Reviews - Preston Park Hotel


216 Preston Road, Brighton, BN1 6UU

Price From 106.33 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (80)

53% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Keith C

  • November 2015

Great Family hotel

This is a great family hotel with convenience shopping opposite.

Slight walk into town but this keeps it quiet from the "riff-raff". Free parking which is an advantage. The rooms are "aged" but certainly fit for purpose - and always warm. Staff are very friendly and if you want an undisturbed stay then this is for you.

  • L Terry

  • October 2015

Comfortable and cosy stay

We stayed at this hotel as it was central to the main town.

The room was large and clean and the staff approachable. We received better service here than in some much fancier hotels that we have stayed in. Next time we decide to go to Brighton we would probably stay here again.

  • P Cook

  • September 2015

Noisey & uncomfortable

Sorry folks - but the beds are hard and will leave you with a stiff neck in the morning - the noise from the traffic outside was horrendous - even with the cheap double glazing - extractor fan in bathroom didn't work - water pressure was non-existent (forget trying to wash your hair or have a bath - you'll be waiting ALL day!) - oh....and we found some rubbish left behind from the last occupants (which indicates not-thorough cleaning) - ...and stains on towels - generally shocking experience - I would love to know what it was that achieved the 2 star rating.

The staff do seem keen to please - but that place is run down and needs a serious make over!

  • Peter Harding

  • September 2015


On arrival were met tersely and told we could not check in till after 3 pm.

When we were finally allowed to check in we were dorected to our room which had damp patches on the walls,black mould around the window frames, staining on the bathroom floor and cracked tiles. The chest drawers were badly fitting making the putting in and retrieval of clothing a trial. However the bed linen was fresh and clean. At breakfast the following morning we were met agin tersely and pressured into selecting breakfast before we had chance to sit down.

We complained to the hotel receptionst about our stay who said " it is a budget hotel what do you expect". When asked to see the duty manager advised not available. Left details for contact.

At £150+ per night I do not consider the quality of the room , the service or the standards employed warrant that price.

  • Erika C

  • September 2015

I have never stayed anywhere where so many doors slammed.

I was awake all night and every time I almost dozed off another door slammed

The wall paper was peeling from the walls and the internal lock did not work

I did not feel as a female solo traveller very safe

I left before breakfast as I just wanted to get out of the hotel

  • liz w

  • September 2015

Evening meal and Breakfast

Very friendly staff, good simple evening meal Breakfast very good veggie option which was altered for me into a vegan breakfast - delicious thanks to the chef .

  • Tom T

  • September 2015

Needs a bit of renovation

Could do with some redecoration.

Also would have been nice for housekeeping after first night. Not too bad though and certainly cheaper than alternatives. Free parking a plus and bus stop right outside was handy for the city centre. Taxi back in the evening was about a tenner

  • a tolan

  • September 2015

Preston Park Hotel

perfect for a brighton base

  • C Preston

  • August 2015

Perfectly clean but uncomfortable bed

Just wanted a cheap and cheerful B&B for one night and this fitted the bill - but oh the bed.

Didn't think lumpy mattresses and sagging pillows still existed in a commercial environment but yes they do. Everything else about the room was fine, except there were no bedside lights and of the halogen lights in the ceiling above the bed only one bulb was working and it was like being interrogated by the Stasi with it on. Luckily we bring a headtorch for such emergencies when only one of us wants to read after lights out. The receptionists, who were the only staff members we saw, were polite and courteous and we didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. Shame about the bed otherwise fine for a very short break. Had ample parking which is unusual in Brighton. The bus leaves from right outside but is quite expensive at £4.70 each return to the front. Maybe cheaper options but didn't have time to investigate.

  • rhys N

  • July 2015

Nice hotel

Nice hotel, location is about a 20min walk into Brighton town but the surrounding area is lovely and there are ships and pubs on the way.

There is also a train nearby that takes you there in less than 5min. Room was ok- adequate what I needed it for which was just a base for a night