No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ely Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
8 St Mary's Street , Ely, CB7 4ES
We aim to offer friendly, comfortable lodge facilities. All bedrooms are fully furnished. The five guest rooms are uniquely decorated with period furnishings and fine linens. We offer a friendly atmosphere for a quiet drink or a delicious meal, which you can enjoy whilst overlooking the garden and flowers. A great way to start the day or following an overnight stay. The BKK Thai restaurant is attractively designed to provide just the right atmosphere for business lunches or that special evening dinner for two. We are able to provide seating facilities for more than 60 people. Our restaurant menus offer a varied selection of Thai food and continental cuisine to a particularly high standard. The restaurants are also available for private parties, weddings, receptions, and other special events, such as afternoon tea.
Picture of Ely Guest House, Ely at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed!
The top bed cover was covered in stains and had to be taken off the bed. There was some kind of mess smeared on the wall near the sink and whilst they kindly provided disinfectant smelling soap dispensers on the shower and bathroom, one was empty and the other was like washing with bleach! There were no plug sockets next to mirrors which made it impossible to do my hair and makeup etc, no local information by way of leaflets and as I specifically booked into the hotel as the check in time was 1pm, I was told at 1pm to come back in 20 minutes as the room was not ready. I insisted they give me the keys anyway after a long journey and was handed them over by a young non english speaking girl who claimed she didn't even work there! The money for the room was taking from my account and held in case I didn't turn up but I still had to pay cash when I got there and was assured the money would be back in my account that day, it was not!! All in all, not very good value for money at all.

Reviewed by
Sarah Quinn

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Spot
Great little guest house for the money. Clean tidy rooms with a bit of character. Lovely pleasant staff. I will return here again. Thanks.

Reviewed by
S Greenbank

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient town centre location
Looking for a single room for a night whilst going to a friends wedding, this accommodation was affordable and only a few minutes from the wedding reception. Check-in was at the Thai restaurant below the accommodation, so walking past diners with a bag in hand was a little unusual. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and after a short search I found the towels in the bottom of the wardrobe. My room was on the 2nd floor and the dhared bathroom/toilet was on the 1st floor. Had the accommodation been busy, having a shower in the morning could have resulted in a long wait, but I was fortunate that I appeared to be the only guest staying. No breakfast in the cost, so depositing the key in the morning was a straight forward affair of dropping it into the letterbox on exting the accommodation. A comfortable, no thrills place to stay - ideal for one night stop over.

Reviewed by
Andrew O

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
The annex en suite room was well furnished and comfortable. Pillows not. Parking a faff.

Reviewed by
Patrick C

From Warwick, England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint, Basic & Clean
I booked a room here for one night whilst visiting to see a gig in Ely. The location is very central and easily found. Once inside it's obvious to see the guest house is an internal conversion of an old larger building. There's not much to it really; the room was clean , incorporated an adequate modern ensuite shower/toilet/wash basin room with fresh towels, had a comfortable bed and tea making facilities. There was also a tv. It suited my requirements fine, was warm and secure. They don't do breakfast, but the price is reasonable for its location and quality. I would stay there again if I was to visit.

Reviewed by
Justin Brown

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean accommodation very close to cathedral
Just around the corner from the cathedral and High Street. No en-suite but the shared bathroom was clean and free (there being only a handful of rooms).

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, perfectly nice rooms, just remember to bring a bathrobe...
For what they charge, this place is absolutely fine. Clean, comfortable.
There's quite a high bedroom-to-(shared) bathroom ratio, and the Wi-fi's a chargeable extra.
Going up and down the stairs is a challenge for tall people such as myself!

Reviewed by
Jonathan L

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ely guest house beautiful romantic retreat in town centre
I Had the pleasure of staying at Ely guest house over the weekend with my partner alex
Beautiful place to stay a really romantic retreat right in the town centre of Ely
It's an old black and white guest house built in the 18th century with all historic features
Above a Thai restaurant which we had a meal from which I can also recommend was excellent
Really friendly happy helpful staff who went out of their way to help
Wonderful little place would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
Claire B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, cheerful and basic
I needed to book a place in Ely for 2 nights and had left it rather late. I tried another hotel first as I was looking for the cheapest deal I could find. On this occasion their prices were what I consider outrageous - around £60 a night. I searched other sites and found Ely Guest House to be the cheapest and was nice and central. I booked as soon as I could. Whilst I still found £75 for 2 nights expensive (I am probably out of date), it was way less than other options. Check in was fine, a very friendly member of staff showed me what I needed to know. It appears the Guest House has at least 2 seperate buildings as I was taken round the corner whereas someone else checking in just before me was staying next to the restaurant with the same owners. Unfortunately the person in the room next to me was a LOUD snorer and the walls are quite thin. We could easily hear each others TVs. I think we were the only 2 people staying in that building and there were other rooms, so ideally in this situation guests would be put in rooms that are not right next to each other. This said I was full up of booze on both nights, and the bed was comfortable, so I slept well. Check out was simple and straightforward, putting the key in a mailbox. It is a shame breakfast was not included, this was made clear in advance and on arrival, but it may be worth considering in future. Overall a pleasant stay and suited my purpose.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The room was fairly clean but cobwebs could have been removed, once checked in went out for a while to find food and came back to be quizzed as to whether we were the same people that checked in an hour ago - didn't make then for a pleasant stay!

Reviewed by
A Chandler

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next