No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ
A modern, 3 storey hotel, within 3 miles of Newcastle Airport. Offering 105 tastefully decorated and fully furnished bedrooms all with en-suite, TV, Hairdryer, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant, The Old Ragoon serving Continental and Traditional dishes including an a la carte menu for those wanting to treat themselves. The Cocktail Bar is more relaxed and serves lighter bites throughout the day until late evening. Thanks to our 24 hour room service guests can order light meals and drinks.

The hotel also features six Conference rooms available for any occasion and accommodates up to 400 people. This is ideal place for Business and Leisure guests alike. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The Britannia Airport Hotel is ON SITE at Newcastle Airport & does not offer a transfer service. If assistance is required getting to the airport, which is a 3 minute walk, please ask at reception on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shambles

Reviewed by
roderick r

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time ever I've stayed in a hotel and dont feel like I've been ripped off.
So what that this isn't the most luxurious hotel with the biggest and best rooms. Its within 5 minutes walk of the airport terminal, loads of free parking spaces, a comfy bed, decent TV and Wi-Fi so what else do you need in a budget hotel. Plus the food is great value at really sensible prices and a special offer in the bar at £2 a pint :-) Will definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Stuart Adair

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garbage
Restaurant run by 2 teenage girls who hadn't a clue what they were doing. Powdered soup, frozen fish and chips, chargrilled chicken was burnt. £50 for terrible meal. Room was clean but bed had a spring burst ?? Very tired décor and furnishings. Very disappointing start to our holidays, definitely wont stay there again.

Reviewed by
james moody

From Selkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very tired hotel in dire need of a significant facelift.
Too many small things that need attention such as our toilet roll holder being missing. Surely a simple thing to remedy. The overall first impression is that this hotel has been left in the past when comparing it with the Hilton not 500 meters from it. The decor is lacklustre on the outside. Not too bad on the inside but it was like a Mary Celest when we stayed. We even used the Hilton bar as it had more atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok Rooms with poor customer service
I arrived at 2100,the receptionist was nice and friendly and she booked me in for breakfast the following morning.The Room was clean and tidy but old and a little tired. I went for a beer, prices were fine, went back to my room for a shower, had no hot water.
Had an early flight but decided to have breakfast. I went down at 0620 and was told to wait until 0630 when it would start. By 0640 there was still no hot food out and I had to leave to be in time to check in. I will be asking for a refund.

Reviewed by
M Irving

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Friendly, efficient and helpful staff from reception to Bar to Room Service - all first class. If I was going to be picky, the electrical appliances within the room (No 18) need some urgent attention. Only the bathroom and one light working and the hair dryer out of service. Otherwise, a comfortable room with a really good bed. Thank you Britannia I will be back!

Reviewed by
Donald G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stopped at this hotel previously on a few occasions when my daughter has been in hospital and was very pleased with how reasonable and flexible the hotel was with us when we had to add days on when my daughter needed to stay in longer than first thought

Reviewed by
c easterbrook

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, ideal price

Reviewed by
n kennedy

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
The carpet was stained. The bed was not very comfy. I went to bar for a meal and ordered steak (medium rare) with mushrooms served on salad. I got steak (well done) with no mushrooms and chips! It was changed but was the smallest steak ever, which was still over cooked, and salad was lettuce, three wedges of tomato, two slices cue and onion. This was supposed to be a special treat for me, I was very dissapointed :(

Reviewed by
C Hutchinson

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom was stifling hot, we could not open the window much to let some air in.
Facilities are fine for a stop over night. Tea and coffee making facilities are always welcome.
Bit of a delay in checking in.......only one person on desk. Car parking arrangements are good.
Would use again, this was our second stay. Ate in restaurant last time, but not this time.

Reviewed by
Mary A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next