Not my fault or my colleagues and yet we were told we had to find somewhere else. Not happy!!

  • Clive G

  • September 2013

Keep coming back...

Despite the mediocre reviews this hotel gets, I have stayed here three times now as it consistently offers the best value for a budget stay, well located between Clifton and the city centre.

Rooms are not big and fittings are not that new, but if you would rather spend your money going out in Bristol, you could do much worse.

  • Mark Bond

  • September 2013

In short in need of total renovation NOT Value For Money

On arrival we where greeted by helpful plesent staff with no reception area to work in strange as there was no decorating going on.

Access to rooms was along dull corridors line with aging carpet some room numbers require renewing. Both of the room shown to us were dull and in need of decoration first room shown to us was cramped not what you would call a double room,

Second room was larger with a balcony requiring attention and a carpet in need of cleaning. This Hotel requires total renovation a shame as it is a listed building

  • linda w

  • August 2013

Great value in this centrally situated hotel.

Small room with lot of noise from bar out the back but this never went on late. Great location and delicious breakfast. Reception staff not the friendliest but breakfast staff excellent. Really enjoyed the stay.