No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Clifton Hotel
We had a lovely stay for the night, the room was spot on, very friendly staff.
We did not eat as I had a table booked els where.
We did go to the pub attached Racks in the afternoon for a few pre drinks.
Awesome pub loved the vibe.was like being in a bar in
Ibiza will be back for sure.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Yate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush food

Reviewed by
Dave Andrews

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
For £54, twin room, I have no complaints. The hotel is close to the museum, gallery, university and loads of restaurants and shops. It was clean and the coffee was good.

Reviewed by
A Parmar

From Bolton, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, good value hotel with character
Loved the fact that I got 3 pieces of (nice) fruit in the room, and loose-leaf tea, and real coffee. Great breakfast, and friendly helpful staff. Shame wifi not free, but 3G coverage very good here anyway so not a problem.

Reviewed by
stephen t

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plesant hotel
I stayed for one night at the Clifton hotel in April 2014. The hotel was clean and tidy, if a little dated at times. The room was clean and furnished ok, the bed was really comfortable and I slept really well. I loved the touch of the drinks tray in the room, as well as the usual instant tea and coffee, there was a mini coffee pot and ground tea or coffee to use, as well as fresh fruit, with eat and drink me signs, I thought this was a lovely touch.
The pub outside seemed well used as had people sat outside in the sun but I did not use it, the same with the café inside the building.
Overall it was a nice stay for a night.

Reviewed by
M Daniels

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed
clean, cosy, shiny room, quit area in walking distance from city centre and harbour, pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Zuzana H

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent budget hotel
I stayed in a twin room with a friend. The room and bathroom were clean and pretty spacious considering the price we paid. The bar is very nice, and the food looked good although we didn't eat there. If you're looking for a cheap hotel that's close to the centre you can't go wrong staying here.

Reviewed by
Lee M

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate and clean

Reviewed by
Annie S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK But expensive for what you get
The hotel is basically fine, but at the prices they are charging I wouldn't expect black mould in the en-suite or the cover of the chair in the room to be quite so tatty and showing the foam filling. That said I probably will go back but they should consider pricing the rooms according to state of repair!

Reviewed by
David C

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly and comfortable hotel
Stayed one night as we were going to a gig at the Anson Rooms (Student Union) and wanted sonmewere nearby.
It's an old building and our (upgraded) room was small but very comfortable (and would possibly benefit from a lick of paint). Didn't have any problems with noise.
There was a caffetiere and ground coffee and a bowl of fruit in our room - nice touches.
The best thing about this hotel (apart from its location, which is why we chose it) was the staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out every member of staff we encountered was charming and friendly, this makes all the difference.
Won't hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in Clifton.

Reviewed by
M Shaw

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next