No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterloo House

8 Waterloo Road , Dublin, Dublin
"Waterloo House is two large 1830's Georgian houses with twin doors like close knit eyes to welcome you in", Alaister Sawday's 'Special Places to stay in Ireland'.
The hotel is situated on one of Dublin's premier, tree lined, avenues in the heart of the city. The location is tranquil yet only minutes away from St. Stephen's Green, Temple Bar, Grafton St and many of Dublin's fine attractions. The house is also ideally placed to take advantage of the city's most renowned restaurant's, bars and venues. Unfortunately we DO NOT accept Maestro cards for reservations.
Picture of Waterloo House, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay in a historic Georgian-style home converted into a hotel.
We very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Definitely not a boxy modern place, it's updated classic architecture. It is located "close" to the main part of the city, but not right in it (so it's a quieter area!); there is reasonably frequent bus service to the tourist hot spots from close by out in front. Breakfast was pleasant, and has both a standard dining area, plus a glassed-in sunroom which can be quite a treat if the sun is out. Breakfast service is fine - main dishes are ordered from a menu, which includes most things one might like (meat, eggs, and some optional Irish "pudding" which we call sausages, but made differently), and is served on tables not all jammed together. Classy. Front desk was helpful with any questions or assistance we needed, including helping us find a self-service laundry a few bus stops away. Only negative - and a minor one at that - was the washbasin in the toilet/bathroom. It's old-style, so hot water is one spout, cold water is another, and you don't get to blend to get "warm", you have to bounce back and forth between the two. Whatever, that's how life is (was) with old plumbing, so it's part of the experience! Room was more expensive for a Saturday night. For access from the street, it is possible to get the elevator from street level when you are bringing in luggage, but you may have to have the front desk open that door. Otherwise you get to haul your stuff up about 12+ exterior steps. There may be a few steps inside, too; the lift is a great help but doesn't hit the half-floor levels. Still we would definitely would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Los Angeles, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little gem
Lovely place to stay and a great location

Reviewed by
T OREILLY

From ATHLONE, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent quality accomodation
We arrived late but the curb appeal was exceeded by the beautiful décor of this Dublin Georgian Town House the room was a welcoming high quality space to feel totally relaxed. The bed was large my friend had an equally large bed so we were happy as usually twin rooms are small so this was a pleasant surprise.
The breakfast was wonderful beautiful fresh fruit salad and cooked breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend Waterloo House come back and stay here again

Reviewed by
Eileen R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, characterful building, nice hotel
Hotel was clean, reception was warm, and location is good (about 20 minutes walk to central Dublin, and a number of good restaurants, supermarkets, delis and fast food joints a couple of minutes away). Off street car parking, and free wifi (although wifi signal was weak in my room so I couldn't actually use it). Room was clean and comfortable (although some dust on top of the wardrobe - always an good test of thoroughness of cleaning!). TV signal was weak, but a good selection of channels. Breakfast was good (number of options, from full Irish to continental, plus cereal and fresh fruit with very attentive service). Overall, a good hotel in a good location - excellent value for money and very hospitable staff.

Reviewed by
Nicolas G

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely clean room and very tasty breakfast. staff all very helpful. only about 15-20 mins walk to st. stephens green and lots of great cafes and bars along the way!! had great weekend and weather was brilliant too!

Reviewed by
anne g

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Astonishingly good for Dublin
I seldom write reviews for places I stay, but I feel that this place deserves praise. Lovely old-style rooms and a nice building too. Did not get up in time for breakfast so can't comment but other than that it was perfect.

Reviewed by
Kieran D

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Right in the heart of Dublin, the hotel is perfectly suited to mooching about
The hotel is really comfy, twin rooms were Pretty much two double beds and the double was huge
Breakfast was freshly cooked with loads of options and better than most supposedly better places
The staff were smiley , in fact, the receptionist is probably the happiest
Person I've ever met
A lovely place in the heart of Dublin
See for Yourself
Frank

Reviewed by
frank clarke

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
n cullen

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Georgian Gorgeousness!
Waterloo House is an elegant Georgian townhouse with a warm and charming atmosphere.
As soon as the customer arrives, you are greeted with a characterful room with a fire and classical music playing gently in the background. There is free internet access available in here, along with a complimentary copy of the Irish Times. Comfortable sofas and a wide screen TV make this an ideal place to chat to other guests, should you so choose.
The owner and her staff are friendly, helpful and attentive, creating a relaxed environment in which it is evident everyone works well together. The waiting staff at breakfast deserve a particular mention; they go the extra mile for customers. There was a good selection of food, and it represented good value for money.
My en suite room was clean and well presented, with tasteful furniture in keeping with the house's decor. The bathroom was very light, with a large window, rather than being enclosed and 'aired' only by an extractor fan, which is often the case in other hotels.
Because of the age of the house, there are quite a lot of stairs, but there is a lift to facilitate disabled access.
I stayed for an additional two nights, and the owner kindly suggested I remain in the room I already inhabited, which was most convenient.
Waterloo House is about a 20 minute stroll up into town, so you have the advantage of being close to all Dublin offers, but are situated within a quiet, residential street away from any noise.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and to others using this site.

Reviewed by
ROSALIND N

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.