Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Stayed for one night with my wife and 11 yr old son. Booked a "family room" on Late Rooms, but hotel rang the next day to say they don't actually have any family rooms and offered a Z bed in the room. Not ideal, but was OK. Hotel blamed Late Rooms for the confusion, which may or may not be accurate, it's hard to tell…
Evening meal and Breakfast were good, if a little on the expensive side; room was fine, reasonably good standard; overall the hotel is a picturesque old building (apart from the modern extensions) in a very pleasant setting. We stayed on a Sunday night for £69 and we have no complaints about the hotel, the staff or the food whatsoever, everything was good..

Reviewed by
Martin S

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plumbing Problems Plus
Room 202. Four night stay.
The toilet was extremely difficult to flush and the shower dangerous in that hot was hot and cold was cold and it was difficult to get a workable temperature. It also leaked from the top of the shower head and sprayed the bathroom with water. Complaints lodged not dealt with until after three days and a second request when the shower was fixed. The toilet flush system was still difficult to operate.
Reception desk staff seemed disinterested in the customers. Training urgently needed here.
Waiting staff though were charming, friendly, helpful and food very good of its type.
Breakfast however was a disappointment. Having been asked to write down a time for breakfast on our registration sheet on arrival, reception staff did not warn us that our stated time of 9.00am was the end of the cooked breakfast period! The buffet was in a mess by this time with most things finished. The toaster was out of adjustment, there was no brown bread left. When we asked for a cooked breakfast we were told that breakfast had finished. We didn't go back.
Tea tray in the room not serviced with tea bags or milk but willing wait staff helped provide fresh milk and tea bags.
This hotel has a great situation but needs money spending on some refurbishment and particularly staff training. Please stress that service is for the customer's comfort and assistance. This is paramount.
Great bed and flat-screen TV though and quiet in the newer block.

Reviewed by
G Bridge

From Blairgowrie, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Bothered.
just like the staff that weekend.

Reviewed by
J Stait

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday night stay
Hotel was lovely and location quite despite being close to motorway. Room a good size. Food lovely although only started serving at 6.30pm. Breakfast really nice but a bit costly at 10.00 each. Would stay again

Reviewed by
Lesley D

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed that the main menu is not available on a Sunday night as we were looking forward to the great food that was on the web site

Reviewed by
albert lewis

From March, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, nice food but poor infrastructure!
We received a warm welcome and the restaurant was lovely and very accommodating of our son in his wheelchair. The room was spacious and beds very comfortable. On a negative note the plumbing was very noisy, flushing the loo sounded like a fog horn going off and the extractor fan in bathroom so noisy we had to turn it off at night. Also the sound proofing from the floor above was poor. We had a family with a toddler above us the 2nd night who weren't deliberately being noisy but insulation between floors was so poor it sounded like a herd of elephants! This is a nice friendly hotel, the decor was tasteful but the outside wing has obviously been done on a budget. Also whilst the food was nice there was no choice of a lighter snack type meal on the Sun evening. We'd have been happy with sandwiches but there was only main meals available. Breakfast was good & staff very friendly!

Reviewed by
S Vesey

From Westcliff on Sea, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in wonderfully quiet surroundings, conveniently located, but let down by litany of small niggles.
On arrival around 3pm, the corridor our room was located in was pitch black due to lights being blown. Gardener had to get torch for us to find our room and find keyhole (girl at reception blithely suggested the corridor lights were light activated and came on after dark .. NO!!)
Don't bother ordering a newspaper. They leave these on counter at reception, and more often than not, some other guest will have taken it before you get there (I strongly suggested they take the effort to WRITE the room number on the papers!!)
The TV control 'channel up/down' didn't work. We also brought a USB stick with movies on - there WAS a USB input on TV which came on when plugged in - but the generic remote used didn't control the options, so useless! (At least keep the original controls in room too!!)
The bath shower screen rubber seal was perished and split near hinge, resulting in wet floors during showering (room 104 if you're reading this!).
And finally, the bed mattress was the WORST I have ever had in any hotels in 30 years of travel. Was like trying to sleep on a soft sponge - so AVOID if you have any back problems.

Reviewed by
B Mee

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here for the walks and to chill. Food was very expensive but only ok, room was big and comfortable.

Reviewed by
T Parry

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lambert Arms
Surprisingly quiet despite being so close to the motorway. Staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Room offered everything we needed and was immaculately clean. Good selection of drinks and biscuits in the room. Menu offered a good choice and the food was good value for money. Gym facilities were also very good.

Reviewed by
Jayne B

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel miles from anywear
Room good size reception staff very helpful not much info re local area in Aston Rowant (nature reserve ) for example,housekeeping very stingy with supplies 1 miniature shampoo & conditioner daily between both of us,stayed 5 days started 2 half used loo rolls when down to end replaced with another half used roll, small bottle water each first day only &1 small complimentary packet of biscuits between us daily & 1 packet drinking chocolate for 1 as said stingy with supplies let hotel down.

Reviewed by
R WHEELER

From ILFORD, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next