No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marine View

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
24 NEW STEINE , BRIGHTON, BN2 1PD
Marine view offers quality accommodation in a grade ii listed regency building with sea & pier views.
This family run hotel is situated in fashionable Kemp Town in one of Brighton's immaculate Regency garden squares, a short walk from all the citys' great amenities, attractions & conference venues.
We are sure you will enjoy your stay at Marine View Hotel.
Picture of Marine View, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts, shame about the bathroom & Breakfast
At £45 I can't complain too much, and the hosts were very friendly, attentive, and useful.
Unfortunately the room, whilst adequate, was very small.
I was notified that whilst I didn't have an en-sute, a private bathroom at the end of the corridor was for my sole use only. Unfortunately I woke at 7.30 to shower and this was the not the case, not getting in til 8...
The TV in the room was inadequate, with a tiny analogue tv with freeview box attached. Unfortunately there was only a remote for the freeview box, so turning the tv off last thing at night, required getting out of bed...
The breakfast, whilst cooked speedily, was made from poor ingredients, savers bacon and sausage, and tasteless egg.
It's unfortunate that the great service achived by the hosts was let down by poor facilities and cost cutting in the breakfast and other areas.

Reviewed by
I Parnell

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic room, friendly staff.
Basic room. Despite advertised as an en-suite, it's a shared toilet. Very uncomfortable bed - I don't know why these places don't buy mattresses made in the last 20 years. Breakfast minimal but adequet. Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Edward H

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was wonderful!
Myself and my younger sister stayed for one night which was such a delight! Staff were so friendly and attentive! I would deffo recommend to anyone including families, couples or just friends who wish to get away!

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable bed and good room. Carpet was worn and seemed dirty. Sash windows where banging all the time due to wind, which I fixed by putting card in between window frames.Other guests doors where slamming and noisy would think draught excluder would fix this.Hospitality was A 1 . Genrally I enjoyed my stay thanks.

Reviewed by
mark burgess

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Welcome
Located in the New Steine central to most of the attractions of Brighton. This was a family run establishment which was efficiently run but also in a friendly manner. The owner of the guest house even offered to allow me to read any of the books he had in his extensive library.

Reviewed by
T Stevens

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. rooms are small and are pricey for what you get. I paid for a room with a balcony...that was not a balcony but a shelf. Apart from that customer service and breakfast was lovely. Very friendly and helpful. Wide selection of food and snacks

Reviewed by
B WALLIS

From wexham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, small rooms but lots of features - great
My only issue was that my credit card got declined so I had to pay with a debit card. I checked and there was no reason for this. I was a bit concerned by this.

Reviewed by
Ben Simmons

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Timothy L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic customer service by friendly owner and team.
I stayed for two night on a midweek mini break. The service and customer care was wonderful-relaxed but professional and there to make your stay as hassle free as possible. This was a last minute booking. The hotel is ideally located within minutes walk from shops, bars and cafes and a stones throw from the beach. The rooms were clean but basic and although I had to share a loo I did have my own shower and wash basin in my room.

Reviewed by
elizabeth c

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little B&b
A group of friends and I came to stay for a weekend to celebrate my 21st birthday, and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very friendly, the room was decent, and the breakfast was pretty good as well. Outside the hotel is a large grassy area which catches the sun, and is perfect for resting off a hangover! It is less than a minutes walk to the beach, and within 5 minutes walk to all the main clubs and pubs, with public transport regular and close by if you wanted to venture further afield. Overall it was a great stay and weekend, and will consider using the hotel again when I next come.
Thanks to Richard and all the other staff!!

Reviewed by
Aaron Blenkinship

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next