No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old, dated and dirty
Overall an uncomfortable experience. Friendly staff but very old and dated (last renovation must have been 20-30 years ago). The 'non-smoking' room stank of decades of stale cigarette smoke. They did provide tea and coffee making facilities, but the complimentary collection of dead flies could have been omitted. Otherwise a typical 1960s British hotel (window doesn't close properly, curtain covers 3/4 of the window only etc.). If you are looking for a Fawlty Towers experience then this is the place for you, but at £100 a night for a single room if looking for a 'hotel' then best avoided.

Reviewed by
Christopher N

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It Ain't Half Hot In This Room
I have good news for fellow travellers! To experience the tropics you don't need to jet off to the far distant climes of the Amazon Rainforest or the African Jungle! You can now just head off to Bristol and book a room on the top floor of the Clifton. And to get the full experience, Bristol Zoo with it's collection of exotic tropical wildlife is just a few minutes walk down the road !
Yes, I am being tongue in cheek, but the sauna temperatures in my room resulted in the worst night's sleep I have ever had to suffer in a hotel room. The room had a tiny window in which only half of it opened and a rattling noisy fan was the only thing that gave the remotest sign of ventilation in the room. Had the weather outside been warm, I might have let the hotel off, but during the 3 nights I was staying, it was typically unsettled British weather of sunshine and showers, with it being chilly enough outside in the evening for me to put a jumper on which made the sauna waiting for me in my room a bigger surprise. This problem may be unique to the top floor of the Clifton, as I have stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions last year, and on those visits, I was not allocated a room on the top floor, and had a more comfortable night's sleep.
The fact that I have previously stayed at the Clifton must imply that I was reasonably happy with the hotel. Well, that's true, but the Clifton is not my first choice for a stay in Bristol. That accolade goes to the Regency, across the road from the Clifton, but as that was booked up, I decided to give the Clifton another try.
The hotel is very dated, with blankets instead of duvets in the room (not that I needed them in the steamy sauna conditions). There was a sign of investment in my room, which was the smallest sink I have seen in a hotel bathroom. I could tell that this was recently fitted, as the bare floorboards around the base clearly showed where the bigger sink used to line up with the lino !
There are some good points to the hotel, it was convenient for the Balloon Fiesta which was a half hour walk from, via the Clifton Suspension Bridge, the city centre was only a 10 minutes walk away and buses no. 8 and 9 were handy to get to Temple Meads rail station. The hotel staff were also good and the two receptionists were apologetic to me about the sauna conditions in my room.
Were it not for the temperatures in my room, I might have given the Clifton a reasonable score, however that is the reason for giving the hotel a low score on this occasion and why I will consider alternative accommodation when I next visit Bristol.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Tiny but cosy room, nice staff, good location. Breakfast was very basic, but more (English or continental) could be ordered at the bar for 8 pounds.

Reviewed by
A van Dongen

From Amsterdam, Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed depending on your circumstances
Lovely ambient sports bar at Racks- great manager- very good food and service- hotel fine for basic 2/3 star needs at the right price.

Reviewed by
Giles B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem in the city
What a great place - so central but such great value. Customer service couldn't be better - staff were so friendly and helpful. Room was perfect - roomy, clean and had really great fresh coffee for you to make in your room. Would definitely recommend and use again.

Reviewed by
T P

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Very enjoyable stay, friendly staff, good room and excellrnt bar and food in Racks.

Reviewed by
Allan Greenwood

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
all staff were friendly and helpful,.food and bar area was very much to our liking

Reviewed by
robert h

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Clifton Hotel
We had a lovely stay for the night, the room was spot on, very friendly staff.
We did not eat as I had a table booked els where.
We did go to the pub attached Racks in the afternoon for a few pre drinks.
Awesome pub loved the vibe.was like being in a bar in
Ibiza will be back for sure.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Yate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush food

Reviewed by
Dave Andrews

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
For £54, twin room, I have no complaints. The hotel is close to the museum, gallery, university and loads of restaurants and shops. It was clean and the coffee was good.

Reviewed by
A Parmar

From Bolton, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next