Reviews - The Clifton Hotel


St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX

Price From 185.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (72)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • M Frost

  • January 2015

Nice and handy

Easy to find and great location near the City Centre.

Handy car park... but wasn't sure how you go about securing your space there, but the area of Bristol it is does have street parking around. Simple check in. Small but perfectly sized room for 1 traveller. They oversell the fruit bowl in reviews but it is a nice touch. Comfy bed, good shower. Attached resturant... but I didnt try it. Room was a the end of the corridor by the door, so a bit noisy, but not bad for a last minute deal. Would definitely stay here again in a similar visit as it is a reasonable price.

  • L Watts

  • January 2015

Ok, if ya like mould and paint falling of the walls

  • Martin B

  • December 2014

good value for money

Clean, comfortable and very welcoming.

Bowl of fruit and fresh ground coffee left in the room. I would use the Clifton again.

  • Christopher D

  • December 2014

Lovely dog friendly hotel

A lovely hotel that welcomes dogs.

My partner and I have always struggled with having a dog sitter whilst visiting Bristol but we're very pleased to be recommended The Clifton Hotel.

Although not the most lavish of hotels, it met all basic requirements and we were overjoyed to have been able to take our dogs with us.

A hard trip to fault. If you want good quality basics and wish to bring your pets with you I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

My only critique...a dog poo bin would be welcomed as another resident of the hotel chose to leave their dog's mess on the lawn rather than clear it away.

  • Mary W

  • December 2014

This hotel was old but that has charm and it was beautifully clean.

No hair dryer, just the remains of one.

I waited 10 minutes for some hot water out of the shower - it's an old building I thought. Never got any hot water and I was getting very cold, so not to worry I wouldn't have been able to dry my hair anyway. The icing on the cake had to be the fire alarm going off at midnight + 30minutes and no -one official looking able to 1. complete the fire drill 2. guarentee it wasn't going to happen again. If this had been a proper check for a certificate the hotel would have failed.

  • E H

  • December 2014

An inviting and homely hotel with great character

The reception at The Clifton Hotel is fantastic and the welcoming staff were very willing to help with various arrangements for parking, directions, taxis etc.

The single room was very adequate, the bathroom was small but considering the price, very acceptable. Although the walls were very thin, I may have been unlucky with an early rising fellow guest. The breakfast was delicious and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed, welcoming and funky. I felt very at ease and greatly enjoyed my stay. I would certainly return, the location is ideal!

  • mark c

  • December 2014

bristol hotel

expensive for what it was - staff very good, but no shampoo and plug didn't work in the sink

  • Claire G

  • December 2014


I regularly stay in hotels during the week for work.

What I particularly liked about this hotel was it's little personal touches. I had a little bowl of fruit with an Eat me tag attached, and a cafetiere with coffee, and tea leaves, with the word Drink me. My towels were folded into a swan. Very cute and made me feel valued as a customer.

  • M Powell Davies

  • December 2014

Good value - clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast and (paid for but v convenient) car parking

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room basic but had everything I wanted with clean en suite. Room had window to the front, and so a little noisy on a Saturday night from bar attached, but the noise wasn't too oppressive and stopped about midnight. Very good breakfast. Really helpful to have car parking close by and worth the extra small charge for the 24 hours. Good value for money

  • N Lees

  • November 2014

could do better

The room was basic ,ok for one or two nights there was a large damp patch on the wall which didn't bother me as I was only staying the one night .The bath room had a similar problem at the back of the toilet other than that it was ok wasn't impressed having to pay extra to park my van.