Reviews - The Clifton Hotel


St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX

Price From 181.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (72)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Lee H

  • November 2014

Delusions of grandeur

Complimentary fruit and a cafetiere cannot compensate for the uncomfortable bed, single glazed windows and small, tired bathroom.

  • Ian H

  • November 2014

Excellent Hotel - will definitely return

  • R McCurdy

  • October 2014

Served my purpose

Staff were friendly & helpful, food was very good, hotel was clean & served my purpose but looking very tired & needs a lot of money spent on it.

  • Fabina H

  • October 2014

Great stay

I needed a place to stay last minute and the Regency always delivers!

  • Sarah W

  • September 2014

If you want somewhere to stay after a loud drinking session downstairs with friends....

Even at a knock down price, you should be able to sleep even if it is a small pokey room, late night noise outside my window from people drinking and smoking from the restaurant in the basement of the hotel that continued until about 3am prevented any sleep.

There was a constant humming from the room next to me, no bath, TV not working, breakfast food terrible in restaurant. Extras in room were not provided even though it said it would, hotel parking and wifi added on bill and expensive

  • F Hussain

  • September 2014

Great affordable stay

  • F Hussain

  • September 2014

Last minute hotel find!

I was really struggling to find a decently priced hotel a week before my stay.

The Clifton Hotel delivered on all accounts.

  • Terence D

  • September 2014

Game of two halves!

Arriving at The Clifton, it had the feel of a young student run place.

The reception is really part of the lounge area with the very friendly young staff and a laptop. The room was ok at best, with the bathroom extremely small and a lifting lino floor. The room itself had a wardrobe and a dressing table which held the tea/coffee stuff and 2 drawers and that was it for storage. There was a small TV on the wall and a 3/4 bed. 'Rakes' Bar and Restaurant was part of the Hotel and and atmosphere. I would stay again even with the reservations mentioned.

  • g kavanagh

  • September 2014

Too hot

Room was fine for the money, £70 for twin room on a Wed's.

Was relatively tidy but a bit shabby in places. Beds were comfortable & tea/coffee selection was ok. The only real issue we had was the temperature of the room. Despite being mid September with the window open, the room was too hot to sleep comfortably. We both struggled to get a decent kip and I was tired for the whole if Thursday. The was a small table fan, that in fairness we failed to notice 'til morning, but I would not stay here again in any of the warmer months (May-Oct) through fear of not sleeping. We were in room 24.

  • J Anderson

  • August 2014

Excellent Location.

The team on reception were very welcoming, the superior room boooked was adequate for me but I found as a woman of slight proportion the shower room was very cramped, but super clean.

The restaurant Racks served excellent food and surperb gin and tonics