The Clifton Hotel

2

St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (109)

66% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Daniels

  • May 2014

Plesant hotel

I stayed for one night at the Clifton hotel in April 2014.

The hotel was clean and tidy, if a little dated at times. The room was clean and furnished ok, the bed was really comfortable and I slept really well. I loved the touch of the drinks tray in the room, as well as the usual instant tea and coffee, there was a mini coffee pot and ground tea or coffee to use, as well as fresh fruit, with eat and drink me signs, I thought this was a lovely touch. The pub outside seemed well used as had people sat outside in the sun but I did not use it, the same with the café inside the building. Overall it was a nice stay for a night.

  • Zuzana H

  • April 2014

just what we needed

clean, cosy, shiny room, quit area in walking distance from city centre and harbour, pleasant stay

  • Lee M

  • April 2014

Excellent budget hotel

I stayed in a twin room with a friend.

The room and bathroom were clean and pretty spacious considering the price we paid. The bar is very nice, and the food looked good although we didn't eat there. If you're looking for a cheap hotel that's close to the centre you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Annie S

  • April 2014

adequate and clean

  • David C

  • March 2014

OK But expensive for what you get

The hotel is basically fine, but at the prices they are charging I wouldn't expect black mould in the en-suite or the cover of the chair in the room to be quite so tatty and showing the foam filling.

That said I probably will go back but they should consider pricing the rooms according to state of repair!

  • Clive G

  • March 2014

Well located cheap stay

I have stayed at The Clifton several times as I am happy to have an outdated - but clean - room in exchange for a very handy location and inexpensive rates.

Single rooms are usually tiny, so spent the extra for a twin and had more breathing space. Staff always helpful but everything apart from the room...including wi-fi...is usually extra.

  • Douglas S

  • March 2014

Hotel very convenient for Bristol University.

Fairly good value. The room was small, though, and smelled quite musty when I arrived. Quality food in the restaurant on the basement level was a bonus.

  • M Shaw

  • February 2014

A very friendly and comfortable hotel

Stayed one night as we were going to a gig at the Anson Rooms (Student Union) and wanted sonmewere nearby.

It's an old building and our (upgraded) room was small but very comfortable (and would possibly benefit from a lick of paint). Didn't have any problems with noise. There was a caffetiere and ground coffee and a bowl of fruit in our room - nice touches. The best thing about this hotel (apart from its location, which is why we chose it) was the staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out every member of staff we encountered was charming and friendly, this makes all the difference.

Won't hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in Clifton.

  • Neil Duffy

  • February 2014

Overpriced , dirty and very disapointing

The Hotel rates are equivalent to 4* Bristol hotels such as the Bristol, Radisson Blue, etc the standard is anything but 4 * The hotel has a hostel type feel and smell .

  • Peter W

  • February 2014

the website looks good but I will never stay at this hotel again. Very poor value for money

Very disappointed.

For the price expected something more clean and spacious. Dingy room, unclean won't mention swing the proverbial cat. The only good point was that the receptionist was very helpful - and a bit apologetic. For the price you could stay in one of the big hotel chains a short distance away. Ooops sorry . Breakfast was good but I wil forget the confusion as to whether I had paid for breakfast, or the argument about wifi (had to buy a coffee to get an hours worth).