The Lugger Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3

Portloe, TRURO, TR2 5RD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Patterson

  • March 2015

Stunning!

Stunning location, beautiful boutique hotel with wonderful attention to detail.

Very comfortable bed & tasteful room. Generous breakfast helped set us up for the rest of the day. Staff friendly and helpful. Did not want to leave!

  • Ian G

  • March 2015

Winter break

Staff were very good, the hotel was very cosy and welcoming.

The only small point that slightly soiled an almost perfect stay was that we found the menu to small as we stayed for 4 nights and only one dish changed each night.

  • Hazel C

  • February 2015

relaxing break by the sea

The staff are helpful and friendly and the room was very comfortable, very good bed and the little touches like the hot water bottles and hot choc in the evening appreciated.

A very good breakfast in the lovely dining room. Great for walking the cliff paths and a real fire in the lounge to warm up by and read the papers.

  • Alison C

  • December 2014

Returned again

Stayed here for last 3 years at beginning of December.

The welcome is always excellent and staff cannot do enough to ensure a delightful stay. The small touches make the difference; homemade biscuits in the afternoon in the room, cosy hot water bottles at night and a joke each day to make you smile. Food again beautifully prepared and presented. Hopefully will be back next year.

  • M Holmes

  • August 2014

Doesn't deliver all it says on the tin!

Overall, the Lugger Hotel didn't live up to our expectations based on reputation and repoorts from other residents.

The staff were very friendly, polite and smartly dressed. However they were generally very young and apparently inexperienced and seemed to lack leadership. Breakfast service was quite chaotic and therefore slow - not that "fast food" was required on a relaxing holiday - but it just became an aggrevation. We had dinner on one of the evenings of our stay and the food was good but not exceptional. My partner had linguini which she felt was overcooked. This was reported to the waiter who said he would inform the chef. No feedback was received. The breakfast was again good, but no more than average for this style of hotel. The bedroom we had (301) was comfortable and reasonably well equipped, but there was evidence of paint cracking on the ceiling in the bathroom and wall in the bedroom. We had a nice terrace with chairs and a lounger, but unlike on the promotional literature, there were no cushions provided. In the lounge, glass top tables had not been cleaned recently, leaving marks from previously spilt drinks etc. Lamp shades were not straight and not straightened during the duration of our stay. It was disappointing that there was no literature available on local walks and sights. Although it was in many ways a relief not to have telephone reception, it was a little annoying not to be able to access the hotel's wi-fi anywhere in the building. Maybe a booster could be installed. The severe storms in February had washed away much of the outside terrace. However that was 6 months ago and there didn't appear to be any effort being made to repair it. Much of this report may seem quite "picky" however we have stayed in many hotels across the UK and abroad for comparison. For the cost of this accommodation @ £210 per night B&B, we would have expected much more. It is clearly well over-priced and certainly does not deliver what it says on the tin.

  • Roger Southcott

  • July 2014

A lovely peaceful rest - just what we were looking for.

Friendly staff.

Every little item given to help make us comfortable. ie. cake for afternoon tea,

hot chocolate for bedtime. Fresh milk in fridge. Water and sweets for the journey home. Thank you.

  • Sharon B

  • November 2013

Lovely hideaway hotel.

If you want peace & quiet right on the tiny harbour front, with excellent service and accommodation this is for you.

Our room was in the boathouse just across the slipway from the main hotel. Not a large room but had everything you would possibly need, with a god size bathroom with bath & shower. Top quality with many little extras like hot chocolate and biscuits in your room at night with a turn down service. Free water, replenished daily, and a goodie bag for your journey home. Superb food in a light airy restaurant with views over the pretty tiny bay. Excellent choice for breakfast. Comfortable cosy sitting area with open fire next to the small bar. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Great coastal walks right outside the hotel.We couldn't have picked a better place for a long weekend away from it all.

  • Emma p

  • September 2013

Not ideal

The hotel is in a stunning location and the staff and food are wonderful.

However, I was travelling on business and was stunned to find that a hotel of this calibre had no wi-fi available in the rooms and no mobile phone signal to be found anywhere in the vicinity. This severely impacted the quality of my stay- I couldn't get any work done unless I sat in the communal lounges - and I couldn't offset the loneliness that comes with travelling alone by mooching on the Internet in my room. The intimate nature of the hotel would be best suited to couples in my opinion. My room was fine, clean and comfortable but nothing special. I wouldn't stay here again on the basis described above . It just didn't suit my needs.

  • M Khan

  • September 2013

Fabulous stay!

Spent 2 nights at the Lugger Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Very friendly and overall a very pleasant stay. Would definitely recomend!

  • Susan W

  • August 2013

2 nights R and R

Great location - Portloe an attractive cove/harbour with boats and fishermen to watch and a relaxing pace of life.

Hotel was comfortable - excellent efficient and friendly staff. Lovely walks from the hotel and convenient for exploring the whole of the Roseland Peninsula. Parking will test your driving skills but was adequate. Lack of mobile phone reception was a mixed blessing. Did not see on hotel description that complimentary wifi was available. Sitting rooms were cosy with logs piled high - so maybe we will visit again in the winter months?. Thank you for a relaxing stay.