Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Burrington Hotels > Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Burrington , Umberleigh, EX37 9LZ

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The warm ambience, friendly service and contemporary yet traditional feel of this homely country house."

We are proud to have maintained over many years the standard of three AA red stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining and we have also just been awarded a 'notable wine list' accolade from the AA. Our most recent award is the 'Devon Venue 2008' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards an accolade we are thrilled to have received.
From the moment you arrive at Northcote Manor, you experience the atmosphere of a cherished 18th century country house. Each of the eleven bedrooms have been individually designed and furnished to the highest standards to ensure a truly luxurious country house atmosphere. Dining at Northcote Manor is an experience to savour. The spacious and harmonious Manor House Restaurant makes the perfect setting for a relaxing meal. Dishes are freshly prepared to the very highest standards using the finest local ingredients and served for your unhurried enjoyment. Since opening as a country house hotel in 1972, Northcote Manor has built up an enviable reputation.
Picture of Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, Umberleigh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice Hotel. The restaurant was excellent
A smart hotel, well suited to couples who want to eat in the excellent restaurant.

Reviewed by
Mark Gammon

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great hotel in a great location. The King Suite was a fantastic room. Staff were extremely friendly. Only issue was the description of the location as Umberleigh. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room
The hotel, food and staff were perfect in every way. Highly recommended. It was only let down by poorly maintained gardens that would have been the icing on the cake. Also very expensive for one night with my kids (£400 in total, once we'd eaten and had a few drinks!!)

Reviewed by
p walker

From Milnthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
Outstanding service,accommodation and food and fantastic location.

Reviewed by
S Harper

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't fault the location or the views - very nice. However, I was a little irritated that I could pretty much hear what the occupants of the next room were saying and enough of the snoring to feel sympathy for the wife. The builders of the new accommodation clearly skimped on the sound proofing materials for the panel walls between the rooms. Not sure how much can be done to rectify this.

Reviewed by
W Harding

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptionally quite and attentive service
Exceptional service, very friendly and professional staff, and good value for money. Very serene environment and spacious building. Food quality (afternoon tea and evening meals) is also exceptional. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
T YUNOKI

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Fabulous Treat
We came to the fantastic Northcote Manor House Hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The excellent service we received were second to none. There was no area that we didn't enjoy and all the staff should be very proud of the service they provide.

Reviewed by
Valerie G

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Stayed at Northcote over Easter weekend, lovely Manor house with very helpful staff and super food, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
S Middleton

From Radlett, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review from a Devon man
A great place from which to explore North Devon. We visited RHS Rosemoor, Hartland Quay and Welcome Mouth and were lucky to enjoy fine weather.

Reviewed by
George M

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous

Reviewed by
Cristina L

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.