Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and value for money. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to colleagues.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From Leigh-on-Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel. friendly, helpfl staff. even thogh close to M40 you cannot hear the traffic.
Would recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
A Sinclair

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel

Reviewed by
richard r

From Lincoln, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All-in-all good
Location is excellent, it says 5 minutes off the M40 and it is less than that. Despite this, the room was quiet and we slept well (the mattress was too soft for me, but that's a purely personal thing). All facilities were reasonably clean, a couple of spots on the bed sheets - these had clearly been washed since the last guest but there was something adhered (it didn't look too dirty or disgusting so it wasn't so much a problem of hygiene, merely one of attention to detail).
Restaurant was, overall, ok. The food was actually pretty good, although a bit more expensive than I would have expected. Service was a bit slow, however, and I had to order the same drink twice to get it.
Overall, worth the money

Reviewed by
Joseph V

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent one night stop over
Stayed en-route to a committee meeting and found attentive staff with good food in pleasant surroundings. Bedroom in the original pub building had been well designed with good sized bathroom. Minor problem with drainage of shower tray but staff gave me confidence it would be dealt with for next guest. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
booked to attend a family wedding, made welcome, helpful staff enabled us to book a meal at short notice for the friday evening.

Reviewed by
j driver

From UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was large, clean and tidy, but alot of noise from the traffic as it faced the road., so didn't sleep as well as would have liked. The bed was on a slight slope...feet higher than your head...but at least our ankles didn't swell up... However, the site was easy to find off M40 and was a short distance from Oxford. The food was very good as was the service, but would have liked a lighter evening menu as an alternative menu to the one that was continued throughout the day.

Reviewed by
NICK BOWEN

From Ludlow, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Stay
I've stayed here a few times and always enjoy the mix of high quality accommodation and food with a relaxed friendly atmosphere. If you're with friends or colleagues a good meal and relaxing in the bar is perfect. And handy for the motorway too.
The rooms in the old part are smaller and have more 'character' eg wonky floors if you want the oldy worldy feel, but you can hear road noise through the older windows in the morning.

Reviewed by
David H

From Chester, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Overall very good, rooms clean and spacious, food excellent, would stay again

Reviewed by
A Pitt

From Newport, Wales
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6