No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and full of character
Friendly staff, very helpful waitress, and simply the best fresh coffee/tea and fruit in the room. The building is full of character, but it only adds charm to the place rather than detracting from the stay. I would happily recommend to friends and family as well as work mates. I would also actively choose to return to any of these hotels again in the future when in the area for work.

Reviewed by
Kate F

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located cheap stay
I have stayed at The Clifton several times as I am happy to have an outdated - but clean - room in exchange for a very handy location and inexpensive rates. Single rooms are usually tiny, so spent the extra for a twin and had more breathing space. Staff always helpful but everything apart from the room...including wi-fi...is usually extra.

Reviewed by
Clive G

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine
everything was fine.

Reviewed by
Rod H

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve Place to sleep!
The hotel was very reasonably priced and conveniently located for the party which we were attending. The room was adequate for a place to sleep, however, there was a band playing in the hotel, which was very loud and if we had intended to be in for the evening or have a early night this would have been difficult. The room was basic with some 'tired' looking décor and minimal tea and coffee facilities. We were also told that we weren't entitled to free wifi as we were Late Rooms customers. Perhaps it's just a case of getting what you pay for as we couldn't argue with the price. We would stay again. but only in a similar situation where we wouldn't be in the room much!

Reviewed by
C Carroll

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, would stay again
Room was great, however I did find the shower to small as I could not adjust the shower head height.

Reviewed by
A Bennett

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Budget Hotel
Nice bar, great breakfast, excellent bar food/snacks. Staff helpful and friendly. Stayed in a single en-suite room for one night, no problems. Short walk to Clifton Village

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Big room, nice bed. Single glazed windows let in sounds, but had charm.
Didn't try the food.
Clifton is a nice place to be.
Park on a residential street, no need to pay for the car park.

Reviewed by
Nick R

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location, excellent value
Just a one-night stay, but we were impressed by the spacious en-suite room (ground floor), with tea, coffee (instant and ground, plus cafetiere), biscuits and fruit provided, all at a bargain price. A bit of noise from a fan outside (probably from the kitchens) but this stopped at around 11 pm. Handy location for buses to the railway or bus station and thence to the airport, and also for various eateries close by.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin room with blankets on the comfy beds, shower room clean. Nice coffee and bar area, didn't try the food but it looked and smelt very good.

Reviewed by
M Bone

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room. noisy
The room was lovely, clean, nicely furnished, and reasonable size. It was however very noisy. I could hear all the partiers coming home through the night and the gentleman (i assume gender) snoring next door.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Josie G

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next