No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Corner House Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
HEATON ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE6 5RP
The Corner House is a conveniently located hotel in the affluent suburb of Heaton, just minutes from Newcastle city centre. Built in 1936 with Art Deco detailing, it is the perfect base from which to visit vibrant Newcastle and attractions like the famous Tyne Bridge and iconic Baltic Centre.

Newcastle International Airport is just 15 minutes away, making the hotel a great location for doing business in the North East, flying abroad or a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings and away days.

The hotel has 9 en-suite bedrooms with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking, a function room catering for up to 50 and a good value pub restaurant on site.

The hotel can be found on the A1058 Heaton Road at the junction with Stephenson Road, less than 3 miles from Newcastle. Genteel Tynemouth, Gateshead’s popular Metro shopping centre and the beautiful Northumberland coast are all nearby.


Picture of Corner House Inn by Good Night Inns, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

another excellent stay
Have stayed at this place a couple of times when visiting Newcastle. Excellent stay both times, Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, bar serves good food reasonably priced. Large car park (a plus compared to some city centre hotels). Easy access to city centre which is just a few minutes by frequent buses. Would stay here again. Hint: if arriving by car from city centre, you can't turn right from the main road into the hotel, you need to continue ahead, leave at the next exit a couple of hundred yards down the road then double back.

Reviewed by
Meredydd D

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
The Corner House is badly in need of a complete Makeover. The laminate on every surface, in the room, is peeling off. The grout, and paintwork, in the bathroom is grubby. The toilet seat was loose. There was a shirt hanging in the wardrobe.
The cooked breakfast, which tasted OK, had the smallest sausage I've ever been served, in a hotel. There were no side plates, the toast was served on the same plate, as the breakfast, to make the breakfast look bigger.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quite expensive for what it is and would be nice if breakfast was available earlier

Reviewed by
Nigel P

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room basic heater did,nt work . Only there 2nights.,but enjoyed staff very friendly

Reviewed by
George F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

corner house
room clean and warm,shower room cold,several (punch holes) in bathroom door,food quality good but not very hot,i put this down to lack of staff, only 2 staff for bar and restaurant with more attention to detail they could have top marks.

Reviewed by
gwilym p

From Gaerwen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and warm room with everything you need for a night away

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay in Newcastle
The staff were very nice, helpful and pleasant but don't think I've ever slept in such an uncomfortable bed. The pillow was really hard so tried to sleep without it but then had bedsprings sticking in my shoulder. In the end we slept at the foot of the bed as it was slightly more comfortable that way around and for this reason we wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Donnelly J

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitable all round.
From booking in to using the bar and then booking out ALL staff were courteous, hospitable and friendly at all times.

Reviewed by
Ian Rand

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always made welcome
I keep revisiting The Corner house when in the area as I am always made to feel welcome. Food is nice tradition pub food well presented and enjoyable. the rooms are simple clean tidy and comfortable. I will continue to recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues and will be returning

Reviewed by
L Grice

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

another repeat visit
I am a repeat visitor as this hotel ticks my boxes

Reviewed by
L Grice

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next