No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced , dirty and very disapointing
The Hotel rates are equivalent to 4* Bristol hotels such as the Bristol, Radisson Blue, etc
the standard is anything but 4 *
The hotel has a hostel type feel and smell .

Reviewed by
Neil Duffy

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the website looks good but I will never stay at this hotel again. Very poor value for money
Very disappointed. For the price expected something more clean and spacious. Dingy room, unclean won't mention swing the proverbial cat. The only good point was that the receptionist was very helpful - and a bit apologetic. For the price you could stay in one of the big hotel chains a short distance away. Ooops sorry . Breakfast was good but I wil forget the confusion as to whether I had paid for breakfast, or the argument about wifi (had to buy a coffee to get an hours worth).

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of attention!
The whole hotel is in need of a major make over. I don't think the stairwell paint work had been cleaned for a long time. Our first room was very small, and my pillow was soaking wet! The hotel staff were helpful in the fact that they sorted out another room. Slightly bigger than the previous one, but in need of revamping. The carpet was frayed and the shower cubicle had mould in it. At least the beds seemed newish with comfortable mattresses. We also found a mouldy apple behind the television!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced accomodation.
The hotel provided value for money. Restaurant excellent choice, good wines. Excellent staff.

Reviewed by
r sayers

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money.
The price quoted did not include wifi or parking as I did not book direct.
I though the interior and exterior were shabby.
The photographs on the web site were not a true reflection of the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Howe

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and full of character
Friendly staff, very helpful waitress, and simply the best fresh coffee/tea and fruit in the room. The building is full of character, but it only adds charm to the place rather than detracting from the stay. I would happily recommend to friends and family as well as work mates. I would also actively choose to return to any of these hotels again in the future when in the area for work.

Reviewed by
Kate F

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located cheap stay
I have stayed at The Clifton several times as I am happy to have an outdated - but clean - room in exchange for a very handy location and inexpensive rates. Single rooms are usually tiny, so spent the extra for a twin and had more breathing space. Staff always helpful but everything apart from the room...including wi-fi...is usually extra.

Reviewed by
Clive G

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine
everything was fine.

Reviewed by
Rod H

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve Place to sleep!
The hotel was very reasonably priced and conveniently located for the party which we were attending. The room was adequate for a place to sleep, however, there was a band playing in the hotel, which was very loud and if we had intended to be in for the evening or have a early night this would have been difficult. The room was basic with some 'tired' looking décor and minimal tea and coffee facilities. We were also told that we weren't entitled to free wifi as we were Late Rooms customers. Perhaps it's just a case of getting what you pay for as we couldn't argue with the price. We would stay again. but only in a similar situation where we wouldn't be in the room much!

Reviewed by
C Carroll

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, would stay again
Room was great, however I did find the shower to small as I could not adjust the shower head height.

Reviewed by
A Bennett

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next