No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stop-over
Very helpful staff, hotel located slightly out of city centre at Clifton - a pleasant and interesting district.

Reviewed by
W Sheaff

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and helpful receptionists
Our room was smallish for a twin, but adequate. Clean and comfortable. It was handy to have the garage,we left the car, went away to transact our business then come back for it later on. Saved finding a parking spot.

Reviewed by
G Strawbridge

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean hotel bad for parking
Had a single room found single bed base broken,they accomadated me with another room, bad for parking in the whole area unless you can get in small hotel car park with a daily charge

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor, fittings & furniture were to be fair a little tired & it was obvious that people had smoked through the window. Reception were polite but & the cleaners also. I didn't eat so can't comment. On the whole, ok but I was out all night - I don't know that I wouldn't have felt a little let down if I faced a whole night in my room.

Reviewed by
Adam B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff willing to help and good value for money.

Reviewed by
R A G

From , England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Experience
The hotel was pretty basic, had very small rooms, but if you only need somewhere to wash and sleep it is adequate. The bathroom was tiny as was the bed. Linen clean and had tea and coffee in the room. Downside for us was that there was a lot of noise during the night, sounded like a washing machine on a spin cycle, which went on and off all night. Therefore we didn't get very much sleep, which was a shame. My husband was cold as his side of the bed was beside a window and you could feel cold air blowing through. We were able to take our dogs along and that was a bonus for us and for one night only we coped....

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair Value
We were satisfied. The staff were most obliging particularly the girls who were on duty at breakfast time who were delightful. The room was clean and tidy and the hotel location is excellent being only a 20 minute walk into central Bristol and Clifton is even nearer just up St Pauls Road. There were two minor drawbacks; firstly, car parking outside the hotel is exceptionally difficult and parked cars seem to be there all day and, secondly, the decor is somewhat tired with scuffs and chips on walls and skirtings. However, on the whole, our two day stay was a good experience.

Reviewed by
Simon Reed

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
Jill H

From Ottery St Mary, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good accommodation, plain and simple stay, long review below...
I had planned to visit Bristol by myself for an extended weekend that coincided with a music/arts festival, so was originally looking for a simple no-frills deal for a few nights comfy sleep. With less than a month to go before the event and the cheapest hostels all fully booked for those nights, I opted for the Clifton Hotel who were offering an en-suite single room with a 15% discount for 4 nights stay - overall it came to a little over £150, the cheapest deal available for a hotel based in the city centre. I thought that given the circumstances this was a very reasonable price so booked it right away, but always had the option to cancel two days before free of charge. Initially I was slightly suspicious of such a low price (and also some of the negative reviews gave me doubts), but once arriving here I needn't have worried - for what I paid, it was a more than satisfactory hotel and I had an excellent stay.
After the long walk from Temple Meads trekking up Bristol's steep Park Street and Queen's Road (be sure to have on good footwear!), and after some initial confusion (the Caffe Clifton is advertised more prominently than the hotel itself) I entered the hotel and was greeted by a very friendly staff member on reception who checked me in. A key was issued for my room (situated on the top floor - the 3rd floor), I took the lift up, turned left and found my door on the end of a corridor.
Entering my room, a small bathroom with shower, sink and toilet was on my immediate left and straight ahead was the hotel room that fitted around the bathroom in an upside down L shape. A single bed with wooden side table was tucked in the top left corner parallel to the windowed back wall, whilst a wooded drawer desk with seat and a small wardrobe space was opposite it to the side of the bathroom. On the main wall that separated me from the guest next door was a small wall-mounted flat screen TV and a radiator. The decor was plain white walls and the small window gave a half decent view of the northern part of Bristol. Overall compact but functional and nothing too fancy (minus the flat-screen TV).
Fruit, biscuits, coffee, teas and milk greeted me on the desk along with a welcome from the Hotel and a questionnaire with a complimentary drink voucher (redeemable once the form was completed). The bed was fully made up - two pillows, a duvet, bedding etc - light yet comfy. The wardrobe had ample space with a bunch of hangers inside and the three drawers were fine - I traveled lightly so rarely used either, but the option was always there.
Once checked in I left shortly after and gave my key in - I didn't return until much later that evening to sleep. By this stage the Caffe and bar downstairs was loud and active. Being at the very top during my stay, the sound could barely be heard, although occasionally I could hear nearby guests through the thin wall separating us. Nothing to lose sleep over though. The bed itself was comfortable although a little lacking heat-wise for this time of season - a blanket could be found in the wardrobe though for particularly cold nights but I never needed it. Most nights were spent watching the TV opposite for a hour or so before catching some zzz's - I hope I didn't keep anyone awake with my late night viewing!
The bathroom was okay and used mostly in the mornings. The shower took a while to warm up and I found it had to be put on full heat initially to become enjoyable - after 5 to 10 minutes it would suddenly become scalding and would need turning down again. The shower head, although adjustable, lacked the pressure I'm used to and always let out a thin drizzle of water - I had to have the shower head lowered down or held as close to my head as possible to do a good job so showering took a bit longer than I normally would. Towels provided did the job and the sink and toilet worked fine - toilet paper always on hand too.
I left most days during the stay in the morning around 11 - around the same time the cleaners would come or the hotel maids would change everyone's bed sheets. Whenever I returned in the evenings my bed would be neatly tucked in again, sometimes even my possessions put into a corner. Those who don't feel the repeated attention is necessary or want some privacy can simply put a provided "Do Not Disturb" hanger outside your door which works.
Checking in and out with keys on all days - including the day I left - was always quick and pleasant. I hardly used any of the hotel's extra services as I didn't order food or have breakfasts at the hotel. I did ask them one day about their wi-fi service (£4 a day initially I think, but there were discounts for extra days or total stays) and if they had a public computer I could use to check emails and internet - sadly all they had were the ones they used themselves. Perhaps this is something they could consider for the future. Apart from that, a very satisfactory stay was had for a very reasonable cost! And whilst initially I expected the worst of the hotel, I ended up leaving expecting better from some other more expensive hotels I've stayed at in the past!
If I ever visit Bristol again in the near future (and I really hope I do, it's a wonderful city), then I will definitely stay at the Clifton again - regardless of my budget. Thanks!

Reviewed by
John M

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good not bad
the hotel is not good not bad. no special points. but its price is OK. breakfast is better than lunch~~

Reviewed by
X Jiang

From Japan
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next