No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE SANDY COVE HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Berrynarbor, ILFRACOMBE, EX34 9SR
Wherever you go in Sandy Cove, you cannot escape our wonderful view. With stunning views across the bay, the hotel is enviably nestled at the gateway to magical Exmoor and within easy reach of the glorious beaches of the Atlantic.

Throughout the week you will be tempted by our extensive table d' hote, a la carte and bar menus all using fresh, locally sourced produce and every Saturday the chef presents the Swedish Smorgasbord & Grill Night. The indoor swimming pool features a sliding glass dome which means it can be used all year round and there is a leisure area with sauna, steam room and heated relaxation loungers all free of charge.

Children under 5 are free and children between the ages of 5 -14 who are sharing rooms with their parents will be only charged half price for breakfast. Dogs are accepted at a rate of £8 per night, they are allowed in the bedrooms (excluding superior rooms) and in the gardens but are not allowed in the public rooms. Please advise of any dogs at time of booking.

FREE WIFI available throughout all the public rooms in the hotel.


PLEASE NOTE THE SWIMMING POOL IS CLOSED IN THE FOLLOWING MONTHS:
2nd January - 14th March & 1st November - 23rd December.
Picture of THE SANDY COVE HOTEL, ILFRACOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay for total relaxation and the best views ever.
I would stay again but it has some way to go to live up to the photos off the hotel.

Reviewed by
Yvonne D

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Spectacular views from our room. Will definitely go back. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.
Our experience at this hotel was positive from the moment we stepped into reception to check in.
Will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
N Holbrook

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would like to go back in summer.
Booked with late rooms and decided at the last minute that we would add an extra night so bit of confusion at the hotel when we arrived,soon sorted ! beautifull view from our bedroom of the bay..We booked a meal on the saturday and it was exceptional only one complaint from my husband ...he thought he was getting a whole seabass and it was just a fillet ,one of the very few times that my steak has come served just how i like it ...

Reviewed by
Jan Jones

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing view, bit old interior
room booked wasn't available as we bought dogs but nowhere on booking form mentioned them/which rooms to use etc
view amazing.
staff and other people very good.
food very good.
room could do with a refurb as could parts of the communal areas
linen in the second room unchanged but they dealt with it immediately and a bit threadbare/grey.
good view, staff, food.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The biggest room I've ever seen!
The room we had was so big we could of moved in! The bar staff (2 young) lads were very helpful, food was good to at a good price! The welcome was ok but wasn't the best, saw others with newspapers in the morning but not offered to us.

Reviewed by
R White

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay - attentive staff
We planned a short walking break in North Devon. The hotel was ideal - a beautiful location and a good place to relax in at the end of the day. No mobile signal - what a blessing!

Reviewed by
L Killock

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hairs in food and no hot water
We stayed at the Sandy Cove between 19 and 21 August 2013. All in all, our stay was mediocre. The grounds of the hotel are stunning. Once you access the hotel, you will likely to be somewhat disappointed. While the cleanliness of the rooms was quite good, there was no hot water in our room for the duration of the stay. Fortunately, our children were in an adjoining room so we were able to use their shower. We were asked to pay extra for our children's breakfast despite the fact we were quoted a set price by LateRooms. I wouldn't feel so annoyed about this hidden extra if it wasn't for the fact that my son found hairs in his cooked breakfast 2 days in a row. There were other hidden extras too, such as the maps for local walks. We won't be returning to Sandy Cove.

Reviewed by
ALISA S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandy Cove Hotel
Very friendly staff, Good service.
Superb views of the coast.
Nice family hotel but décor and facilities could do with some updating..

Reviewed by
J Carson

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with gorgeous views
Glad we ignored reviews. Lovely hotel with brilliant views. Gardens wonderful, food good, beds comfy and very quiet.

Reviewed by
Maxine May

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing views
Spacious clean room with amazing sea views. Food was very good and service was excellent. Good quality facilities.

Reviewed by
N Parker

From Welwyn garden city, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next