Reviews - SACO Bristol - West India House


2-4 Welsh Back, Bristol, BS1 4SS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Room quality


  • Julian S

  • November 2014

Bristol SACO India house

Always try to use apartments as travel a lot with work and now fed up of hotels.

The room was very nice and well positioned for the town centre. Very modern apt, very clean and only issue was the extractor fan in bathroom didn't work so rapidly became a sauna whilst having a shower.

Only complaint for me was that I thought the price was expensive as have stayed in same style apts in London cheaper. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • e clark

  • October 2014

Luxurious central appartment

The flat was luxurious and central location which made it easy to get around to friends in the city and we could even invite them back to our place.

The nearby bars are a bit noisy but it is really really quiet after midnight and until 9 in the morning on Saturday/Sundays. Made our weekend in Bristol very enjoyable and we used the sofa bed for one night - reported to be very comfortable too.

  • R Adams

  • August 2014

Saco west India house

Really pleased with the quality of the apartment and helpfulness of staff.

Will be staying at saco apartments rather than hotels in the future.

  • Theresa O'Connor

  • August 2014

SACO Bristol - West India House

We stayed for two nights in the apartment.

The apartment was very nice and spacious. The sofa bed was made and ready for our stay. The rooms were very clean. The shower was excellent and there were ample towels for everyone. The internet connection was very slow much to the annoyance of our teenage son. There was milk in the fridge alongside with bottled water, tea, coffee, biscuits which were appreciated. It did claim to have a view of the river however there were tall trees directly outside the apartments and you could not really see it because of the leaves on the trees, but that is a minor thing. There was a hairdryer available and that was great as I forgot to bring my own. We were centrally located and near to a local shop. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. There were no parking facilities outside the apartments but there was a NCP car park near by.

  • K Balmer

  • June 2014

Very clean, very spacious, very good.

I must confess at the outset to being a unabashed convert with regard to serviced apartments - they generally knock spots off of all but the very best hotels, in my humble opinion.

The Saco serviced apartments at West India House in Bristol are no exception to this position. The room had large (perhaps five feet tall) sash windows which looked out over the river running through Bristol city centre, providing an abundance of natural light and, if needed, plentiful ventilation. When closed, these windows allowed virtually no intrusive noise from the street below. These windows, in the absence of any air conditioning, were an absolute godsend to me because I feel the heat most keenly and often struggle to sleep as the late spring and early summer nights begin to warm up. No such problems at West India House. Sound insulation inside the building was another matter however - I heard doors slamming elsewhere on my floor several times during my stay. But I suppose that some, if not all of these were fire doors, so it would be pernickity to dwell too much on these minor irritations. Better instead to focus on the room itself, and the ease of use overall. The double bed was wide enough without taking up a disproportionate amount of space in the room, and was spotlessly clean. Whilst personally I found the mattress too soft, this is no doubt a matter of personal preference and there isn't an awful lot that can be done in such a scenario. The kitchen area was also spotlessly clean, and well-stocked in terms of pots, pans, cutlery and crockery. I would grumble somewhat about the cleanliness about the cutlery and some of the glassware, but running a bowl of hot water and splashing some washing-up liquid into it is hardly an arduous task. The toaster, microwave, hob and oven all worked perfectly and there was even a pint of milk in the fridge. A small but welcome feature when arriving at 1am after a long drive. I was not so impressed however with the broadband wifi - very slow. OK it's free, but frankly it jolly well should be. It is not fast enough though and I'm sorry but for £120 a night I expect top-of-the-range wifi with a strong, constant signal. Please be aware that if you are staying over the weekend, the telephone number given in the welcome pack for the internet support helpline is useless - the office at the other end is only staffed Monday to Friday. Another grumble would be my experience with the ensuite shower room. Clean and tidy are pre-requisites, as is the provision of clean towels: all present and correct. However one also expects a plentiful supply of hot water in which to shower and sadly this was not the case at West India House. On both days of my stay, the hot water lasted less than two minutes. I twas unedifying to be forced to boil a kettle in order to shave. It has to be said that the location of this block is very good - just of Baldwin Street so very well-located for the city centre. Not quite so good if one is planning to spend time in Clifton, but by no means an actual problem. What IS a problem however is parking. Whilst it is beyond Saco's control that the current city council has chosen to impose punitive on-street parking charges in every single street, along with ridiculously restrictive time limits, more could be done to draw the traveller's attention to this when making a booking. There is a multi-storey within spitting distance, but it is also fairly pricey. There is nowehre nearby one can park for free before midnight, and you'll have to be up before 8am to move the car if you leave it on the street overnight. Most inconvenient. Perhaps Saco could make some sort of deal with the multi-storey operator and supply passes for the car park to visitors bringing a car. All in all a decent spot to rest one's head, but I would avoid bringing the car if possible. Equally I hope that the problems with the hot water and the wifi are just one-offs - at this price band, such shortfalls aren't acceptable.

  • k snell

  • May 2014


The room was absolutly perfect, added touches with the biscuits and hot chocs were a lovely gesture.

Appartment was clean and aired out. Chuffed to bits with the location of the accomodation, overlooking the river. 5* in my eyes :)

  • Peter Galambos

  • May 2014

We rented this apartment for two adults and two children, and when we asked, what kind of bed availabla for the children, we get the answer: we can by extra Ł8 for a travel baby bed, or we can pay Ł25!!.

extra to use the sofa bed in main room. we chosen baby cot for 8, but they didnt gave us an extra pillow or towel or nothing to kids. I think its so cheapy for this prize.

  • Margaret W

  • May 2014

Great stay

Really enjoyable stay with SACO - organised and key collection and drop off was very smooth.

Only downside was the noise from the end-of-pub kickout at around 4am - though not so bad we wouldn't stay again. Good value for money and the provision of milk in the fridge and cereals for breakfast was a nice addition

  • N Chopra

  • April 2014

Great location, amazing space, only complaint would be the noise from the bars late at night.

Don't forget your ear plugs!

  • Toby S

  • April 2014

SACO West India House

Good vfm, spacious, clean rooms with high ceilings and big windows