No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Middletons Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
55-57 Skeldergate , York, YO1 6DS
Nestled in secluded courtyard gardens in the heart of York city centre, Middletons Hotel comprises of 56 beautifully decorated bedrooms spread over six historic, grade II listed buildings. Facilities include: on site leisure club; car parking; restaurant; breakfast room; superfast free wi-fi and a selection of conference and celebration rooms. A hidden gem, tucked away yet easily accessible, this oasis of calm is just a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area and local attractions, making it the ideal base for exploring York, and enjoying a peaceful break!

Our rustic yet modern restaurant provides a sophisticated setting to enjoy sumptuous dishes, using the best locally sourced ingredients, bold flavours & faultless presentation which combine to create an unforgettable dining experience.
Enjoy the beautiful weather in summer months on our relaxing sun terrace, sun lounge and gardens which provide the perfect setting to enjoy the surroundings. With an eclectic wine selection, hand pulled local ales and a mouth-watering bar menu selection; you can enjoy the more relaxed approach to the day.

All guests at Middletons receive complimentary access to our onsite, state of the art Health & Fitness centre, including a training pool (pre-booking required) along with complimentary ‘Smart’ WiFi in all areas of the hotel. Secure onsite car parking is also available at a charge of £10.00 per 24 hour payable on departure (Parking is available on a first come, first served basis).

Ground floor bedrooms are available, as a grade II listed buildings, there are no lifts to first floor bedrooms so please ensure you do make us aware of any special requirements when you book to ensure you are allocated the most suitable room for your needs.
Picture of Middletons Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, lovely breakfast, smiling staff, a jewel in york

Reviewed by
david midgeley

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for our 40th wedding anniversary. Had a wonderful stay.
The hotel was everything we expected. The lounge and eating areas were clean and welcoming. We dined in the restauraunt on Friday night as it was steak night. Excellent rib-eyes. Breakfast was lovely and our room although a bit small was more than adequate. The only fly in the ointment was being charged 2 nights car parking when we had arrived by train. This was soon rectified. The small swimming pool was a bit of a let down but you can't have everything.

Reviewed by
Eric Browne

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend.
Reception staff were excellent but at breakfast were rebots, spray cleaning closely adjacent tables whilst guests eat. Breakfast was poor, Luke warm tasteless coffee, undercooked jelly topped eggs, and bked beans dried because they had been under the lamp too long. A real greasey spoon transport cafe breakfast. The room was overlooked by offices so privacy could only be achieved by lowering full length the roman blind so in semi darkness. Housekeeping chose not to leave milk on one day and any tea the next. Had to request smoke detector indicator lights to be covered up (they used blue tack) as sleep was interrupted by two bright green flashing lights. In the end we checked out early.

Reviewed by
David G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
From booking vua late rooms, contacting the hotel directly to checking out everyone and everything was great. Staff were extremely helpful. The room was apart from the main building. It was nice a quiet. Great if thst is what you are looking for. The only thing is to be aware it is on the pathway to exit the premises to walk into the centre. If people are noisy while passing you may notice. Woild recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J White

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York City Break
We had a lovely stay in York and found the hotel only a short stroll from most places of interest. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Roger Doughty

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, comfortable, a bit pricey.
I stayed here before (at half the rate), but this time I was in an annex - which kept the level of noise from the main building tolerable. Perhaps because I booked relatively late, the room was quite expensive (£150 per night for single occupancy) - but it was comfortable and relatively quiet, even though next to the street. The food at breakfast was fine and the breakfast service efficient and friendly. I always had quite a wait at reception to hand in and to get my room key; the staff were usually doing paperwork (in the office or with other guests) and did not seem to notice. In the end, I took the room key with me whenever I went out.

Reviewed by
M C

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Elisa G

From Singapore, Singapore
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tiny room
room not worth the money. mould in bathroom. carpet not fitted properly in to door thresholds

Reviewed by
t charlesworth

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exquisite
We had a lovely stay hotel is beautiful inside and out right in the heart of York staff fantastic and always friendly big smiles all the time love the copper pipes for handles on doors and the pallet planters outside many many beautiful things would most defiantly stay again also highly recommend too all if visiting York it's a must look forward to returning in next few months

Reviewed by
R Jubb-Billis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful holiday
Stunning cottage. Brilliant breakfast. Comfortable bed and first class staff. Highly recommendex.

Reviewed by
J WILSON

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next