No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE GLASGOW CITY HOTEL

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
201 Ingram Street, Glasgow, G1 1DQ
Mercure Glasgow City hotel is a 3 star hotel close to the vibrant hub and cultural attractions of the city centre. The hotel is perfectly located for a shopping spree on Ingram Street in Glasgow's upmarket Merchant City. The 91 stylish guest rooms all have free WiFi access and satellite TV. Sit down to a light meal or snack at Bagio Café Bar, or order room service 24 hours a day. The hotel has 6 flexible meeting rooms, all fully equipped and able to welcome up to 100 people for your event
Picture of MERCURE GLASGOW CITY HOTEL, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, noisy, hot
Room was very small, the disco in the basement function suite could be heard clearly, in spite of radiator being turned off the room got very hot, opening the window allowed noise from fans on building opposite

Reviewed by
William G

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
I arrived and the reception staff were very good in welcoming me, however when I got into the room the tv turned itself after 10 minutes so I switched it off and the same thing happened again so I phoned reception to tell them and they said they'd send someone up anyway long story shut this happened 3 TIMES and no one appeared. For £120 a night I would certainly expect much better service and the room was very small, very disappointed as I was looking forward to staying in a 'nice' hotel.

Reviewed by
Greg I

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a makeover
Stayed at the Mercure for a long weekend with my partner and the assumption that for similar price it would be more comfortable than a holiday inn/premier inn. I was wrong. Staff were mostly friendly, breakfast was ok, reception and restaurant were clean fresh and modern and hotel was ideally located. However corridors upstairs looked like they hadn't been cleaned or decorated since the 1980s and bedroom was not much better. Room was small given the price paid, had no AC/heating control (that I could see) meaning it was freezing at night, the bed was hellishly uncomfortable and lopsided and the primitively double glazed window had gaps at one side meaning not only a draft but noise from every bus and drunken Glaswegian through the night came straight in. Great weekend in Glasgow, shame I got no rest at night in this hotel.

Reviewed by
Patrick M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Good
Overall it was a good place, good location, friendly staff.
Room service was good but the food wasn't terrible but wasn't great either, good enough when you want a bite to eat at 2am after a night out.
The rooms don't have a massive amount of space to walk around, compared to the scotsman hotel which has huge space to walk around in.

Reviewed by
Dana A

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central base to stay
Great location, central for most things. Staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was brilliant, very enjoyable, would not say it was worth £16 but as we had pre booked the night before we only paid £10, still a little expensive but it was an all you can eat buffet.
The bedroom was clean, lovely clean sheets and comfy bed. Downside was the heat in the room even though the radiator was not on. This made it very uncomfortable to sleep, was a little better with the window open but couldn't stand the noise from the traffic and usual Saturday night rowdiness in the streets.
Bathroom needed an update and a lick of paint and a few areas around the bedroom and door had seen better days but saying all this, we weren't planning on spending our whole weekend in the room. It was a good base and a clean bed for the night. I would go back on the strength of the lovely staff and the location.

Reviewed by
karen m

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well centered location. train station 5 mins away.shops restaurants in next street. Fab
This hotel is lovely. Right in center with easy access 5mins walk from central or argyle street rail stations. Plenty of shops and restaurants to please everyone. This hotel has friendly helpful staff, clean rooms with very comfy beds..all facilities catered. Bath and shower with continuously hot water. Brekkie is plentiful and various. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one and everyone whos llanning on staying in glasgow. I travelled with my teenager daughter being both females we felt totally comfortable in this hotel.

Reviewed by
Tracy Evans

From Treharris, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely noisy.
The standard double room we booked, was ok, no real complaints, a little small perhaps, but otherwise fine.
The issue we had was with noise of the guests next door, they were a large group drinking in their room with music until late at night, slamming doors and standing in the corridor arguing.
We complained but not much was done, unfortunately.
It's probably much quieter on a week day, but I'd avoid at the weekend.

Reviewed by
Nicolas R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

l callaghan

Reviewed by
L Callaghan

From kinghorn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this location
We have been to this hotel a few times now and love its location, as it's only a short walk from some of our favourite restaurants and bars in merchant city. Also the car park at the rear of the hotel is great value for city centre parking.

Reviewed by
K Walker

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
A very good find and will be back, simple things done we'll make it a good place to stay, and not charged extra for parking !!

Reviewed by
K MacLeod

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next