Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly service
First class from all staff I met both at check in and particularly check out, really made me smile for the day ahead.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, old interesting inn.

Reviewed by
steven e

From koblenz, Germany
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very good although toilet was not flushing properly. Food and drink was quite pricy.

Reviewed by
PETRA L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little place
This is a nice enough little place. Good value for money and only a £15 cab ride from the train station. Food was good - from what I ate and staff are really nice and friendly.
Noise from the road is bad though and that can be a little unsettling, I didn't have a telephone in my room so couldn't order room service - their loss I guess.
There was a bit of damp in the bathroom by the sink, and the room temperature was a bit cold.
Bed was comfortable, slept well, free internet access meant it was usable for work too.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good enough
friendly staff, nice bar and decent food. The en suite bathroom could have done with a more thorough clean (hairs on the shower/bath tiled wall).

Reviewed by
A PARK

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bonus Find
We googled somewhere to stay in Oxford, originally thinking we were closer to the city.
Pulling up however, we were taken with the outside of the hotel & on entering were impressed with the friendliness of staff encountered
The first room showed to us had a sloping floor, but we were immediately rehoused with no fuss.
The menu was good & Friday night offered a fish menu, both choices made were enjoyed.
An added bonus the room had shampoo, conditioner & body lotion ... Not found in every hotel these days.
Would recommend ad a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Michelle B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and value for money. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to colleagues.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From Leigh-on-Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel. friendly, helpfl staff. even thogh close to M40 you cannot hear the traffic.
Would recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
A Sinclair

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel

Reviewed by
richard r

From Lincoln, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All-in-all good
Location is excellent, it says 5 minutes off the M40 and it is less than that. Despite this, the room was quiet and we slept well (the mattress was too soft for me, but that's a purely personal thing). All facilities were reasonably clean, a couple of spots on the bed sheets - these had clearly been washed since the last guest but there was something adhered (it didn't look too dirty or disgusting so it wasn't so much a problem of hygiene, merely one of attention to detail).
Restaurant was, overall, ok. The food was actually pretty good, although a bit more expensive than I would have expected. Service was a bit slow, however, and I had to order the same drink twice to get it.
Overall, worth the money

Reviewed by
Joseph V

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next