THE SANDY COVE HOTEL

3

Berrynarbor, ILFRACOMBE, EX34 9SR

Price From 159.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (34)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Cameron

  • March 2015

Good service on reception but the Hotels badly in need of an update. Dogs allowed but not everywhere

I pretty much agree with most previous reviews on Sandy Cove in that the setting is fantastic but the hotel feels unloved.

I read somewhere that they were starting an update but apart from the reception area being quite nice I didn't see any signs of it. Our Room had worn dirty carpets and areas of peeling wall paper. The bathroom was very dated and not very clean plus the toilet lid was missing. It's the same story in the warren of corridors leading to the rooms with marked walls and worn carpets. The sound proofing between rooms and the corridors is also very poor. On a positive note the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The Hotel also says it's dog friendly, and they are allowed in the grounds and in the rooms but not in the bar area so there's nowhere to sit with them if you want a drink . We got a last minute rate through Laterooms which to me was nearer the mark in terms of what they should be charging for rooms in the current state. Overall I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Jane P

  • October 2014

A dissapointment

The room was very nice indeed, a lovely bed, gorgeous view and nice and clean...however, when the next door occupants arrived it was a different story.

The room almost shook with the noise of the power shower and we could hear everything going on in the adjoining rooms. After clearly having spent a small fortune on updating this hotel, they forgot to add insulation to the walls. I accept that they had only just opened but the restaurant was a complete joke - no one knew what they were doing (almost all were students) and when we asked for a steak because there was nothing left on the menu that we wanted, they said they had run out!. If you ate in you either had the set meal ( a choice between 4 dishes which didn't even change daily) which they bizarrely called the al la carte menu or you went to the local pub/fish and chip shop!. We guessed that this hotel had only just reopened but if I am paying the full price, I expect the full deal. The manger/owner didn't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay - I wonder why???

  • M Greener

  • October 2014

A very relaxing break

The hotel is in the most glorious location and we paid extra for a superior sea view room.

The view was simply breathtaking. The room itself was clean, spacious and comfortable, the shower was good and everything worked well. The only slight quibble was the rather sparse hospitality tray with average quality tea and coffee, no hot chocolate and no biscuits which may be expected for the price. However, apart from the rather cold and not very full jacuzzi, we couldn't fault it. The staff were helpful, the food both in the evening and at breakfast was first rate, the pool was nice and the surrounding area great for walking.

  • vivienne j

  • September 2014

Relaxing stay

Wonderful location view takes your breath away, staff friendly hotel room lovely but hotel doesn't seem loved enough, the old part of hotel is a little dated and worn also hallways needed cleaning , but saying all that I would stay again, the restaurant clean and fresh with those lovely views, pool we had to ourselves but again those little neglected bits let it down not enough to spoil our stay but if they did a little work on this place it would boost up the star rate

  • Vanessa B

  • September 2014

Short break

The hotel is set in a beautiful location and we had a lovely sea view from our room.

The hotel appears to be in the process of being updated. Some parts of the hotel are very good whereas other parts are a bit tired, but overall the hotel appearance was good. The good was ok. At breakfast, if the hotel was busy then there was quite a delay to be served. Some members of staff seemed rather grumpy and fed up with life. Maybe it had been a long summer. Saturday night there was a wedding at the hotel. The noise was quite intrusive, we hadn't been told at the time of booking with Late Rooms that there would a wedding party which was irritating as we had a very poor nights sleep and if we had been warned then we could have brought ear plugs. Beware having a room over the restaurant/bar as the walls are very thin and on our first night we couldn't sleep due the noise from downstairs and barking dogs left in the bedrooms. Overall a good hotel, maybe it would be quieter and more relaxing out of season.

  • Michael Woodman

  • August 2014

Sandy Cove Review

Excellent location, fabulous views, friendly staff, clean, but definitely get a room with sea views

  • clare roberts

  • August 2014

Great views and location but..........

Amazing location and wonderful views from bedroom.

Young staff who haven't been trained properly - two stood out and were very good but the others were bordering on rude and actually grunted replies at times. Dead flowers on reception desk and dirty floors everywhere. VERY strange smell in stairs area. A la carte menu overpriced for food received - how they have a rosette for the food which is partly why we booked I do not know. Swimming pool and sauna facilities great to have but very tired and shabby.

  • mavis price

  • July 2014

sandy cove hotel

good hotel

  • Nick R

  • July 2014

A hidden gem

A hidden gem - the view is stunning.

Felt more like 4 star than 3. Can't wait to return.

  • J Calvert

  • July 2014

Lovely view

Hotel room had a lovely view over the Bay.

We were able to eat out on the terrace with our small dog..and our room was near a Fire Exit which helped us to leave with cases and load car easily...and to enjoy the Coastal walk from there. Bathroom extracter fan very noisy and door no fitting so unable to lock it....room a bit shabby but clean. No fridge or phone in the room. The deal we got was good value and we enjoyed the stay with wonderful weather,