No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room on the street
The room had a window which looked straight out (and in) to the street. Felt a bit public, and in an annex to the main hotel so you have to go back out in the rain and down the road to find the room.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, horrible uncomfortable room
Our room was small, quite tatty, very warm with a horrible small very uncomfortable bed. The hotel is in a great setting but badly needs refurbishing, we were so disappointed as we had looked forward to this break, we had three largely sleepless nights because of the bed. The receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we said yes, but that the bed was horrible, she looked surprised and said "sorry" , please do something to make it better.

Reviewed by
Chris J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, shame about the rest!
Great view of the Clifton Bridge, but ... room was only surface clean and the bathroom was smelly. Breakfast was poor in quality, choice and service. The (female) restaurant manager was particularly brusk and unfriendly, she was more keen on clearing away the buffet and getting the tables changed for lunch than serving the breakfast guests. We won't be returning.

Reviewed by
T Astley

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we were allocated was very nice. It was clean, well presented, and in good repair. The rain shower was lovely. We chose a 'village view' room as we were only going to be sleeping there so there didn't seem much point in paying extra for a view. The terrace was lovely though the drinks were a little on the pricey side. The only real downside was that our room was incredibly hot. Fortunately it was not one of the warmer weekends we've been having, if it had been I'm not sure how we would have coped. A fan was provided but this only made the temperature bearable.

Reviewed by
Keri D

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Free bottle of wine was a nice touch but noise was an issue with lots of people, presumably kids running up and down the corridor outside our room. The room was of a high standard and clean. Location was excellent, however, and very near the Suspension Bridge and Clifton Village.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, atmosphere & view of the Balloon Fiesta too!
Manged to get a late booking for 1 night to mix business with pleasure. Sampled the restaurant & bar terrace with ample staff and great food across a varied menue. the attached pub provided for a great atmosphere what with hotdogs & ice cream booths available as well as traditional cream-teas.
Comanding a view across the Avon Gorge to Brunells Clifton Suspension Bridge made for a examplary location for photographs of the Balloon Fiesta, whislt tucking into an early dinner

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, slight issue on check out
Had a lovely stay, clean and comfortable. only problem was they tried to charge me for breakfast which I didn't have. thankfully the staff sorted it out

Reviewed by
Jean D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent experience. This hotel is very good and my expectation before arriving was already quite high given the other reviews and Hotel's own statements. However, my expectations were exceeded and the reviews did not do justice to the hotel, it's location or the magnificent views of the Bridge from the large terrace and of course, some rooms..
The only minor crticisms relate to the slighlty less than attentive reception staff. The welcome and level of interest was disspapointing. The only other point of concern was that the room not being equipped with air conditioning and we stayed on an exceptionally hot night. I guess we can not really blame the hotel for this, but nonetheless the lack of a/c made for an uncomfortable sleep.

Reviewed by
Simon Miller

From Yalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Newly refurbished rooms and corridors, a big improvement.

Reviewed by
A CHAPPLE

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

historic hotel in a stunning location
The hotel is perched on the cliffs next to the iconic suspension Bridge and benefits from fantastic panoramic views from it's huge outside terrace. We enjoyed a few drinks and tasty pub grub in the evening sunshine.
Having not stayed at the hotel for c20 years I was pleasantly surprised to see the rooms has been sympathetically updated with flat screen TV, power shower etc. A nice touch given the heatwave when we visited was that a powerful fan had been set up in our room.
Clifton is a beautiful and historic part of Bristol and offers some attractive local coffee shops and pubs. The city centre is certainly walkable but given it is uphill on the way back you may wish to get a bus or cab on your return trip.

Reviewed by
piers harrison

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next