No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Free bottle of wine was a nice touch but noise was an issue with lots of people, presumably kids running up and down the corridor outside our room. The room was of a high standard and clean. Location was excellent, however, and very near the Suspension Bridge and Clifton Village.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, atmosphere & view of the Balloon Fiesta too!
Manged to get a late booking for 1 night to mix business with pleasure. Sampled the restaurant & bar terrace with ample staff and great food across a varied menue. the attached pub provided for a great atmosphere what with hotdogs & ice cream booths available as well as traditional cream-teas.
Comanding a view across the Avon Gorge to Brunells Clifton Suspension Bridge made for a examplary location for photographs of the Balloon Fiesta, whislt tucking into an early dinner

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, slight issue on check out
Had a lovely stay, clean and comfortable. only problem was they tried to charge me for breakfast which I didn't have. thankfully the staff sorted it out

Reviewed by
Jean D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent experience. This hotel is very good and my expectation before arriving was already quite high given the other reviews and Hotel's own statements. However, my expectations were exceeded and the reviews did not do justice to the hotel, it's location or the magnificent views of the Bridge from the large terrace and of course, some rooms..
The only minor crticisms relate to the slighlty less than attentive reception staff. The welcome and level of interest was disspapointing. The only other point of concern was that the room not being equipped with air conditioning and we stayed on an exceptionally hot night. I guess we can not really blame the hotel for this, but nonetheless the lack of a/c made for an uncomfortable sleep.

Reviewed by
Simon Miller

From Yalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Newly refurbished rooms and corridors, a big improvement.

Reviewed by
A CHAPPLE

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay, cherry on top of my graduation day
I stayed in the Avon Gorge Bristol for the night of my graduation as i had things to do the following day and my partner and i know we love the white lion bar attached and the village.
I asked for the sheets to be washed in non-bio as my partner has an uncomfortable skin reaction to biological washing powders. I was called two weeks before the check in date by a member of staff who informed me that she had called the sheet and washing suppliers and that our sheets would definitely be washed in non-bio. She delivered on that promise as we both had a comfortable night sleep and his skin didn't flare up over night, which i can assure you is a blessing.
As we were there for my graduation we needed to be at the cathedral dressed and ready by 2:30 so i called and asked if i could check in early and they were very accommodating and said my room was ready by 9 and i could arrive when i chose. This made my day so much easier!
My partner had bought me a bottle of sparkling rose to celebrate and yet again a member of staff helpfully delivered us a bucket of ice and glasses. My brother is disabled and was supposed to arrived a little later with my mother. The staff on the front desk went out of their way to find him a taxicab that could accommodate his wheelchair.
We went up to our room to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a view over Clifton bridge and the gorge which was just delightful and that extra special as we love that view.
Overall the room was fantastic, clean, the view was spectacular, the service was fantastic and this whole experience made my graduation day feel extra special.
I should add that the staff were unaware it was my graduation and this was not a special request or treatment, they were just damn good at their jobs.

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

historic hotel in a stunning location
The hotel is perched on the cliffs next to the iconic suspension Bridge and benefits from fantastic panoramic views from it's huge outside terrace. We enjoyed a few drinks and tasty pub grub in the evening sunshine.
Having not stayed at the hotel for c20 years I was pleasantly surprised to see the rooms has been sympathetically updated with flat screen TV, power shower etc. A nice touch given the heatwave when we visited was that a powerful fan had been set up in our room.
Clifton is a beautiful and historic part of Bristol and offers some attractive local coffee shops and pubs. The city centre is certainly walkable but given it is uphill on the way back you may wish to get a bus or cab on your return trip.

Reviewed by
piers harrison

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and fabulous position
The Avon Gorge has a lot going for it. It sits on a prime spot on the edge of the gorge in the shadow of Clifton Suspension bridge with views upstream towards the city and beyond.The hotel's terrace is a popular place to watch the sun go down. My room, booked at the last minute, was bigger tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. If I was not on business I would opt for a gorge view but there was nothing to complain about with my room. With Clifton's many restaurants, bars and interesting shops I could happily stay here for a few days and with the city centre only a short walk, or taxi ride, away there would be no shortage of things to do.

Reviewed by
Alastair C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Great location. Lovely clean quiet room. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Bristol.

Reviewed by
Lynn A

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Hotel
What a lovely hotel this is and they accept dogs. Our Rottweiler loved the room and going up and down in the lift..and what a stunning location..right next to the famous Clifton Suspension Bridge. ....her nightly walk was amazing with the lit up bridge right there in the background. Shame we were only down for the weekend. ...would have liked to have stayed longer.....

Reviewed by
Ray I

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next