No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were exceptionaly helpful as were three folk who assisted me in finding the Hotel. I was well impressd.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Glaister

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but fun
Small room that was very clean. Not enough hot water. Amazing food at a great price in racks. Would stay again

Reviewed by
Belinda H

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value in this centrally situated hotel. Small room with lot of noise from bar out the back but this never went on late. Great location and delicious breakfast. Reception staff not the friendliest but breakfast staff excellent. Really enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
linda w

From brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Clifton Hotel, Bristol
We had a twin room on the third floor (and there is a lift). It was clean and the housekeeping service was efficient. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent - a wide choice and freshly cooked. The only criticism would be the bathroom - an over the bath shower head which didn't spray evenly and a shower curtain which seemed to allow more water on the floor than it kept in the bath. The hotel could do with refurbishing the bathrooms as shower rooms - not many people require a bath these days. Overall though we enjoyed our stay - it was value for money and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, friendly, cool and trendy
I stayed here for 3 nights with a colleague to attend nearby training. It was a lovely surprise for the money we paid. Lovely breakfast in the morning included in the price of the room. Staff were friendly and helpful and the evening staff remembered us each evening, making us feel welcomed. It has free wi/fi in the cafe and bar allowing work to be accomplished. It has a cool, trendy feel about it, with young staff, however they couldn't of been more friendlier and helpful, although I'm 42 I didn't feel out of place. The hotel is situated in a nice area with plenty of attractions around. The rooms are more traditional, exceptionally clean and can't see any reason to complain. Cheap, cheerful and would definitely use again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
Keeley M

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay in Clifton Hotel, Bristol
Beds were clean, bathroom was clean, furniture was a little shabby and carpets but didn't spoil our stay. Restaurant was really nice, staff very pleasant and friendly. Car parking described as secure but in fact wasn't because the locking posts were broken, therefore begrudged paying £6 .50 per night and parked on street.

Reviewed by
L Evans

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to hang out
Great place to be if you are meeting a group of friends. Racks bar in the basement was fantastic for evening and breakfast. Only downside was that there was no fan in room and it was very very hot weather

Reviewed by
R Haddad

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
Tired, unkempt, noisy, rip off! We left without paying it was so awful.

Reviewed by
Kathryn T

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So this is what the hotel world would be like if the youths were in charge
I suppose the signs weren't good when I discovered the hotel parking was actually a space behind their sister hotel about 50 metres down the road rather than anything that could be classed as adjacent to the premises but I had paid my money so had to see it through. I had let them know in advance that I would be needing a room for both me and my two young children and was directed to a room with two single beds in which was on the ground floor and on the side of their outside seated bar area. Obviously with the recent spate of good weather this area was full until late at night so my trying to get a 6 and 3 year old to sleep proved a thankless task! I ordered room service and three times asked for nothing more than two orders of plain burgers with chips. No sauce. No cheese just plain. The waitress turned up with no chips and two cheeseburgers! I returned them immediately as my children wouldn't entertain the food and at the price I had to pay I felt they could have at least given me what I actually ordered. Soon enough the plain burgers and chips...sorry. ..fries turned up and both children said the burgers tasted weird. I've never drank urine or eaten anything marinated in the stuff but that is the only thing I could mentally associate the taste too such was the acidity on the tongue! Out of the 4 or 5 staff that I came into contact with there was just one I would say had ever attended anything like a customer service course and he stuck out like a fish in a bowler hat.

Reviewed by
simon b

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Bit Old Fashioned
I visited Bristol for the Balloon Fiesta and found this hotel extremely convenient as the fiesta was less than 40 minutes walk via the suspension bridge. Clifton and it's shops were less than 5 minutes walk away and the city of Bristol itself was easily in walking range, although alternately there is the frequent bus service 8/9 that's takes you to the city centre and was also handy as it went directly to Temple Meads station.
On first sight, the exterior of the hotel did look tatty, and the room was really dated with blankets still being used and the furniture was rather worn. However the room was clean and the shower was powerful, if a little bit of a squeeze in the cubicle. Breakfast service was usually fast, apart from one morning when it was rather slow. I had dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant 'Rack's' and while the food was good, the staff wanted to take my debit card off me for the duration of my meal, a practice that I felt uncomfortable about.
Still, I would say I was happy with my stay, and probably the greatest compliment I could give to the hotel is the fact that I've already booked to come back for my next stay in Bristol.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next