Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was not very sound proof. Could hear crying child all night.
The room was very far away from the amenities.
The view of discarded beds out of the window wasn't very sightly.
Would not stay here again and disappointing experience.

Reviewed by
N Murray

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room sadly the shower didn't work and the bath plug was stuck luckily the bath water drained away overnight. Television hand set didn't work for volume or turning off. The washing machine and tumble drier in the laundry room next door were both on until midnight , spin cycle is not conducive to sleep . Receptionist was very keen to know where there were problems but didn't reduce the price of the stay accordingly

Reviewed by
Andrea J

From Knottingly , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was spacious but with do little furniture appeared cold and functional. It lacked the warmth and coziness one would look for. Why when there was do much space was there no settee ? Having said that the bed was comfortable enough. The corridor outside room 204 was pitch black when you came out as the movement sensors didn't kick in until halfway down the corridor. Not good.
The restaurant staff were very good but the food was ordinary pub standard and therefore overpriced. It fitted with the functional feel of the hotel. It lacked any defining class. Breakfast was ok though although better fresh fruit selection would prove.

Reviewed by
A Finch

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base for visit to oxford
A very pleasant and enjoyable place to stay and within easy driving distance of Oxford

Reviewed by
A Downing

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lambert Arms
Had to get up and go in the morning and waited for breakfast to start @ 7am but as nothing had appeared by 10 past had to flee without food.( although charged for it)
Suggest this should be rectified for those of us using the hotel for business stop overs

Reviewed by
kay B

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We arrived Monday afternoon after a long drive and an afternoon spent in Oxford. The room was very clean, comfortable and a very good size. We decided to eat at the Lambert that evening as we had had a very long day. Booked a table for 7pm, and we sat in the bar area, our order was taken but we then had a very long wait before we were shown to our table ( over an hour - and it was very quiet ) That aside the food was nice and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast on both mornings was very nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone !

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Book Direct
Lovely choice of hotel. I booked through late rooms.com and although everything was as good as expected, the option of breakfast was not made clear enough. It looked as though the choice of breakfast was cooked or nothing and charged at £10. Actually there was a choice but also a choice of prices too. This was not clear as there seemed to be one price for B&B customers another price for room only customers and then the £10 charge if you book through late rooms, which I was told could not be changed!
Everything else was well worth the stay, the staff on the whole were very polite and attentive but not always consistently so. It was a lovely location and the negative points could be overlooked as they were outweighed by the positives

Reviewed by
J Rose

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lambert
Very Good

Reviewed by
Bridget D

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Very impressed with this hotel. Great staff and fantastic large room, perfect as plenty of space even with a travel cot in. Lovely breakfast. Everyone exceptionally friendly. Not far from Oxford,Bicester Village and many more

Reviewed by
Holly E

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sugaring The Pill, but the Sugar WAS Very Good!
The Staff - all of them - extremely nice and helpful, despite many of them being very young. Manager was extremely helpful with any problems and very responsive to them. Very friendly atmosphere and never kept waiting very long for either food, drink or assistance despite the fact that a wedding was being catered for at the same time and many of the wedding party were also guests. Unfortunately, there were some problems: the first room we were shown was not good - poor bed and bulbs missing in lamp and in bathroom. It was very noisy as it was right next to the road and over the bar downstairs. The cups and saucers had been left in the bathroom hand basin and there were broken biscuits in one of the drawers. However, on complaining, the Manager did not hesitate and immediately personally oversaw the removal of all our clothes and luggage to a far superior room in a quieter part of the building. Once installed, we enjoyed the finest food I have tasted in a very long while in the restaurant there. Some of the dishes were rather expensive for us but the standard was superb. On our second day, we returned to our room to find that the bed had not been made up and our wet towels had not been changed. On asking for dry towels, these were immediately taken to our room, but the original wet ones were not removed, and the bed still was not made up. I must say, that on the whole, it was a very pleasant stay and all staff did try hard to make us comfortable as did the very nice Manager, but the very busy time they were dealing with, I feel, must have interfered with the housekeeping side. We probably would stay there again, but in the hope that those faults would not re-occur. A note to Late Rooms - it was not made clear to me that payment had not been taken from my card on booking and this caused confusion when leaving. The web site I logged into was for The Lambert Arms and I was not aware I was with Late Rooms. Also, we needed bed and breakfast and Late Rooms only booked a room with no breakfast. These things caused confusion and despite booking online, I still had to ring the Hotel to ensure we would have breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ellen Wise

From Lostwithiel, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next