Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > Republic of Ireland > South West Ireland > Cork Hotels > Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cork City
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cork City

John Redmond Street Shandon, Cork, Cork City
One of the best located hotels in Cork City, the Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cork City is found in the heart of Corks historic cultural quarter, nestled by the famous Shandon Bells and on the doorstep of Cork newest premier shopping district, Opera Lane and Corks main thoroughfare St Patrick's Street. One of the leading Cork hotels, the Maldron brings you that little bit closer to the delights the city has to offer. The warm, renowned welcome of the Maldron Hotel Cork City staff will make your experience unforgettable. With superb accommodation in Cork City, excellent food in Stir Restaurant and full leisure facilities including a 20m pool, in Club Vitae Leisure Club, this Cork City hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors.

"Free Wifi available throughout the Hotel"

Picture of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cork City, Cork at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but could do with updating
Staff very welcoming and cheery.
Hotel decor is fine but a bit run down in parts and so could do with re-decoration
Room was fine but again could do with refurbishment as window in bathroom was broken, shower rail was very old and the shower took about 5 minutes to heat up to a luke warm temperature.
Duvet did not have a cover and so was just a plain white inner duvet. Don't know if this is normal but haven't seen this type of duvet before. Bed a bit lumpy and could do with a new mattress.
All in all it was an okay room but way too expensive for what was provided. I paid c. GBP125/night (including breakfast)
Breakfast was good value at Euro9

Reviewed by
s desai

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this hotel is very tired and room was old and dirty and in a bad way. I was very upset with the bathroom would not use bath and floor was badly damaged

Reviewed by
mary b

From CASTLEBAR, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

more attention to inside
No shower Curtain, no face cloth, no stopper for sink, shower head held together with tissue,shower stall needs a bleach cleaning. Attention to outside deceiving, looks like 5 star, but only 2 star rating, would not recommended to homeless person.

Reviewed by
patricia D

From Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not be going back
Customer service at this hotel is poor. The 'lady' at reception was quite unhelpful, and did not even ask the next morning how our stay was - simply took our swipe cards and asked if we needed a reciept. After a 1-night stay, we were awoken by building works in an adjacent room (drills, saws, etc) before 10am (had a late night the previous night and needed a sleep-in) and, the receptionist simply shrugged her shoulders when informed of this (at least offer complementary coffee or breakfast, for example). I should say that the lady serving drinks at the hotel bar the previous evening was very friendly. The hotel is very dated, and could do with some modernising. Cleanliness of rooms was mediocre. Do not use cutlery or glasses in the rooms - filthy. We were staying here after a sold-out concert and price was reasonable, so I guess you get what you pay for, but will not be back.

Reviewed by
Tom F

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Great staff. Great location.

Reviewed by
Brian H

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Club vitae, joke!
The leisure club was absolutely disgusting!
Room was not worth the money.
Huge disappointment over all...

Reviewed by
Josefine A

From Dublin 1, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is old and needs a total refurb-parking is poor almost impossible-swimming pool very good
This hotel is in the middle of Cork so parking will be difficult-the hotel is a old Hospital and I don't think much has been done to to since it was converted. the hotel is clean and the food was ok and the staff were helpful - my room had a iron burn on the floor. swimming pool was good.

Reviewed by
M Hope

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

maldron hotel

Reviewed by
Irene W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was OK. nothing special, but nothing out of place. I wouldn't have liked to have paid the full price for the stay - grateful for 'laterooms'. Hotel pictures on website were slightly misleadling, town not quite so close - especially if you have an elderly mother to walk up and down the steep hill.
Enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Meinir McLellan

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location if you need to be central
Staff were nice and friendly. I initially got a wheelchair accessible room which meant no bath for my daughter but they changed this for the second night of my stay. The rate was room only (I didnt notice this when booking as I assumed €180 for 2 nights would have got me breakfast!!). Parking at the hotel is minimal and on a first come first served basis. Its ideal for the type of traveler I seen there, golf tours, hen partys, stag parties etc but I wouldnt be booking it for a family stay unless I had to have walking access to central Cork. Staff were lovely though.

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next