Berrynarbor, ILFRACOMBE, EX34 9SR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (26)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • vivienne j

  • September 2014

Relaxing stay

Wonderful location view takes your breath away, staff friendly hotel room lovely but hotel doesn't seem loved enough, the old part of hotel is a little dated and worn also hallways needed cleaning , but saying all that I would stay again, the restaurant clean and fresh with those lovely views, pool we had to ourselves but again those little neglected bits let it down not enough to spoil our stay but if they did a little work on this place it would boost up the star rate

  • Vanessa B

  • September 2014

Short break

The hotel is set in a beautiful location and we had a lovely sea view from our room.

The hotel appears to be in the process of being updated. Some parts of the hotel are very good whereas other parts are a bit tired, but overall the hotel appearance was good. The good was ok. At breakfast, if the hotel was busy then there was quite a delay to be served. Some members of staff seemed rather grumpy and fed up with life. Maybe it had been a long summer. Saturday night there was a wedding at the hotel. The noise was quite intrusive, we hadn't been told at the time of booking with Late Rooms that there would a wedding party which was irritating as we had a very poor nights sleep and if we had been warned then we could have brought ear plugs. Beware having a room over the restaurant/bar as the walls are very thin and on our first night we couldn't sleep due the noise from downstairs and barking dogs left in the bedrooms. Overall a good hotel, maybe it would be quieter and more relaxing out of season.

  • Michael Woodman

  • August 2014

Sandy Cove Review

Excellent location, fabulous views, friendly staff, clean, but definitely get a room with sea views

  • clare roberts

  • August 2014

Great views and location but..........

Amazing location and wonderful views from bedroom.

Young staff who haven't been trained properly - two stood out and were very good but the others were bordering on rude and actually grunted replies at times. Dead flowers on reception desk and dirty floors everywhere. VERY strange smell in stairs area. A la carte menu overpriced for food received - how they have a rosette for the food which is partly why we booked I do not know. Swimming pool and sauna facilities great to have but very tired and shabby.

  • mavis price

  • July 2014

sandy cove hotel

good hotel

  • Nick R

  • July 2014

A hidden gem

A hidden gem - the view is stunning.

Felt more like 4 star than 3. Can't wait to return.

  • J Calvert

  • July 2014

Lovely view

Hotel room had a lovely view over the Bay.

We were able to eat out on the terrace with our small dog..and our room was near a Fire Exit which helped us to leave with cases and load car easily...and to enjoy the Coastal walk from there. Bathroom extracter fan very noisy and door no fitting so unable to lock a bit shabby but clean. No fridge or phone in the room. The deal we got was good value and we enjoyed the stay with wonderful weather,

  • paul h

  • July 2014

Great views from this hotel.

The food was very good but it was a shame that the only choice was a £35 four course meal. We just wanted a starter and main course but had to pay full price. Our room had a wonderful view, new furniture and a large comfy bed, however, the decor let it down. Stuck in the past with old fashioned painted wallpaper, which desperately needed painting. There was a large stain on the ceiling above the bed from an old water leak that also needed to be cleaned up. The bathroom was large but also needed updating. The carpet was old and had seen better days. The only access to our room was via the fire exit at the back of the building, this was wet and very dirty. We had to use this access as we had a small dog with us and we were not able to use the usual access to the room through the bar and restaurant. The hotel is however happy to have dogs stay in there accommodation description.

  • Angus J

  • July 2014

Fantastic view shame about the hotel

There is not enough space here for me to write all that is wrong with this hotel, so I will try and condense it all.

All in all, the view from the hotel is probably one of the best in the country, however I feel the hotel heavily relies on this for repeat custom and not a lot else. We are baffled as to how they were awarded an AA rosette for food, as it is bland, uninspiring and overpriced for what it is. The hotel is more shabby than chic. Parts have been refurbished, but not enough to stop it being mainly shabby. The service and staff need a visit from Alex Polizzi, all in all, we would not return here if they paid us. Pay a bit more for your money and get a nice little boutique hotel or B and B in the area.

  • Jon T

  • June 2014

Has great potential but staff need help!

When we arrived we were really excited the location and view were second to none, we thought we had a bargain.

However this soon changed when we entered our room. Floor looked discusting and needed a good Hoover and the bathroom bin, was full with ladies sanitary ware. Not the most welcoming. We also paid extra for a junior suite however the room looked very similar to a normal rooms on offer. The restaurant again looked amazing and excellent sea views. However we were told to sit on a certain table every day, away from the views, for 4 days even tho the restaurant was at most 25% full with many tables with views not used. 'When we asked to move to another table we weren't allowed' Some staff were very friendly and helpful however some were the opposite and ruined what could have been an amazing trip.