Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SQ
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms are very clean, especially front desk provided a excellent service for our family.

Reviewed by
J Kim

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

May Bank Hol
OK experience but could have been better.
Room clean and comfortable but didn't feel like pub accommodation more like a business set-up as lacking in character.

Reviewed by
Melanie Taylor

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and helpful staff. We enjoyed good dinner but the full cooked breakfast was a little dissappointing and we regretted opting for this. There is ample cold breakfast available. Staff were again helpful in organising de-caf coffee for me. Reception staff were friendly and helpful offering assistance with park and ride and route into Oxford including printing off directions. Room was not unlike a Premier Inn room but had ample space and was clean enough although there was a bulb out in the bathroom, a broken (but still functioning) door handle and initially a stale smell in the bathroom. Overall good value.

Reviewed by
Keith H

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcoming reception nice large room (disappointed not in the main building therefore walk outside to our room) food excellent friendly and obliging staff

Reviewed by
trish c

From woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant accommodation
We arrived in thick snow, but were warmly welcomed. Our rooms were newly renovated, fresh and clean and everything was supplied for our needs.
Unfortunately we had made plans for our meals elsewhere, but on another occasion would like to stay for breakfast at least.

Reviewed by
C Stewart

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Steve R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay here in future
Accommodation was very good value for money. The food, though really good, was expensive. A bowl of soup, followed by a piece of fish and 8 chips came ot £20

Reviewed by
Jason M

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly service
First class from all staff I met both at check in and particularly check out, really made me smile for the day ahead.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, old interesting inn.

Reviewed by
steven e

From koblenz, Germany
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very good although toilet was not flushing properly. Food and drink was quite pricy.

Reviewed by
PETRA L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next