The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4

London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (48)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Finch

  • March 2014

The room was spacious but with do little furniture appeared cold and functional.

It lacked the warmth and coziness one would look for. Why when there was do much space was there no settee . Having said that the bed was comfortable enough. The corridor outside room 204 was pitch black when you came out as the movement sensors didn't kick in until halfway down the corridor. Not good.

The restaurant staff were very good but the food was ordinary pub standard and therefore overpriced. It fitted with the functional feel of the hotel. It lacked any defining class. Breakfast was ok though although better fresh fruit selection would prove.

  • A Downing

  • November 2013

Base for visit to oxford

A very pleasant and enjoyable place to stay and within easy driving distance of Oxford

  • kay B

  • November 2013

Lambert Arms

Had to get up and go in the morning and waited for breakfast to start @ 7am but as nothing had appeared by 10 past had to flee without food.( although charged for it)

Suggest this should be rectified for those of us using the hotel for business stop overs

  • Alan S

  • November 2013

Lovely stay

We arrived Monday afternoon after a long drive and an afternoon spent in Oxford.

The room was very clean, comfortable and a very good size. We decided to eat at the Lambert that evening as we had had a very long day. Booked a table for 7pm, and we sat in the bar area, our order was taken but we then had a very long wait before we were shown to our table ( over an hour - and it was very quiet ) That aside the food was nice and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast on both mornings was very nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone !

  • J Rose

  • October 2013

Book Direct

Lovely choice of hotel.

I booked through late rooms.com and although everything was as good as expected, the option of breakfast was not made clear enough. It looked as though the choice of breakfast was cooked or nothing and charged at £10. Actually there was a choice but also a choice of prices too. This was not clear as there seemed to be one price for B&B customers another price for room only customers and then the £10 charge if you book through late rooms, which I was told could not be changed. Everything else was well worth the stay, the staff on the whole were very polite and attentive but not always consistently so. It was a lovely location and the negative points could be overlooked as they were outweighed by the positives

  • Bridget D

  • October 2013

Lambert

Very Good

  • Holly E

  • September 2013

Great

Very impressed with this hotel.

Great staff and fantastic large room, perfect as plenty of space even with a travel cot in. Lovely breakfast. Everyone exceptionally friendly. Not far from Oxford,Bicester Village and many more

  • Ellen Wise

  • September 2013

Sugaring The Pill, but the Sugar WAS Very Good!

The Staff - all of them - extremely nice and helpful, despite many of them being very young.

Manager was extremely helpful with any problems and very responsive to them. Very friendly atmosphere and never kept waiting very long for either food, drink or assistance despite the fact that a wedding was being catered for at the same time and many of the wedding party were also guests. Unfortunately, there were some problems: the first room we were shown was not good - poor bed and bulbs missing in lamp and in bathroom. It was very noisy as it was right next to the road and over the bar downstairs. The cups and saucers had been left in the bathroom hand basin and there were broken biscuits in one of the drawers. However, on complaining, the Manager did not hesitate and immediately personally oversaw the removal of all our clothes and luggage to a far superior room in a quieter part of the building. Once installed, we enjoyed the finest food I have tasted in a very long while in the restaurant there. Some of the dishes were rather expensive for us but the standard was superb. On our second day, we returned to our room to find that the bed had not been made up and our wet towels had not been changed. On asking for dry towels, these were immediately taken to our room, but the original wet ones were not removed, and the bed still was not made up. I must say, that on the whole, it was a very pleasant stay and all staff did try hard to make us comfortable as did the very nice Manager, but the very busy time they were dealing with, I feel, must have interfered with the housekeeping side. We probably would stay there again, but in the hope that those faults would not re-occur. A note to Late Rooms - it was not made clear to me that payment had not been taken from my card on booking and this caused confusion when leaving. The web site I logged into was for The Lambert Arms and I was not aware I was with Late Rooms. Also, we needed bed and breakfast and Late Rooms only booked a room with no breakfast. These things caused confusion and despite booking online, I still had to ring the Hotel to ensure we would have breakfast.

  • Adrian Davis

  • September 2013

Good Impression

Arriving late on a Sunday is never ideal, but the reception staff were quick and efficient and very pleasant.

the room was very nice, and quite large. Overall a comfortable night. Unfortunately there is a floor above, and the occupants were walking about most of the night and were very heavy footed without regard for other occupants, so our sleep was disturbed. However apart from that the breakfast was excellent, plenty of variety on the continental and full English served at the table. Other godd facilities included a well equipped Gym and a treatment room.

  • Jean G

  • September 2013

Would keep in address book

Good staff on arrival.

Only criticism is tea tray had long life milk and there was a notice which said "fresh milk" but none present and did not say where to get if you wished.