No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE SANDY COVE HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Berrynarbor, ILFRACOMBE, EX34 9SR
Wherever you go in Sandy Cove, you cannot escape our wonderful view. With stunning views across the bay, the hotel is enviably nestled at the gateway to magical Exmoor and within easy reach of the glorious beaches of the Atlantic.

Throughout the week you will be tempted by our extensive table d' hote, a la carte and bar menus all using fresh, locally sourced produce and every Saturday the chef presents the Swedish Smorgasbord & Grill Night. The indoor swimming pool features a sliding glass dome which means it can be used all year round and there is a leisure area with sauna, steam room and heated relaxation loungers all free of charge.

Children under 5 are free and children between the ages of 5 -14 who are sharing rooms with their parents will be only charged half price for breakfast. Dogs are accepted at a rate of £8 per night, they are allowed in the bedrooms (excluding superior rooms) and in the gardens but are not allowed in the public rooms. Please advise of any dogs at time of booking.

FREE WIFI available throughout all the public rooms in the hotel.


PLEASE NOTE THE SWIMMING POOL IS CLOSED IN THE FOLLOWING MONTHS:
2nd January - 14th March & 1st November - 23rd December.
Picture of THE SANDY COVE HOTEL, ILFRACOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The biggest room I've ever seen!
The room we had was so big we could of moved in! The bar staff (2 young) lads were very helpful, food was good to at a good price! The welcome was ok but wasn't the best, saw others with newspapers in the morning but not offered to us.

Reviewed by
R White

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay - attentive staff
We planned a short walking break in North Devon. The hotel was ideal - a beautiful location and a good place to relax in at the end of the day. No mobile signal - what a blessing!

Reviewed by
L Killock

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hairs in food and no hot water
We stayed at the Sandy Cove between 19 and 21 August 2013. All in all, our stay was mediocre. The grounds of the hotel are stunning. Once you access the hotel, you will likely to be somewhat disappointed. While the cleanliness of the rooms was quite good, there was no hot water in our room for the duration of the stay. Fortunately, our children were in an adjoining room so we were able to use their shower. We were asked to pay extra for our children's breakfast despite the fact we were quoted a set price by LateRooms. I wouldn't feel so annoyed about this hidden extra if it wasn't for the fact that my son found hairs in his cooked breakfast 2 days in a row. There were other hidden extras too, such as the maps for local walks. We won't be returning to Sandy Cove.

Reviewed by
ALISA S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandy Cove Hotel
Very friendly staff, Good service.
Superb views of the coast.
Nice family hotel but décor and facilities could do with some updating..

Reviewed by
J Carson

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with gorgeous views
Glad we ignored reviews. Lovely hotel with brilliant views. Gardens wonderful, food good, beds comfy and very quiet.

Reviewed by
Maxine May

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing views
Spacious clean room with amazing sea views. Food was very good and service was excellent. Good quality facilities.

Reviewed by
N Parker

From Welwyn garden city, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and shower ceilings very low so not ideal if you are six foot or over. Difficult to get to bath taps for overhead shower as screen did not move much so difficult to get access. My wife had to get me to do this as she could not reach the taps.
View of the cove was wonderful especially from the room and terrace.
Would stay again in a different room in main hotel.

Reviewed by
Christopher A

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing location
We stayed for a short weekend break. Hotel is in an amazing location and everyone is very friendly. We stayed in a delux family room which was a bit on the small side but clean and tidy with great views. On arriving we found the bed was broken but this was fixed almost immediately with no fuss. We had an evening meal and breakfast and both were excellent. The pool and sauna/steam room are all of a good standard. On a sunny weekend it really is a great place to stay. We all agreed we would like to stay here again which says how good we thought itwas.

Reviewed by
Nick W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
This was the second time we have stayed and it's such a wonderful location, could do with a lick of paint in a few places and the swimming pool could do with some TLC, but food great, service great bed was so good we thought we were at home and would happily stay again

Reviewed by
Geoff T

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The pictures on line looked good, the outside was as it looked although the interior requires attent
The interior requires decorating. The reception staff looked scruffy. Waiting staff very poorly presented and lacking in ability.
On check in we did not feel welcomed and almost an inconvenience to the business and most unwelcome to eat in the restaurant as we did not book within the 30 minute deadline so we drove to a friendly restaurant in town. I booked the bridal suite on line but this was not the room we were allocated but paid the bridal room rate. I feel this hotel trades on the views not the service. Very disappointed customer

Reviewed by
Leon Youlton

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next