No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found this hotel to be in a really good area to be able to access the City Centre. Aall the staff that we met were very polite and helpful. The bar downstairs was reasonably priced as was the drinks we had in the Hotel once the bar has been closed. The rooms were so spacious that there was more than enough room to move without falling over or in to something. Would stay again if we ever go back to Bristol

Reviewed by
Sally W

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Advertisement
On line the hotel advertised breakfast and parking included in the price. The breakfast was not included and on arrival enquired regarding parking the reply was parking is on the main road or a payment of £6.50 for a garage up the road. Very misleading.

Reviewed by
clive smith

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel!!
Nice quiet hotel, Very friendly professional staff. Didn't try the onsite restaurant but the menu in the room looked very good. Will use again.

Reviewed by
r sloman

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay, would recommend
Excellent reception, very warm and friendly welcome, really pleased with my room and facilities. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

Reviewed by
janet a

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average accomodation that needs updating
This was my second stay at the Clifton this year, and the room overall was a slight improvement on the one from a few weeks earlier. The furniture was less tatty than before, but like the beds with blankets rather than duvets, were all still stuck in the 1970s. The bathroom seemed to be more modern, but the handles on one of the shower doors was loose with retaining nuts missing. One major minus point was the lack of a working TV (this was also a case with my previous stay at the Clifton). Despite trying to get it working by varying means (the closest being when I pulled the plug from the wall and reinsert it, when for a split second it came to life) it refused to work and I gave up. As I was staying for only one night, it was only an inconvenience, but had I been staying longer it would have been unacceptable.
Food was pretty good with the arrangements for breakfast having been changed for the better since my previous stay, with a buffet for cereals and drinks etc. with only the hot food having to be ordered.
As I have said, I was reasonably happy with my previous stay as I had booked this stay. However in the meantime, I have had a third stay in Bristol in between these two stays at the Clifton, and as the Clifton was booked up on that occasion, I had stayed at the Regency hotel across the road which was a lot more modern and up to date and which would be my first choice for any future trips to Bristol.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's OK
A great team of staff. Friendly and helpful. The building itself is a bit run down but clean and pretty well maintained. Corridors are not very wide. Room was large enough and fantastic tea tray.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't get a chance to review!
Unfortunately despite booking rooms for 2 nights for myself and 2 colleagues, I never got the opportunity to review the hotel! Despite receiving confirmation of my booking and travelling 200 miles to Bristol, our stay was cancelled on the morning of our stay because 'a system problem' had caused a double booking! Not my fault or my colleagues and yet we were told we had to find somewhere else.
Not happy!!

Reviewed by
Garry H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location half way between Bristol/Clifton Village
Parking could be a problem depending on arrival time and time of year. No spaces available for street parking early afternoon on Monday 9 Sept. Apparently students park around hotel as an easy walk into Bristol. We got last non-reserved space in limited parking area belong to hotel. Otherwise excellent.

Reviewed by
MARGARET HOWARD

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keep coming back...
Despite the mediocre reviews this hotel gets, I have stayed here three times now as it consistently offers the best value for a budget stay, well located between Clifton and the city centre. Rooms are not big and fittings are not that new, but if you would rather spend your money going out in Bristol, you could do much worse.

Reviewed by
Clive G

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need of refurbishment
Overall it was great value for money, however the decor was dated and the quality of the furnishings was not great.

Reviewed by
F Hussain

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next