No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Middletons Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
55-57 Skeldergate , York, YO1 6DS
Nestled in secluded courtyard gardens in the heart of York city centre, Middletons Hotel comprises of 56 beautifully decorated bedrooms spread over six historic, grade II listed buildings. Facilities include: on site leisure club; car parking; restaurant; breakfast room; superfast free wi-fi and a selection of conference and celebration rooms. A hidden gem, tucked away yet easily accessible, this oasis of calm is just a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area and local attractions, making it the ideal base for exploring York, and enjoying a peaceful break!

Our rustic yet modern restaurant provides a sophisticated setting to enjoy sumptuous dishes, using the best locally sourced ingredients, bold flavours & faultless presentation which combine to create an unforgettable dining experience.
Enjoy the beautiful weather in summer months on our relaxing sun terrace, sun lounge and gardens which provide the perfect setting to enjoy the surroundings. With an eclectic wine selection, hand pulled local ales and a mouth-watering bar menu selection; you can enjoy the more relaxed approach to the day.

All guests at Middletons receive complimentary access to our onsite, state of the art Health & Fitness centre, including a training pool (pre-booking required) along with complimentary ‘Smart’ WiFi in all areas of the hotel. Secure onsite car parking is also available at a charge of £10.00 per 24 hour payable on departure (Parking is available on a first come, first served basis).

Ground floor bedrooms are available, as a grade II listed buildings, there are no lifts to first floor bedrooms so please ensure you do make us aware of any special requirements when you book to ensure you are allocated the most suitable room for your needs.
Picture of Middletons Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value-for-Money
Great location, handy for all main tourist attractions. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Room was spotless with everything you could need. Will certainly return.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in York
We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The room itself was modern and well presented, although the bathroom felt a little dated, compared to the rest of the room. This did not, however, affect our stay. The hotel is well positioned for walking into the city centre, although we took a few trips around the block before we found the parking (we should have read the sign at the gate on the first pass as it gave clear directions). Following the advice of another reviewer, we opted for breakfast and were not disappointed. There was a large choice of cereals, meats and cheese on the buffet and a full English breakfast as well. All in all, we really enjoyed our overnight stay and would use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Tracey W

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in York
This hotel is only a few minutes walk into York City Centre and has a numer of accommodation blocks situated close together.
The Reception staff were helpful although there was some confusion as to which room is was allocated and whether it was ready. This was sorted out pretty quickly and I found my bedroom without any problem. The room was fine although the floor in the bedroom seemed to be 'uneven' due to the age of the building giving me the feeling that as i walked across it i was somewhat drunk !!
Would definitely recommend it to others and will look to book again on my next visit.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
Stayed at Middletons for my partner's birthday, only one night. Arrived to find we had been upgraded to a superior room which was lovely. Room itself was modern and tidy, very pleased. Reception staff were especially helpful and really polite. Would stay again for sure.

Reviewed by
J Denton

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Stay
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast was the best I have ever experienced in a hotel. I will return at the first available opportunity. Thank you Middletons.

Reviewed by
christine young

From Steyning, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service par excellence
Breakfast staff were exceptionally good. I think the service was the best we have ever experienced in any hotel we have stayed in for breakfast. The reception staff for both arrival and departure also made you feel very welcomed. It was a pleasure to stay in a hotel whose staff were courteous,attentive and very helpfully.

Reviewed by
w gillan

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middletons Hotel
I stay in York every 4/5 weeks. Lots of hotel choices in York but decided to try somewhere different. Room very basic considering price paid. No fold out rack for suitcase, had to sit it across a chair. I do not expect to pay for hotel parking especially an extortionate £10. You have to book breakfast the night before, otherwise if you wait until the morning to decide if you want breakfast it is more expensive - do not get that at all. In the morning I asked the restaurant waiter/manager if the orange juice was fresh or concentrated (which I cannot drink) he was really put out, went to the kitchen, brought out the carton and went to great pains to tell me if was fresh. The only plus point were the two waitresses in the bar area where I had dinner - friendly and efficient, and the steak was lovely. I would not stay again - I will use my tried and tested hotels.

Reviewed by
M W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely be back
Lovely hotel with rooms spread over several buildings. Excellent location for walking from the station and into the city centre. We came by train so can't comment on parking. Our room was spacious, well equipped and the bathroom was spotless. Bottled water was provided in the room and replenished each day which was much appreciated. When we arrived mid afternoon the radiator had been left on and the room was very hot, even in January, and we needed the windows open at night but traffic noise was light. Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. We paid extra for breakfast which was good value and the full English was one of the best we have ever had at a hotel. We will definitely stay at Middletons again.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middletons Hotel
Great hotel, brilliant location would recommend!

Reviewed by
Chris C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spotless, very central to york centre.
Executive room was perfect it was very large with a huge roll top bathroom.
Breakfast was good.
We will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
C Ritchie

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next