No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location half way between Bristol/Clifton Village
Parking could be a problem depending on arrival time and time of year. No spaces available for street parking early afternoon on Monday 9 Sept. Apparently students park around hotel as an easy walk into Bristol. We got last non-reserved space in limited parking area belong to hotel. Otherwise excellent.

Reviewed by
MARGARET HOWARD

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keep coming back...
Despite the mediocre reviews this hotel gets, I have stayed here three times now as it consistently offers the best value for a budget stay, well located between Clifton and the city centre. Rooms are not big and fittings are not that new, but if you would rather spend your money going out in Bristol, you could do much worse.

Reviewed by
Clive G

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need of refurbishment
Overall it was great value for money, however the decor was dated and the quality of the furnishings was not great.

Reviewed by
F Hussain

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In short in need of total renovation NOT Value For Money
On arrival we where greeted by helpful plesent staff with no reception area to work in strange as there was no decorating going on.
Access to rooms was along dull corridors line with aging carpet some room numbers require renewing.
Both of the room shown to us were dull and in need of decoration first room shown to us was cramped not what you would call a double room,
Second room was larger with a balcony requiring attention and a carpet in need of cleaning.
This Hotel requires total renovation a shame as it is a listed building

Reviewed by
Mark Bond

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, but not so good
I went to Bristol for August bank holiday weekend and I've managed to book this place through Laterooms.com.
First impression wasn't good at all. We had a trouble to find the place, because outside there was no sign of the hotel, only Clifton Café. Even tenants and landlords on the street couldn't help us locate the hotel.
Another thing is lack of parking spaces. There is a tiny parking lot for 8 cars max and if you are not one of them lucky drivers to park inside it, you have to find the place outside on the street. As the street is fully packed with hotels it's almost impossible to find a space.
Rooms are ok, bed, tv, nice shower, nothing to be worry about it. The only bottom thing is breakfast.
First time we haven't been informed by the staff or receptionist that we have to place an order to get it, so we end up without a breakfast after first night in the hotel. Second morning, we end up without a breakfast again, as to lack of communication and misunderstanding. But the thing is, if I am going down in the morning, it is easy to understand that I came to have breakfast, not the brunch or lunch, so I should get it without any problems. Menu card should be handed out to me only if I would like to order anything on top of it (i.e. breakfast).
Location is nice, about 7 minutes from Clifton Suspension Bridge, and about 10 minutes away walking from city centre.

Reviewed by
P Dziurda

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but fun
Small room that was very clean. Not enough hot water. Amazing food at a great price in racks. Would stay again

Reviewed by
Belinda H

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were exceptionaly helpful as were three folk who assisted me in finding the Hotel. I was well impressd.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Glaister

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value in this centrally situated hotel. Small room with lot of noise from bar out the back but this never went on late. Great location and delicious breakfast. Reception staff not the friendliest but breakfast staff excellent. Really enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
linda w

From brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Clifton Hotel, Bristol
We had a twin room on the third floor (and there is a lift). It was clean and the housekeeping service was efficient. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent - a wide choice and freshly cooked. The only criticism would be the bathroom - an over the bath shower head which didn't spray evenly and a shower curtain which seemed to allow more water on the floor than it kept in the bath. The hotel could do with refurbishing the bathrooms as shower rooms - not many people require a bath these days. Overall though we enjoyed our stay - it was value for money and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, friendly, cool and trendy
I stayed here for 3 nights with a colleague to attend nearby training. It was a lovely surprise for the money we paid. Lovely breakfast in the morning included in the price of the room. Staff were friendly and helpful and the evening staff remembered us each evening, making us feel welcomed. It has free wi/fi in the cafe and bar allowing work to be accomplished. It has a cool, trendy feel about it, with young staff, however they couldn't of been more friendlier and helpful, although I'm 42 I didn't feel out of place. The hotel is situated in a nice area with plenty of attractions around. The rooms are more traditional, exceptionally clean and can't see any reason to complain. Cheap, cheerful and would definitely use again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
Keeley M

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next