No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation Stay
I booked two rooms in April, for my son's graduation ceremony in July. We have stayed here before and were pleased with the hotel. Both rooms were small, but good enough for us. The bathroom in my room had peeling paint, but it was clean and tidy, with fluffy towels. The staff were lovely. They were very friendly and helpful. Checkout was not difficult, but the bill was wrong, and needed adjustment. It was done with a smile! ( I recall that this happened last time, too, so the management may need to review their processes.) We were happy with the stay and will return when we are next in Bristol.

Reviewed by
Denise K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, great staff
We really enjoyed our stay at the Clifton Hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was lovely.
Worth noting that some of the rooms are directly above the restaurant, which can get busy (ie. noisy) at night. Because of this, and the fact that we have a 1 year old son, we asked to be moved to another room and the staff really went out of their way to help us.
On arrival we were provided with a very handy map of Bristol. In the immediate vicinity there are plenty of pubs restaurants (including a CAMRA 2013 award winning pub for real ale fans). There is also a lido just round the corner which looked nice, although we didn't get the opportunity to try it.
For a small additional charge there is car parking. The breakfast provided was excellent quality, I had a full English breakfast, while my wife had something a bit more healthy (muesli, yogurt etc.)

Reviewed by
John B

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, very clean accommodation and lovely food - good place to stay in Bristol at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
F Cave

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly hotel

Reviewed by
G H

From Hull, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location, friendly staff & excellent food
Our room was quite noisy as the people in the next room were talking very loud late at night and early in the morning. I asked for a room change and the staff were happy to move us to a quieter room. Food in restaurant excellent.

Reviewed by
Edward K

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Day Stay
Stayed for 1 night, but it was a pleasant stay. The staff was very helpful with the several heavy suitcases that I had. Rooms were nice, and while in the center of town, quiet.

Reviewed by
W Hlaing

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
I came to the clifton hotel, mainly because of the location. I was expecting a basic hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was much better than i had thought, the rooms were old fashioned, but very clean, and extremely cosy. It had a beautiful large window, with lovely big curtains, a spacious room, with fresh fruit and tea and coffee. The bathroom was also very clean and nice. It was definitely large enough for two, and the staff were very welcoming. The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk to park street. I was extremely happy with my stay, and would definitely visit again, and would reccommend to all looking for a stress free, relaxing and warming stay.

Reviewed by
Alex D

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot spot - not stop!!!
I think in view of the room i was in being on the first floor immediately over late night bar a fan should have been in the room as it was very hot but with the window open too noisy.
apparently a popular meeting place early on a sunday morning too with folk sitting outside at one of the tables chatting away.

Reviewed by
MARY B

From PLYMOUTH, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Executive single room was more like a coffin
Absolutely appalled at the size of the single rooms! My tiny cloakroom was bigger than this room. I had room 65 on the 3rd floor which was so small I had to climb into bed and out of it! The bed was tucked away in a crevice of this already tiny room. I swapped with my colleague and we both voiced our concern to staff who made little attempt to rectify the disappointment. Floors in corridors v creaked, could hear everybody who walked up and down corridor! Quite expensive for the price, would not recommend stayin there again. The only plus was th food served by Racks restaurant!

Reviewed by
mymoona a

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel in good location
This was my second stay at the Clifton and this time had a smaller single for an overnight stay. Furniture could do with updating, but as a budget hotel in a very good location between the city centre and Clifton village, it was good value for money. Staff friendly and helpful too.

Reviewed by
Clive G

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next