No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful stay in Bristol
Had two nights at the Avon Gorge, weather was awful but position of hotel superb. Staff especially in the very good value and quality restaurant were excellent. Room first class, the information book in room was one of the best I have seen , clear and consise. A very good value for money stay

Reviewed by
John Fields

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We used this hotel to meet up with a group of old friends.the service was excellent- very helpful and very friendly. Our room happened to be the furthest from reception so wifi was a little erratic. The room was ok but very basic for £95 without breakfast. The food was excellent if quite a long time in coming- we were however quite a large group to try to cater for.

Reviewed by
W Fillery

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location & setting but not impressed with the restaurant
We booked a family room which worked well with a double, single and z bed as well as our dog! Room and bathroom were fine and spacious. However, we booked the restaurant after reading the reviews online but were very disappointed - the service was extremely slow and the food tasteless. For the quality and experience, it was also very expensive. Would stay at the hotel again but wouldn't book the restaurant!

Reviewed by
May S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay at the Avon Gorge. We were visiting Bristol for the first time as a new family and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the accommodation. The room was a great size with a wonderful view of the Clifton Suspension Bridge. The outside bar area had a great atmosphere and the breakfast was fresh and very tasty.

Reviewed by
L Guy

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff. great location. Surprised no margarine available at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
Stay was satisfactory and overall room perfectly comfortable. Had requested top feather pillows but was not possible though at least this was acknowledged. I awoke with a stiff neck. It would have been useful for a simple hotel guide re breakfast times and tel numbers, check out time to be in the room seemed odd not to be there though main restaurant details were. These facts were recounted but too often it relies on customer remembering.
A good morning before asked re room number at breakfast would be a nic touch please. the waiter did respond (in general attention etc0 when i said good morning before giving room number so hope that was a blip. Would have been bothered if I had paid ful price but would stay again.

Reviewed by
Janet D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Customer
Very pleased with our stay, the staff were extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
Anita C

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room on the street
The room had a window which looked straight out (and in) to the street. Felt a bit public, and in an annex to the main hotel so you have to go back out in the rain and down the road to find the room.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, horrible uncomfortable room
Our room was small, quite tatty, very warm with a horrible small very uncomfortable bed. The hotel is in a great setting but badly needs refurbishing, we were so disappointed as we had looked forward to this break, we had three largely sleepless nights because of the bed. The receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we said yes, but that the bed was horrible, she looked surprised and said "sorry" , please do something to make it better.

Reviewed by
Chris J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, shame about the rest!
Great view of the Clifton Bridge, but ... room was only surface clean and the bathroom was smelly. Breakfast was poor in quality, choice and service. The (female) restaurant manager was particularly brusk and unfriendly, she was more keen on clearing away the buffet and getting the tables changed for lunch than serving the breakfast guests. We won't be returning.

Reviewed by
T Astley

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next