Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found the ideal location for a visit to Oxford and the area. Park and ride close by with transport into the center of Oxford meant we could all relax - time from hotel to center was about 40 min.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were QUIET so sleep was no problem.
The highlight was the food. With an interesting dinner menu we all found something of interest and more important it lived up to the description on the menu card - top marks from us.
We will stay again and fancy some of the special events on Friday scheduled, then on Sat can revisit Blenhiem Palace to finish off a fantastic tour.

Reviewed by
John Kirby

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended.
Staff, food and ambience all excellent.

Reviewed by
A Patrick

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, food and great value for money
Great place, really helpful and friendly staff, great food and very good value for money.

Reviewed by
paul k

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good night sleep
after a long day and some important meetings the next day its always vital to find a hotel where you enjoy a speedy check in, pleasant greetings, comfortable room with good food. All the above was certainly achieved when i recently stayed at the lambert arms.The Location of the hotel next to the M40 was also a massive bonus. Very Good.

Reviewed by
david k

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, welcoming hotel
I booked a family room which was perfect for us, large room with a large bathroom. We ate in the hotel and the meals were delicious. The bar/restaurant had a relaxing atmosphere and rooms were at the back of the hotel so the area was nice and quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Wells

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passable accommodation, food quality and choice a very pleasant surprise, no M40 noise
Generally very happy with the stay. The Lambert is stuck a little bit out on its own, and very near the M40 junction (which is both a bonus and a possible problem - but we never heard the noise). However, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the food menu is surprisingly wide in range and good in quality for such a modest hotel. Very pleased with that. Only gripe is that the LateRooms deal promised cooked breakfast, which wasn't apparent from the wording of the menu, so we missed out on our bacon and eggs, when we should have got them.

Reviewed by
Steve Narramore

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight for onward travel
We stayed at the Lambert Arms on our way down to Southampton to join a cruise the following day.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The food for our evening meal was lovely and very fairly priced. An elderly relative did not want to have a large evening meal so the staff suggested we use the 'Proper Meals for smaller people menu' it was just the ticket, lovely food on a smaller scale.
Accommodation was very good, the only disappointment was that because the room we stayed is in the new complex we had to brave the rain across the courtyard.
Good value and would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
margaret evans

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

May Bank Hol
OK experience but could have been better.
Room clean and comfortable but didn't feel like pub accommodation more like a business set-up as lacking in character.

Reviewed by
Melanie Taylor

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms are very clean, especially front desk provided a excellent service for our family.

Reviewed by
J Kim

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and helpful staff. We enjoyed good dinner but the full cooked breakfast was a little dissappointing and we regretted opting for this. There is ample cold breakfast available. Staff were again helpful in organising de-caf coffee for me. Reception staff were friendly and helpful offering assistance with park and ride and route into Oxford including printing off directions. Room was not unlike a Premier Inn room but had ample space and was clean enough although there was a bulb out in the bathroom, a broken (but still functioning) door handle and initially a stale smell in the bathroom. Overall good value.

Reviewed by
Keith H

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next