Reviews - The Clifton Hotel


St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (62)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Claire G

  • December 2014


I regularly stay in hotels during the week for work.

What I particularly liked about this hotel was it's little personal touches. I had a little bowl of fruit with an Eat me tag attached, and a cafetiere with coffee, and tea leaves, with the word Drink me. My towels were folded into a swan. Very cute and made me feel valued as a customer.

  • M Powell Davies

  • December 2014

Good value - clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast and (paid for but v convenient) car parking

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room basic but had everything I wanted with clean en suite. Room had window to the front, and so a little noisy on a Saturday night from bar attached, but the noise wasn't too oppressive and stopped about midnight. Very good breakfast. Really helpful to have car parking close by and worth the extra small charge for the 24 hours. Good value for money

  • N Lees

  • November 2014

could do better

The room was basic ,ok for one or two nights there was a large damp patch on the wall which didn't bother me as I was only staying the one night .The bath room had a similar problem at the back of the toilet other than that it was ok wasn't impressed having to pay extra to park my van.

  • Lee H

  • November 2014

Delusions of grandeur

Complimentary fruit and a cafetiere cannot compensate for the uncomfortable bed, single glazed windows and small, tired bathroom.

  • Ian H

  • November 2014

Excellent Hotel - will definitely return

  • R McCurdy

  • October 2014

Served my purpose

Staff were friendly & helpful, food was very good, hotel was clean & served my purpose but looking very tired & needs a lot of money spent on it.

  • Fabina H

  • October 2014

Great stay

I needed a place to stay last minute and the Regency always delivers!

  • Sarah W

  • September 2014

If you want somewhere to stay after a loud drinking session downstairs with friends....

Even at a knock down price, you should be able to sleep even if it is a small pokey room, late night noise outside my window from people drinking and smoking from the restaurant in the basement of the hotel that continued until about 3am prevented any sleep.

There was a constant humming from the room next to me, no bath, TV not working, breakfast food terrible in restaurant. Extras in room were not provided even though it said it would, hotel parking and wifi added on bill and expensive

  • F Hussain

  • September 2014

Great affordable stay

  • F Hussain

  • September 2014

Last minute hotel find!

I was really struggling to find a decently priced hotel a week before my stay.

The Clifton Hotel delivered on all accounts.