No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
The relaxed café atmosphere creates a warm welcome to The Clifton Hotel, and that, along with the location makes it an ideal base for exploring Bristol. The grade II listed building is situated in Clifton within walking distance of boutique shopping in Clifton Village, bars and restaurants on Park street and tourist attractions such as the zoo and suspension bridge. Traditionally decorated en-suite rooms retain many original features such as floor to ceiling windows and are finished with a complimentary hospitality tray including fresh tea and coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits. With a 24 hour reception and links with local companies offering spa packages and days out you can be sure your needs are catered for at any time. In terms of dining the hotel is home to Caffe Clifton serving a range of teas and coffees, cakes, snacks and lunches and is the perfect place to sit and relax with the morning paper. Racks our bar and restaurant is a popular venue serving seasonally inspired home made meals and a range of drinks as well as our morning breakfast with the option of dining inside by the fire or out in the sunshine!
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although our stay was very brief, we were very impressed by the attention to detail - from the fruit bowl in the room to the twin swans on the bed (they were the bath towels!)
The cooked breakfast was one of the best I have had.
Staff were very friendly - I wish we coudl have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
D Castle

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience of overnight in an executive room at the Clifton Hotel
Draughty Georgian window (no double-glazing of any kind) with wall radiator on opposite side of room ensured room remained cold despite radiator being turned to Maximum. Made a filter coffee only to discover there was no milk in the fridge. Unable to make a drink using loose leaf tea as a teapot was not provided.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Evening out in Bristol. Stay at the Clifton Hotel.
Clean, warm and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Ideal place to stay for a couple of nights while exploring Brustol

Reviewed by
M Hancock

From Pembroke Dock, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all quite good, but...
I think that the inter-room sound proofing could be improved, as on one of the nights that I was staying the snoring in the next room kept me awake until 2am. However I have to say that this was the first time that it happened in approximately four months of staying there four a week.

Reviewed by
Nicholas M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Budget Hotel
We always stay at the Clifton or one of her sister hotels when visiting Bristol and for value for money, location and friendly staff you can't beat them. Yes some of the paintwork, etc can be a little shabby but the rooms are clean with all modern amenities. We've just stayed there and we'll be booking again soon plus all the hotels are very dog friendly so we can stay on a whim without worrying about a doggy sitter.

Reviewed by
s davies

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay- convenient location- better than our last stay!
We stayed over night as we were at a party at the hotel that evening. The music was not too loud and we could talk to each other, and hear each other, which was good :)
The hotel room was brighter, lighter and fresher than when we last stayed and nice and warm on our arrival.
There was a small hole in one of the sheets and the shower was more of a drizzle than a shower! We did, however have a good night's sleep, despite being next to the road. The towels folded into swans were a bit of a novelty! I appreciated the fruit in the room as the buffet provided for supper was highly glutinous and I am avoiding gluten, at the moment.
The garage was not locked overnight but there was no harm done to our car so it was not a problem, as such.
It was nice to be offered to give feedback the next day by email and I received a £5 off our next stay voucher for giving feedback.

Reviewed by
Nicola E

From Wells, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stop-over
Very helpful staff, hotel located slightly out of city centre at Clifton - a pleasant and interesting district.

Reviewed by
W Sheaff

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and helpful receptionists
Our room was smallish for a twin, but adequate. Clean and comfortable. It was handy to have the garage,we left the car, went away to transact our business then come back for it later on. Saved finding a parking spot.

Reviewed by
G Strawbridge

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean hotel bad for parking
Had a single room found single bed base broken,they accomadated me with another room, bad for parking in the whole area unless you can get in small hotel car park with a daily charge

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor, fittings & furniture were to be fair a little tired & it was obvious that people had smoked through the window. Reception were polite but & the cleaners also. I didn't eat so can't comment. On the whole, ok but I was out all night - I don't know that I wouldn't have felt a little let down if I faced a whole night in my room.

Reviewed by
Adam B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next