Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Impression
Arriving late on a Sunday is never ideal, but the reception staff were quick and efficient and very pleasant. the room was very nice, and quite large. Overall a comfortable night. Unfortunately there is a floor above, and the occupants were walking about most of the night and were very heavy footed without regard for other occupants, so our sleep was disturbed. However apart from that the breakfast was excellent, plenty of variety on the continental and full English served at the table. Other godd facilities included a well equipped Gym and a treatment room.

Reviewed by
Adrian Davis

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The cleanliness of the bathroom floor needs to be improved.

Reviewed by
W Lin

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close, yet so far
Good points were that the room was huge and pretty new. Staff were friendly and generally helpful. Room is relatively close to carpark and the location is very rural and pieceful. Bad points, the carpets were dirty and the bathroom floor. The bath components were falling off and the TV remote was not working very well. TV was a bit of a nightmare to operate. Food was average even though we had heard good things about it. Reception is barely manned from 7pm onwards. Not sure if it deserves 4* status.

Reviewed by
Grant K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and staff were very helpful

Reviewed by
Lynn B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable - staff agreeable and competent. Room basic but then it is an old coaching Inn with atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Richard D

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great experience !
Life expired / very uncomfortable mattress. No response to complant ref mattress. Dirty bathroom floor. Generally tired uncared for feel to the hotel. Eg broken door handle on bedroom door. Broken glass panel in corridor door. An experience not to be repeated.

Reviewed by
Julian Lewis

From Tarporley, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found the ideal location for a visit to Oxford and the area. Park and ride close by with transport into the center of Oxford meant we could all relax - time from hotel to center was about 40 min.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were QUIET so sleep was no problem.
The highlight was the food. With an interesting dinner menu we all found something of interest and more important it lived up to the description on the menu card - top marks from us.
We will stay again and fancy some of the special events on Friday scheduled, then on Sat can revisit Blenhiem Palace to finish off a fantastic tour.

Reviewed by
John Kirby

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended.
Staff, food and ambience all excellent.

Reviewed by
A Patrick

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, food and great value for money
Great place, really helpful and friendly staff, great food and very good value for money.

Reviewed by
paul k

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good night sleep
after a long day and some important meetings the next day its always vital to find a hotel where you enjoy a speedy check in, pleasant greetings, comfortable room with good food. All the above was certainly achieved when i recently stayed at the lambert arms.The Location of the hotel next to the M40 was also a massive bonus. Very Good.

Reviewed by
david k

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next