No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE CARPENTERS ARMS

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
THREE ELM LANE , TONBRIDGE, TN11 0AD
The Carpenters Arms is a brand new hotel. We have built a reputation as a high standard gastro-pub, producing great food and serving customers in a warm friendly manner. The rooms are all new and done to appeal to the professional traveller. They all have LCD screens and Aqualisa Quartz power showers and are furnished to a high standard. Our aim is to make you enjoy your stay and want to come back. Our team of chefs will prepare your breakfast giving you a choice of full English, smoked salmon, poached haddock, pastries. Our reputation for food has always been good and we pride ourselves on making your stay a happy one. Once you have checked in you can relax by one of our log fires enjoying a pint or glass of wine then when ready, you can go through for dinner. The Carpenters is privately owned and we take a lot of pride in the appearance of the pub and atmosphere of our bar and restaurant. We are 35 mins from Gatwick airport so staying for the weekend and enjoying all the history of Kent which is on our doorstep is a great idea, we are surrounded by lovely walks down to the medway so why not take a stroll to walk off your breakfast or just chill by the fire, choice is yours.
Picture of THE CARPENTERS ARMS , TONBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub accommodation with delicious food
The Carpenter's Arms ticks all the boxes. It's got a great pub atmosphere with delicious food and huge portions. And the rooms are really nice, a good size and spotless. This is the third time we have stayed here and it won't be the last.

Reviewed by
Bev Thomas

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant Stay
Stayed at the Carpenters Arms for one night in June. The pub was very busy when I arrived at 7pm, but the staff were very helpful and I was quickly booked in. Booked a table for dinner that evening without any problems but I would comment that the restaurant was very busy. Room was very comfortable with a good quality ensuite. Food at the restaurant was very good. Good menu with plenty of choice and reasonably priced. Portions were quite large, which was good in my opinion. Great service from the restaurant staff.
We booked room only and expected to pay for breakfast the following morning. Enjoyed a good quality full english, which was very reasonably priced.
We are in the process of moving to the area and will defiantly revisit the Carpenters Arms.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heart of Kent gem
A well run friendly, clean and modern Public House come B&B. Plenty of off road parking. It's family friendly, with lots of umbrellas for shade on those hot summer days and nights, for enjoying your food and drink in pleasant surroundings. The food is very good and lots to choose from.
The rooms are clean and well equipped and come with coffee and tea making in the room,always a must after a long journey. The Breakfast is extra ,but well worth the money, as you get a plateful

Reviewed by
R Prescott

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay!!

Reviewed by
Jamie M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing room and fantastic friendly staff

Reviewed by
R Lethbridge

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Although the room was clean and new, it was noisy and the kingbed were two twin beds put together, Not very convinient if you don't travel alone or need a bit more space to sleep and end up in "the middle".

Reviewed by
S Rivas

From Madrid, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation near Hadlow
We stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding and found the staff and the accommodation to be fantastic - great value, stylish accommodation and the breakfast was delicious. Only downside was that we were in a room near the fire exit / back stairs where people tended to slam the door as they were leaving but that is not the fault of the hotel. The room could also do with a clock but again that is a personal preference. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Carpenters Arms if you are visiting the area!

Reviewed by
Marianne R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff and accommodation.
Rooms well appointed and food very good.
Cannot fault at all.
Stayed several times over two year period and would recommend anytime.

Reviewed by
Jonathan F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel-Pub
This is a quality hotel come pub. The rooms are well appointed, there is a good selection of beers and locally brewed cider on offer in the bar, and you can eat in the bar if you want. Food is excellent, and breakfast menu very comprehensive. I love the place, but the downside is, I have to book well in advance as it's nearly always fully booked.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from home. very comfortable. staff very friendly and extremely helpful.
particularly liked breakfast being available until 11am.

Reviewed by
j francis

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next