Reviews - Ely Guest House


8 St Mary's Street, Ely, CB7 4ES

Price From 137.42 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Room quality


  • J Robinson

  • June 2015

No food and no contact with any staff

I think it is very poor that staff have no interest in their guests and do not have any breakfast at all when they charge £40 a night.

As their restaurant is next door they could easily offer their guests breakfast

  • Danny Forrest

  • April 2015

Ely Guest House

Nice place if you want to experience Ely.

Right in centre and free parking. Room was spotless and warm. If you want a base to explore the area, this is perfect,

  • Steve C

  • November 2014

More rented room than guest house

This place may advertise itself as a guest house, but it is no more than a rented room.

Breakfast is not included in the price which is disappointingly only pointed out in the booking confirmation. The key is picked up from the Thai restaurant that was below the room I was staying in. Because of this check in times are limited to times that the restaurant is open. I found the young lady that showed me to my room to be very friendly. The location is very central, but this brings with it the noise of the town centre. My window overlooked the main road and I could hear people’s conversations as they walked by. You can imagine how loud the ambulance was as it weaved through the traffic at 7:00 in the morning. I thought that the £39.95 that I paid was far too much; half that amount would have been fair. I was also annoyed to find that the single rooms are £35 a night if booked directly through the hotel. I found the accommodation to be clean and the separate access door to the “guest house” means that guests can come or go as they please. But I feel that just shy of £40 for a box room with shared bathroom and no breakfast was not good value for money. I was just glad that I was only staying for one night.

  • Sarah Quinn

  • July 2014


The top bed cover was covered in stains and had to be taken off the bed.

There was some kind of mess smeared on the wall near the sink and whilst they kindly provided disinfectant smelling soap dispensers on the shower and bathroom, one was empty and the other was like washing with bleach. There were no plug sockets next to mirrors which made it impossible to do my hair and makeup etc, no local information by way of leaflets and as I specifically booked into the hotel as the check in time was 1pm, I was told at 1pm to come back in 20 minutes as the room was not ready. I insisted they give me the keys anyway after a long journey and was handed them over by a young non english speaking girl who claimed she didn't even work there. The money for the room was taking from my account and held in case I didn't turn up but I still had to pay cash when I got there and was assured the money would be back in my account that day, it was not!. All in all, not very good value for money at all.

  • S Greenbank

  • April 2014

Nice Spot

Great little guest house for the money.

Clean tidy rooms with a bit of character. Lovely pleasant staff. I will return here again. Thanks.

  • Andrew O

  • March 2014

Convenient town centre location

Looking for a single room for a night whilst going to a friends wedding, this accommodation was affordable and only a few minutes from the wedding reception.

Check-in was at the Thai restaurant below the accommodation, so walking past diners with a bag in hand was a little unusual. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and after a short search I found the towels in the bottom of the wardrobe. My room was on the 2nd floor and the dhared bathroom/toilet was on the 1st floor. Had the accommodation been busy, having a shower in the morning could have resulted in a long wait, but I was fortunate that I appeared to be the only guest staying. No breakfast in the cost, so depositing the key in the morning was a straight forward affair of dropping it into the letterbox on exting the accommodation. A comfortable, no thrills place to stay - ideal for one night stop over.

  • Justin Brown

  • December 2013

Quaint, Basic & Clean

I booked a room here for one night whilst visiting to see a gig in Ely.

The location is very central and easily found. Once inside it's obvious to see the guest house is an internal conversion of an old larger building. There's not much to it really; the room was clean , incorporated an adequate modern ensuite shower/toilet/wash basin room with fresh towels, had a comfortable bed and tea making facilities. There was also a tv. It suited my requirements fine, was warm and secure. They don't do breakfast, but the price is reasonable for its location and quality. I would stay there again if I was to visit.

  • Patrick C

  • December 2013

overnight stay

The annex en suite room was well furnished and comfortable.

Pillows not. Parking a faff.