No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE CARPENTERS ARMS

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
THREE ELM LANE , TONBRIDGE, TN11 0AD
The Carpenters Arms is a brand new hotel. We have built a reputation as a high standard gastro-pub, producing great food and serving customers in a warm friendly manner. The rooms are all new and done to appeal to the professional traveller. They all have LCD screens and Aqualisa Quartz power showers and are furnished to a high standard. Our aim is to make you enjoy your stay and want to come back. Our team of chefs will prepare your breakfast giving you a choice of full English, smoked salmon, poached haddock, pastries. Our reputation for food has always been good and we pride ourselves on making your stay a happy one. Once you have checked in you can relax by one of our log fires enjoying a pint or glass of wine then when ready, you can go through for dinner. The Carpenters is privately owned and we take a lot of pride in the appearance of the pub and atmosphere of our bar and restaurant. We are 35 mins from Gatwick airport so staying for the weekend and enjoying all the history of Kent which is on our doorstep is a great idea, we are surrounded by lovely walks down to the medway so why not take a stroll to walk off your breakfast or just chill by the fire, choice is yours.
Picture of THE CARPENTERS ARMS , TONBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice overnight stay with pleasant staff and great service
We used this pub as an overnight stay prior to a wedding. We were very pleased with the quality of the room, large, newly-decorated, big bathroom, big fluffy towels (a big plus in my book). Food was very good. Staff very friendly and professional. The owner James was very pleasant and chatty. Note breakfast not included in the room price.

Reviewed by
William S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay in Tonbridge
A clean modern pub with friendly efficient staff and excellent food

Reviewed by
Monica C

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay and would recommend to anyone
We had a brilliant mini-break and enjoyed an amazing evening at the Carpenters Arms. The food was delicious and served hot, even though the restaurant was very busy. The service was friendly and very efficient without being intrusive. The only reason the room didn't get top marks is that there was no fan and it was incredibly hot in the room. The room itself is beautiful though and very clean.

Reviewed by
Stuart F

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Rays at Ccarpenters
excellent place to stay and will definitely stay again.Very good food but might consider stocking a wider range of draught lagers.Staff particularly friendlyand attentive without being intrusive.Enjoyed stay very much.

Reviewed by
L Ray

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub accommodation with delicious food
The Carpenter's Arms ticks all the boxes. It's got a great pub atmosphere with delicious food and huge portions. And the rooms are really nice, a good size and spotless. This is the third time we have stayed here and it won't be the last.

Reviewed by
Bev Thomas

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant Stay
Stayed at the Carpenters Arms for one night in June. The pub was very busy when I arrived at 7pm, but the staff were very helpful and I was quickly booked in. Booked a table for dinner that evening without any problems but I would comment that the restaurant was very busy. Room was very comfortable with a good quality ensuite. Food at the restaurant was very good. Good menu with plenty of choice and reasonably priced. Portions were quite large, which was good in my opinion. Great service from the restaurant staff.
We booked room only and expected to pay for breakfast the following morning. Enjoyed a good quality full english, which was very reasonably priced.
We are in the process of moving to the area and will defiantly revisit the Carpenters Arms.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heart of Kent gem
A well run friendly, clean and modern Public House come B&B. Plenty of off road parking. It's family friendly, with lots of umbrellas for shade on those hot summer days and nights, for enjoying your food and drink in pleasant surroundings. The food is very good and lots to choose from.
The rooms are clean and well equipped and come with coffee and tea making in the room,always a must after a long journey. The Breakfast is extra ,but well worth the money, as you get a plateful

Reviewed by
R Prescott

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay!!

Reviewed by
Jamie M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice
I could have stayed longer . Nice atmosphere,Room lovely .

Reviewed by
lorraine s

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing room and fantastic friendly staff

Reviewed by
R Lethbridge

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next