No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Visit
It was a very good base for my holiday. The staff were always helpful. The room clean and stocks replenished. The ensuite was modern and functional. Despite the Summer heat, I had four uninterrupted nights of sleep.
It was good value for the money.

Reviewed by
Robert E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go

Reviewed by
K Alexander

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what I asked for a perfect place I stay for me and my girlfriend
Was staying in Bristol for 1 night and managed to get a room for 2 at last minute. It was fantastic! In a great location and easily accessible with lovely staff and a complimentary breakfast in the morning!

Reviewed by
E Cooper

From godalming, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
Due to the weather being hot I did find the room stuffy. Even though the bed was next to the window there was just no air. But overall the room was ok. We were able to park outside so did not have to pay for the parking our car in the carpark.The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very nice. The down side was I felt it was felt it was too expensive for the price. A bigger room with some cooling facility ie air con would have been worth the price.

Reviewed by
S Khan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but reasonably priced for the size. Relatively clean but a little noisy because of the restaurants opposite. Had to pay for the WiFi, which was inconvenient but not too expensive.

Reviewed by
Sandra B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation Stay
I booked two rooms in April, for my son's graduation ceremony in July. We have stayed here before and were pleased with the hotel. Both rooms were small, but good enough for us. The bathroom in my room had peeling paint, but it was clean and tidy, with fluffy towels. The staff were lovely. They were very friendly and helpful. Checkout was not difficult, but the bill was wrong, and needed adjustment. It was done with a smile! ( I recall that this happened last time, too, so the management may need to review their processes.) We were happy with the stay and will return when we are next in Bristol.

Reviewed by
Denise K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, great staff
We really enjoyed our stay at the Clifton Hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was lovely.
Worth noting that some of the rooms are directly above the restaurant, which can get busy (ie. noisy) at night. Because of this, and the fact that we have a 1 year old son, we asked to be moved to another room and the staff really went out of their way to help us.
On arrival we were provided with a very handy map of Bristol. In the immediate vicinity there are plenty of pubs restaurants (including a CAMRA 2013 award winning pub for real ale fans). There is also a lido just round the corner which looked nice, although we didn't get the opportunity to try it.
For a small additional charge there is car parking. The breakfast provided was excellent quality, I had a full English breakfast, while my wife had something a bit more healthy (muesli, yogurt etc.)

Reviewed by
John B

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, very clean accommodation and lovely food - good place to stay in Bristol at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
F Cave

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly hotel

Reviewed by
G H

From Hull, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location, friendly staff & excellent food
Our room was quite noisy as the people in the next room were talking very loud late at night and early in the morning. I asked for a room change and the staff were happy to move us to a quieter room. Food in restaurant excellent.

Reviewed by
Edward K

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next