No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE SANDY COVE HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Berrynarbor, ILFRACOMBE, EX34 9SR
Wherever you go in Sandy Cove, you cannot escape our wonderful view. With stunning views across the bay, the hotel is enviably nestled at the gateway to magical Exmoor and within easy reach of the glorious beaches of the Atlantic.

Throughout the week you will be tempted by our extensive table d' hote, a la carte and bar menus all using fresh, locally sourced produce and every Saturday the chef presents the Swedish Smorgasbord & Grill Night. The indoor swimming pool features a sliding glass dome which means it can be used all year round and there is a leisure area with sauna, steam room and heated relaxation loungers all free of charge.

Children under 5 are free and children between the ages of 5 -14 who are sharing rooms with their parents will be only charged half price for breakfast. Dogs are accepted at a rate of £8 per night, they are allowed in the bedrooms (excluding superior rooms) and in the gardens but are not allowed in the public rooms. Please advise of any dogs at time of booking.

FREE WIFI available throughout all the public rooms in the hotel.


PLEASE NOTE THE SWIMMING POOL IS CLOSED IN THE FOLLOWING MONTHS:
2nd January - 14th March & 1st November - 23rd December.
Picture of THE SANDY COVE HOTEL, ILFRACOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A dissapointment
The room was very nice indeed, a lovely bed, gorgeous view and nice and clean...however, when the next door occupants arrived it was a different story. The room almost shook with the noise of the power shower and we could hear everything going on in the adjoining rooms! After clearly having spent a small fortune on updating this hotel, they forgot to add insulation to the walls. I accept that they had only just opened but the restaurant was a complete joke - no one knew what they were doing (almost all were students) and when we asked for a steak because there was nothing left on the menu that we wanted, they said they had run out!! If you ate in you either had the set meal ( a choice between 4 dishes which didn't even change daily) which they bizarrely called the al la carte menu or you went to the local pub/fish and chip shop!. We guessed that this hotel had only just reopened but if I am paying the full price, I expect the full deal. The manger/owner didn't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay - I wonder why???

Reviewed by
Jane P

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has great potential but staff need help!
When we arrived we were really excited the location and view were second to none, we thought we had a bargain! However this soon changed when we entered our room! Floor looked discusting and needed a good Hoover and the bathroom bin, was full with ladies sanitary ware! Not the most welcoming! We also paid extra for a junior suite however the room looked very similar to a normal rooms on offer. The restaurant again looked amazing and excellent sea views. However we were told to sit on a certain table every day, away from the views, for 4 days even tho the restaurant was at most 25% full with many tables with views not used. 'When we asked to move to another table we weren't allowed' Some staff were very friendly and helpful however some were the opposite and ruined what could have been an amazing trip.

Reviewed by
Jon T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most delightful experience
Sandy Cove Hotel was the most delightful experience we've had for a long, long time. The grounds were well-maintained, and the Reception staff were most helpful. Our room had a truly stunning sea view, and was spotlessly clean and very modern, with tasteful furniture. The Bathroom was also clean and modern. The Restaurant was spacious and, again, very tastefully furnished. The food was sublime, with a varied choice. One word........Excellent.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight break for the whole family
We had a lovely welcome and marvelled at the great view. We were celebrating the end of exams for one family member and the relaxing swimming pool was first on the agenda. We looked forward to using the facilities. The relaxation room was disappointing however with no relaxing music or aromas one of the rooms had no purpose and was a bit smelly and not used. The heated seats were ok but lack of a relaxing atmosphere made them a bit pointless too. The sauna was ok, but not the best. The best bit for us was the pool and loungers, because we had blue sky and souring temperatures we could enjoy the area almost to ourselves, and enjoy the view while the children played in the pool which was lovely and warm. The jacuzzi wasn't hot and used just pool water, and the bubbles not very invigorating, however it made a change. The position of the hotel is superb for the coast path to Combe Martin and we had a great walk there in the evening. The bedroom was fine and suited our needs with the extra room joined on for the children, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately my husband and I were woken up by a child and two men talking outside the room window, we thought they sounded like employees as our room looked out at the back of the hotel near the back door of the kitchen but we can't be sure. It was another blue sky day and the early start made us go for another swim before a very tasty breakfast and enjoyed the view again from the window table.

Reviewed by
Jon Blake

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Housekeeping issues
It was a stop off on route to Cornwall, so just one night but with a number of housekeeping issues to deal with on top of two over excited toddlers it was not a great night stay. The staff were excellent at helping us with the two children and provided them with an early tea giving us the opportunity to get them into bed. On a negative front a family room really needs the options of blackout blinds a working phone and the decking outside the room was broken in several places.

Reviewed by
Mary P

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We felt really looked after, especially our last breakfast morning when our table was moved to the window for a perfect sea view. Also really helpful towels were provided for the pool, made life a lot easier with 2 boys using the pool. Fantastic stay, feel very relaxed!

Reviewed by
D JELF

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay for total relaxation and the best views ever.
I would stay again but it has some way to go to live up to the photos off the hotel.

Reviewed by
Yvonne D

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Spectacular views from our room. Will definitely go back. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.
Our experience at this hotel was positive from the moment we stepped into reception to check in.
Will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
N Holbrook

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would like to go back in summer.
Booked with late rooms and decided at the last minute that we would add an extra night so bit of confusion at the hotel when we arrived,soon sorted ! beautifull view from our bedroom of the bay..We booked a meal on the saturday and it was exceptional only one complaint from my husband ...he thought he was getting a whole seabass and it was just a fillet ,one of the very few times that my steak has come served just how i like it ...

Reviewed by
Jan Jones

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing view, bit old interior
room booked wasn't available as we bought dogs but nowhere on booking form mentioned them/which rooms to use etc
view amazing.
staff and other people very good.
food very good.
room could do with a refurb as could parts of the communal areas
linen in the second room unchanged but they dealt with it immediately and a bit threadbare/grey.
good view, staff, food.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next