No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black Swan

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Fearby, Masham, Ripon, HG4 4NF

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "Choosing from the sumptuous menus, which use the finest and freshest locally sourced produce."

Welcome to the Black Swan Public House comfortably nestled in the Yorkshire Dales at Fearby Nr Masham. Our 17 century Public House offers a warm traditional welcome as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales. Enjoying three continuous generations of the McCourt family our pub now provides guest accommodation accompanying our Ales and food, “An ideal base to explore the Yorkshire dales and beyond” The public bar and majority of rooms overlook the Burn valley with 40 mile views of the Vale of York and local moors. The Bar is well stocked with Black Sheep and guest ales with a host of supporting lagers, bottle beers and soft drinks. Home-cooked bar meals are served during lunchtime and our bistro is open every evening.
Picture of The Black Swan , Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet location
Set in a quiet location the Black Swan accommodation is in a separate building. Room was very large which didn't give it a welcoming feel. The hotel boasted a king size bed but was actually 2 singles bolted together which made it uncomfortable.
Great shower and clean. Not worth the price.

Reviewed by
Joanne F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh Dear....
The service was less than desireable and one of the staff was just rude. The pub/resteraunt could do with a good overhall. The rooms in a sepearte block were verey nice.

Reviewed by
A Rose

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£8.95 for a slice of toast and a black coffee!!!!!!!!!
Whilst we had a warm welcome and the staff were friendly, I cant get past the fact I was charged the full £8.95 cost of a breakfast despite stating I only wanted one slice of toast and a black coffee. I paid the same as my partner who had the full english plus 2x slices of toast and coffee.
The room was very spacious, very clean and in a lovely setting.
We had an evening meal there, and my partner stated the steak he had was done to perfection and one of the best he had ever had. I had the vegetarian curry, which was ok.

Reviewed by
Val H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice views and food
Stayed in Room 9
Room was clean but many would be out off due to 'open plan' bedroom and toilet...bath was nice though, Evening meal was very nice, and the friendliness of the waitress was a pleasant abnormality in comparison with the other staff/owners, fire alarm was activated early in the morning and received no explanation or apology.
When checking out was never asked if we had actually enjoyed the stay, was only asked if we had paid up!!
The area is beautiful and 2 years before stayed at the George at Wath, a shame they were booked up this time, would I recommend the Black Swan? If you don't mind a bathroom without a door, staff who seemingly don't care if you enjoyed your stay or not, and on top of paying £99 for a night, want to charge £8.99 for breakfast, then this is the place for you.
If you'd like to feel welcomed, then I recommend the George at Wath

Reviewed by
j simpson

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent rooms,very modern with big TV.Finished to a high standard .Beds good also. we really enjoyed our night here as the dinner was good too. Excellent bar with locals in for a good atmosphere.

Reviewed by
s hardy

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Enjoyed this stay immensely. Friendly staff (who also helped to arrange for wine and a lovely cake in the room as a surprise for my partner) great food, lovely views, and loved the under-floor heating. Breakfast was especially nice. Would have no hesitation in going back.

Reviewed by
Pam T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay at The Black Swan Fearby nr Ripon
We definitely would not stay again, mainly due to the owners being very unfriendly. The deluxe double room was OK but the bedding was so uncomfortable i.e. there was a duvet cover with a very poor quality duvet inside. It was tangled up inside the cover and was so heavy we couldn't sleep and we had to take it out of the cover. We slept a little better with just the duvet sheet on, but not much. Also the Black Swan pub itself looked like it could do with a good clean. The room cost £90 and the breakfast price was on top. We did not like the breakfast as it was not presented very well and was cold on arrival, we left most of it. When we were checking out the owners didn't ask us if everything had been OK and had we enjoyed our stay. Very very poor place to stay.

Reviewed by
james r

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room, well-stocked bar and great locally-sourced fresh food.
The room was exceptionally clean, large and had excellent views over the valley. The food was excellent with a good choice of meat and non-meat dishes and a wide choice of wines to complement the cuisine. We'll be back.

Reviewed by
R Brown

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms with a stunning surrounding view. A perfect place for a relaxing country get away.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
P Barker

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Pub
The room was very nice and spacious. The view outside was magnificent. The food was excellent. I had a half whale, a full whale would have needed a separate table. Staff were nice and friendly. Would go there again if in the area

Reviewed by
Jeff Taylor

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next