No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lane Head Farm Country Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Lane Head Farm Troutbeck, Nr. Keswick, CA11 0SY
Josette and Mark Bayley welcome you to their home, Lane Head Farm Country Guest House near Keswick. This 1750s farmhouse is a marvellous place to relax, explore and enjoy the beauty of the Lake District National Park. Located in the spectacular northern Lake District in the shadow of Blencathra; situated just 10 minutes drive from Keswick and Ullswater, it is a great base to explore from. The Lake District National Park is only 40 miles long and 33 miles wide so no where is far from our front door.

Rated 4 Star with Silver Award Guest Accommodation with Visit Britain and awarded their Breakfast Award. All rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen digital TV, radio alarm clock with Ipod Docking station and a hairdryer. Additionally, the four poster double rooms are larger in size, have cafetiere coffee(with fresh milk provided in a mini fridge) and complimentary mineral water daily.

The guest lounge is well stocked with a selection of board games, books and magazines. WiFi is provided free of charge. If you’re lucky you may even glimpse a red squirrel on one of the feeders or playing on the lawn. There are a number of different bird feeders as well which attract Greater Spotted Woodpeckers, Siskins and Goldfinches to name a few.

Lane Head Farm guests always look forward to their breakfast and special dietary requirements can be catered for with prior notification. There are a number of pubs in the local area with one an easy mile walk away.

There is ample private parking for up to nine cars. Check in is from 3pm; please note that arrivals are not accepted after 9pm. Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8am and 9am. Check out is by 10.30am.
Picture of Lane Head Farm Country Guest House, Nr. Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and felt at home
Very clean and welcoming guest house. Very rustic in decor. Very good stay, and great breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Grant

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant couple with a cute little boy called William who was very helpful, nice four poster room and good breakfasts, in a nice setting easy to get to from the motorway.

Reviewed by
paul smith

From Greenhithe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to Detail
We had an excellent stay due to the attention to detail from our hosts Mark and Jo.
The tone of our stay was set from the welcoming pot of tea on our arrival;nothing was too much trouble.
The quality of food supplied was very impressive.
We look forward to returning soon.

Reviewed by
S Ottewell

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect!
the couple who run the place are friendly , welcoming and helpful. We were brought coffee in the garden where we sat in the sunshine and watched the birds on the feeding station. Premises is truly dog friendly too.
The room was clean and comfortable.The breakfast menu was varied and freshly and expertly cooked. The service was excellent. We wished we were staying longer

Reviewed by
shirley s

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful country B&B
A very warm and friendly family run guest house. The house itself is in a great location and despite it's close proximity to the A66 is extremely quiet. The rooms were clean and of a good size. Breakfast was excellent, very fresh and well cooked. This hotel would work for business travelers or families on vacation. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Lilian S

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcomeing friendly family very helpful and informative, excellent breakfast disappointed we couldn't stay longer.

Reviewed by
jennifer barnes

From thorpe hesley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent lakeland retreat
We stayed for a weekend in early spring and found it really friendly and comfortable, with great breakfasts and excellent access to the northern and central fells - Blencathra is just across the main road and Skiddaw and Helvellyn both a short drive away. The young couple who run it are very welcoming and knowledgeable about fell walks and local attractions. Though we'd never been before it was like staying with friends, or being part of the family. A warm and cosy place to return after a wet and windy day on the tops. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night away in the Lakes
We had a fab time at the Guest house. Was met by Mark and Jo as we arrived and they were extremely friendly. We would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a night or two away in a beautiful area.

Reviewed by
K Simister

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent, friendly atmosphere.
Most enjoyable stay with very high standard of service. Excellent food served in a friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
g eddyshaw

From Ripley, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keswick holiday 2013
friendly welcome as we pulled up on the drive, Jo and Mark were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble, and helpful advise on local beauty spots.

Reviewed by
C Webb

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.